Another Year Older, But Not A Second Wiser

in #writing5 years ago (edited)


As I sit here being a stereotypical writer in my local Starbucks while I enjoy my free birthday drink as I agonize over every word, my mind wanders over the last year.


d":2814,"align":"center"} -->

A cherry mocha frap with an extra shot if you're wondering.

It's been a weird year for sure. It seems like it flew by, but at the same time, it seemed to drag on forever. While Shannon has been furiously working toward finishing her master's degree, I've done absolutely nothing.

The fact that I've long struggled with my mental health is no secret. For years I've been adamant that while I struggle with anxiety, I am not depressed. Every time I would ask my doctor for something to take the edge off of my anxiety, he has tried prescribing me antidepressants. I would argue, sometimes angrily that I'm not depressed, just anxious.

Well folks. After getting absolutely nothing productive done over the last year, I decided it was finally time to face facts. My name is Justin, and I suffer from depression.

Now I want to make one thing perfectly clear. When I say I suffer from depression, I do not have suicidal thoughts or anything like that. I haven't had one of those since high-school. Even then, I think they were more environmentally motivated than a result of my depression.

My form of depression was much more subtle. I would wake up in the afternoon (night shift worker) and sit there doing absolutely nothing until it was time to go to work where, again, I would do absolutely nothing. Luckily, my job doesn't require much of me beyond being there and awake. Still, the whole point of taking this job was to give me time to write. Instead, I would sit in front of my computer browsing the internet and watching Netflix on my phone until it was time to go home.

Other days, I would feel the overwhelming urge to cry for no reason. I would just be sitting there in my usual stupor when suddenly I would feel the tears welling up for absolutely no reason. I wasn't thinking about anything particularly sad. It was just raw emotion welling up inside me. When this would happen, an inner voice would tell me it's because I hadn't written anything in months.

Still, I would sit there telling myself to go write something with absolutely no motivation to actually do so.

Worst of all, it was starting to effect my relationship. I found myself getting irritable for absolutely no reason. I found myself lying about how much writing I'd gotten done out of shame and embarrassment. Shannon has always been so supportive of my writing and I felt like I was letting her down.

I finally decided it was time to do something about it. At the beginning of this year, I made an appointment with my doctor to discuss options and I'm proud to say that I think I'm finally on my way to recovery.

Now I'm not going to try to claim I've completely kicked my problem, but I'm at the point where the new meds should be taking full effect and every day, I feel a bit more motivated.

Forget the video I did at the beginning of the year. I'm considering today the start of my personal new year and for once, I'm feeling positive about it. I can't promise I'll start blogging regularly, but I'll hopefully see you again soon. Wish me luck.

P.S. Since I just turned 42, I'm still waiting for the ultimate question to life, the universe, and everything.

Nothing yet.

d":2815,"align":"center"} -->



Posted from my blog JustinMKelly.com/blogSteemPress : http://www.justinmkelly.com/blog/randomramblings/another-year-older-but-not-a-second-wiser/
Sort:  

Hello @justinmkelly, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Hello @justinmkelly! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Congratulations @justinmkelly! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05