Why Even Watch Sports at All? Some Reflection on Champions League Heartbreak

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

What Makes Sports Worthwhile?

Wembley.jpg

I get asked this a good bit, largely because I'm an avid sports fan who hangs out with lots of people who aren't sports fans. More particularly, I'm staring into the dark nether reaches of this question at the moment. My beloved Tottenham Hotspur have just crashed out of Champions League, and my hometown Columbus Crew are playing comparatively brilliant soccer under the threat of relocation. In all directions, sport is proffering plates of heartache and dismay.

So what makes it a worthwhile endeavor? After all, unless you're a bandwagon fan--and that's no kind of fan to be--chances are that most seasons and tournaments will end with you wandering away from a television or stadium seat dull-eyed and sick with disappointment.

I have two reasons.

Reason One: Sports are More Fun than They are Painful

From a fan's perspective, winning isn't the only worthwhile part of sports. It's also just fun. Every game is a chance to win, every confrontation of players is a chance to win--halves and minutes and streaks and seasons are littered with as many opportunities for small smiles of satisfaction and chesty roars of exultation as they are for howls of anguish and sorrowful silences. And after all, there's the glorious camaraderie and solidarity of one's fellow fans.

Note: Fans of the Cleveland Browns and Sunderland being obvious exceptions. Those folks are just in it for the solidarity, I think.

Reason Two: Sports are a Great Way to Exercise Emotions

I view sports as emotional exercise. It's a hands-on opportunity for me to learn to handle a vast gamut of emotions, from irritation, exultation, grief, rage, joy, and all the stops in between. It builds good habits in compartmentalizing stress (not letting the horror of Tottenham's failure against Juventus make me unpleasant for my family is practice in not letting my stressful job make me unpleasant around my family), and in handling disappointment and pride in relatively diplomatic ways.

Scanning back across these arguments for what will make it worthwhile to lie awake this evening, staring at my bedroom ceiling asking myself why Erik Lamela couldn't heave his body at that bouncing rebound just a split-second faster, it makes sense that the first (it's super fun to follow sports much of the time) is the reason I follow sports, and the second (it's emotional exercise, which, if handled properly makes us more well-adjusted human beings) is a nifty side-effect which also serves as a convenient intellectual justification for something I was going to do anyway.

All of which is to say, if you, like me, are a Tottenham fan, and you're casting about in sorrow for the strength to carry on, and asking yourself whether it's really worth your time and energy and dollars to tie your emotions into the prospects of someone else's business, I'm here to say yes, it absolutely is, and you have good reasons for it, too.

Even when it's awful.

Photo Credit: wikimedia.

Sort:  

I suppose you get to a point where you realize its not worth investing alot of emotion into soccer. I saw the first half of this game and Tottenham absolutely dominated, I was even going to tweet about how tottenham is not only a well run football club but a well run business. Watch soccer for the fun of it, do not get emotionally invested.

Tottenham dominated most of it, and the future is still bright, I think. And yeah, that’s definitely an option. I think I enjoy the emotional investment. Who knows? Maybe I can’t help it. Thanks for the thoughts.

I feel bad for Tottenham as they had the upper hand for so long. Juve have so much experience and they just know how to get over the line.

I still feel that Pochettino will bring Spurs to the latter stages of the Champions League soon, perhaps even a final.

I've created Steemit gif highlights of the match here:

https://steemit.com/sports/@footballgifs/tottenham-1-2-juventus-agg-3-4-champions-league-gifs

One has to hope. Tottenham continue to look better every year, let’s hope they can keep it up.

Really great information nice post thanks for sharing sir.@juanersatzman

I've often asked myself this same question. Almost all sports fans have their season end in disappointment every year and sometimes it feels so pointless. But regardless, I'm full of hope and raring to go by the start of the next season!

Haha, yup. It’s a sucker’s game if it’s just about winning. So clearly something g more is afoot. It helps if you’re a fan of the greatest team the world has ever seen, though.

Tottenham este o echipa buna ,o echipa care marchează multe goluri indiferent de ce meci joaca că este în Liga sau Campionat ea își face datoria și este o echipa serioasa iubesc ,această echipă.Mult succes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60535.76
ETH 2598.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54