(Chapter 1) AND THE GIRL BURNS...

in #writing6 years ago

As I walked down the street I could feel the sound of the city, alive and pulsing in my ears like a relentless bass drum pounding out a rhythm. Suddenly cutting through that beautiful noise of life, I heard a scream. At first I didn't think too much of it people yell and scream all the time here, it's usually nothing but boisterous chiddings and laughter. But this was different, it had the texture of desperation to it, like whomever had screamed was letting out the last bellow of a tortured moment in a hopeless life.

I rounded the corner, listening more intently as I did. I was on high street now and away from the main thoroughfare of State street. There were alleys and small parking lots next to buildings with three or four apartments in them. Thats where I saw them, in an alley partially hidden in shadow.

A man was standing over a woman, she was on her knees, her head hung low and she was swaying somewhat. The man had his back to me and as I squinted my eyes to focus, I quietly approached. I could hear him now. "This is what you get, bitch". She lifted her head and softly murmured "no, please no". I was close enough now to see that she was soaking wet. What at a distance may have looked like water, now that I was closer, and there was a prevailing breeze, the unmistakable scent of gasoline filling my nostrils. For a moment I didn't comprehend what I was seeing, then as the man reached into the pocket of his jeans and withdrew his hand, in one fluid motion I saw the spark and glint of a stainless steel Zippo.

Before i could utter the single word that came to mind, the flame was upon her. The spread was immediate and intense. for the slightest of seconds it looked almost,... beautiful. A cascade of somber oranges and blues danced over her skin and clothes. It was like water being extricated from her soul by some unseen malevolent force. I even think she may have smiled as she raised her head to let out a the most gut twisting scream my ears have ever heard. Finally the word that had been caught in the depths of my throat for what seemed like an eon, finally escaped, "No!"

I ran toward them with my eyes fixed on the young woman who had fallen forward, hands on her face, writhing on the ground. I was steps away from her as I attempted to spread out my body, leaping so that I could try to smother the flames. My attention was solely on the engulfed young woman, and I didn't notice that apparently the man saw me coming. I had gotten within feet of the her, when everything went black.

To be continued .........IMG_20180420_150617.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39