Twisting Dragon

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Hello guys,

Time for another writing session...
Inspired by @reconstitution, I generated 8 random words that I included in the story. I didn't limit myself to a total number of words though. Just wanted to have some sort of resolution in the end.

The words:

twist, quarter, quiet, acceptable, site, tip, planet, dragon

And here is my take on it. It's funny how these words can inspire various stories. This is my second shot at this. I find it to be a very interesting process already.


"Twisting Dragon"


July 24th 2018,

"Sitting quiet in a crappy room of downtown Bangkok, I'm waiting...
No. I'm not watching television, no I'm not browsing on Instagram... just waiting. I'm here for a very specific purpose, so intend to achieve my goal.

pexels-photo-708764.jpeg

Nowadays, such a disconnected behavior seems to be coming from another planet. Looking through the window I see a moving crowd and a million tiny screens dancing, flashing and following along. And everybody finds this acceptable. Where is the social thread that connects us, as human beings?

In, out, here or there... I don't really care to be honest.

The more distracted you all are... the easier my job is.

One quarter of an hour to go. I'm still on site but nothing in sight. Not even the tip of the iceberg. A couple of dudes dressed up as a dragon cross the street. People stand, smile, take photos. You can obviously see their feet underneath the cloth. Even from above as I am right now.

stock-photo-bright-colors-vibrant-dragon-las-vegas-ka-vegasnights-dragon-head-f2b4ed5b-1e8e-4de5-957b-6dcf3832cf80.jpg

On the opposite side of the road, behind the electric pole and its chaotic interlaced cables, a thin metal door opens suddenly. This is my chance. I can't miss it.

Of course I won't miss it.

Three men walk out. They look suspiciously all around them walking through the on going street event. Those fouls! Of course they won't see me...

They're trying to reach an blue transport truck parked on double lane underneath me, along the building. The lights turn on as one of the men reaches his pocket. Their pace is rushed but they are still walking, making their way into the crowd.

I hold my M44 tight. I'm ready to make a move. I adjust the scope's wheel for the magnifier. I can now see the men with extra high detail. A breath, a tear, an once of fear.
Only one thing I should keep my eyes on. The briefcase one of them holds.

stock-photo-shadow-architecture-people-silhouette-men-one-person-reflection-yellow-indoors-483afc90-6352-47ab-9474-760276deec04.jpg

I control my breathing, hold arms in comfortable yet tensed position. I'm still waiting... Waiting for the signal. As the living dragon passes by, one of the targets gets poked on the hip. A hand had slipped out of the beast to interact.
Surprised, the trio stopped an instant to judge the gravity of the incident.

This instant felt like it took forever. I could see their bodies twist, their eyes opening wide, one of their hands uplifting the dragon's tail like a blanket. One last breath...

I take the shot...

Pow!

One down

POW! Pow!

Tango down

The dragon leaves shortly. The briefcase disappeared.
The crowd disperses in fear.

Mission accomplished."


Well that's it for today,
Hope you enjoyed it in a way.
Let me know in the comments below.

See you on the other side,

Jrej

Sort:  

Wow! Thanks for the story, Jrej! :D
Nice to read something like this in the middle of the day! :)

very nice i am following and voting u plz follow me back and vote me

Spam alert!

You Learn More From Failure Than From Success. Don't Let It Stop You. Failure Builds Character.

Hope I don't fail too much though...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17