You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My second month on Steemit in review - Benchmarks, Recommendations and Tools ♓

in #writing7 years ago

Oh, wow - I did not expect to see myself mentioned here! Heh - thanks for the shout-out. I just came by to learn something. :)

Apart from any bad-feeling about steembots, what do you think about their current effectiveness, since SBD is worth significantly more than the dollar right now? I tested a couple bots, but when I thought about the math, I'm starting to think they just don't make good sense.

Example: let's say I pay a bot 1 SBD. Let's assume I get lucky and get a 125% return on that - even after curation (and that's pretty unlikely). Still, whatever that redeemed reward is, I'm going to get it half in Steem and half in SBD. Since SBD is worth a bit more than Steem, I think trading it on the internal market and powering up is a more effective choice than using a bot. What do you think?

(The only argument against that is, by using a bot, you add value to the post, and therefore garner more attention for more readers and upvotes...)

Sort:  

The comics you draw and publish along with the effort,quality and wit you put into presenting them really are the kind of things steemit (and platforms like it) should be about. It shows craftmanship, originality and hours put in. What can I say, I'm a fan!

Regarding the bots I think they are surprisingly effective! Almost "imba" to use a gaming term. Something tells me that they will be "nerfed" this year. In a way it's a nice semi automated method of keeping the economy circling but you shouldn't rely too much on it. I'm gonna have a look around for some better guides that people may have written!

You are correct I suppose. Trading on the internal market is usually the safest course of option even in times like now when the SBD/Steem values are pretty close together! A while back you could get like 5 STEEM for one SBD but it seems to be on an upward trend overall. Like you said, it's a mix of post promotion, raising the "value" of a post and thus increasing its likelihood to hit Trending and Hot and a little bit of gambling and luck! If an account hits a certain SP and vote value however it's possible for these robotic whales to swim somewhat sustainably. It really depends how you wish to invest and use your SBD and Steem I think!

Cheers!

Much appreciated!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39