Pounded by Ezra: trite, cliche, and boring; aiming at the object.

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

"Don’t use such an expression as “dim lands of peace.” It dulls the image. It mixes an abstraction with the concrete. It comes from the writer’s not realizing that the natural object is always the adequate symbol." - Ezra Pound

I recently stumbled across Ezra Pound's concise treatise on what you shouldn't do in poetry, A few don'ts by an Imagiste. If you write poetry here, or on any platform it is well worth the five minute read. Ezra is probably the greatest contributer to modern poetry and "was famous for the generosity with which he advanced the work of such major contemporaries as W. B. Yeats, Robert Frost, William Carlos Williams, Marianne Moore, H. D., James Joyce, Ernest Hemingway, and especially T. S. Eliot." Poetry.com.

This is a brief commentary on selected portions from "A few don'ts by an Imagiste."

I've selected this first portion regarding language, and pasted at the top. Ezra talks about "expression[s] as "dim lands of peace." He states that lines like this "dulls the image."

If we look at a line like, "dim lands of peace," what is the main image that is attempting to be conveyed? Dim, means lacking light, or reduced light. Maybe a sunset or a sunrise, and all the connotations that comes along with that. "Lands," generally makes me think of sweeping farmland. Like miles and miles of expansive earth against the sky; like the great plateau, or steppe that Mongolians feared and loved before sweeping south and west to conquer the world. "Of peace," is what I believe Ezra's biggest complaint. The 'peace' part cheapens the whole setup of "dim lands" with a general broad blanket term that adds nothing to the concrete image of "dim lands." Even "lands" is a bit vague as it isn't specific enough and a general term with wide ranging possibilities.

Ezra says it best in his line immediately after: "It mixes an abstraction with the concrete."

If you've seen my comments on poetry, on steemit, I rail against abstraction. University taught me through Pound that abstraction should be avoided at all costs. A writer should deal in the image, in the concrete, in the "thing" itself, and that "navel gazing (where you look at your internal emotions and dialogue is boring)" should be shunned. Most poetry we see on this platform is 'navel gazing' abstraction and boring. Boring because readers are lazy and unwilling to unpack confusing abstract trite concepts with no relation to themselves. Do you know why I laughed so hard at Hera Lindsay Bird's Keats is dead so fuck me from behind" line "Finger me slowly / In the snowscape of your childhood?" Because it is such a fucking awesome image! The "snowscape of your childhood" line is a little obscure on its own, but in the context of the poem it fits well. I burst out laughing when I heard it for the first time read aloud by the author on the Scottish Poetry Podcast at the gym. People must have thought I was insane cackling to myself. The line, "dim lands of peace" are so similar to the poetry I see here on this platform; and that is okay if you're journalling to yourself! But if you're going to write poetry for the masses, for public consumption take guidance from Hera Lindsay Bird, and Ezra Pound and craft language with images and concepts so pure, so immediate and instantaneous specific that if you were to translate it to another language the image would remain!

"Finger me slowly," produces a vivid image in any woman or man with sexual experience. Perhaps the idiom, "finger me" may not pass translation, but in english it produces a raw visceral image, and the combination of "in the snowscape of your childhood" for me means like getting naughty at your old grade school as an adult. Like when you go back to visit on a weekend and the classrooms are empty. you bring your boyfriend with you, and in a moment of excitement you fuck on your third grade teacher's desk but you have to remove your snow pants and heavy coat because it is winter. These are images that evoke expansive thoughts and connections each reader brings themselves primed by the writer's language.

Ezra continues with an apt explanation about why abstraction, and the inclusion of "of peace" ruins the concrete image, "It comes from the writer’s not realizing that the natural object is always the adequate symbol."

So often as writers, and more pronounced in poetry, we want to stylize the image more than the cheap simplistic words that they are. We dress up images in superfluous adjectives to lend abstraction to them in the hope that it will deepen the meanings. Dim lands "of peace" is trite. It is so broad and unclear that the reader glosses over it as meaningless, and then forgets. Ezra says that the writer does not realize that the image itself is adequate enough! We Don't need to expound beyond the "natural object" (things like red apples, oranges soft with rot, or orange marmalade jam with flecks of rind amid the jelatin). We do not need to add qualifiers to our images to lend them meaning; they stand on their own!

Our goal as poets should be to find those images that act like bricks lifting our complicated thoughts and commentary on the merits of their combined symbolic images; raw, in your face and immediate.

I found this from a post by Geekorner and his poem, "Poem (A Poem)"

Sacred are the tears,
cherished is the flame.
The man has been forgotten.

I want to pick out the symbols, the images, which are the concrete items then list the abstractions that, in my opinion, and I believe Ezra's should be removed.

Images: first line, "tears." Second line, "cherished flame." (could switch to "the cherished flame" to be clearer"). Third line, "the man."

Abstractions: first line, "sacred." Second line, "cherished," though, with rewording would serve as a vivid image. Third line, "been forgotten."

Each on first reading are like the "dim lands of peace" to me. They are vague, obscure, abstract. I believe that Ezra would suggest that these concepts: "sacred tears, cherished flames, and forgotten men," are all in themselves great ideas, but how can we craft our language to show them in the way we want meaning to be expressed. Just telling the reader that the tears are sacred, or that the flame is cherished does nothing profound. It doesn't change the reader like, "Tell me what you love when you think I’m not listening"; although I would even say that "what you love" is abstract sorta.

This poetry stuff is hard! Revision, obsession, and perfection through paring, trimming, rewording, and agonizing over language requires effort and struggle. I worry that I'm not capable of that aggressive adherence to the same poem. Instead I vomit out poetry daily flexing habit; but at the expense of spewing mediocre. My hope is that this in depth study of Ezra Pound, in what I'm calling, "Pounded by Ezra" will help me, and you, dear reader and fellow poet to improve our crafts with the deliberate care and attention greatness deserves.

My image laden attempt for today:

Ezra Pound's picture looks like a crumbling saltine cracker with a moss beard
and wild stuck-my-finger-in-an-outlet hair standing like my eyeballs water from too much wasabi.
I wonder if his scowl is from pushing poetry at a public more concerned with the Kaiser's aggression,
than reading about "red wheelbarrows."
Instead of masturbating to his clawed fist, I'll finger the keyboard.

Sort:  

Hey there,

My Master (@markangeltrueman) sent me over here to say well done on the curie upvote. He read this a couple of times and even though he doesnt really "get" poetry (or so he says), he thought this was intriguing and a wonderful insight into the world of the poet.

Thanks for posting it. I'll re-steem it on the @steemsearch blog.

The Curator

CuratorSealOfApproval.png

This post was upvoted by curie and it's trail as a result of a submission to the guild by @markangeltrueman. Curie is a curation guild which finds and upvotes high-quality posts by new and undiscovered members of the Steem community. View the blog at @curie

Awesome! Thank you! I'm so grateful and confused. Do I reply to the bot or the person.

The goal is to help others while being interesting enough to keep reading. Thanks for the confidence and boost to mine.

Haha, the bot isn't a bot at all, it's just me pretending to be one!

But yes, the hope is to get more articles like this to the masses on here as well as rewarding the people who write them. :)

Regarding "Keats is dead..." first time you wrote about that o read it and say ok its good but... as long as you refer more times it i said: eyyy this girl insists in that so... you are losing things for sure!
I like your analysis of that two lines and how a few words can start so many thoughts, feelingd anddddd images!!
So i'm reading it and... i will read it tomorrow and the day after tomorrow, i like how the words and thought and images are spinned.
Its like a hand that moves slowly and sensual throught your body while some ideas and arguments are said until it becomes to a more sensitive part of body and an direct sensation are sent throw more explicit sexual words, it make the intensity grows for continue towards other part slowly and sensual with other arguments.
Regarding "wheelbarrows" its too minimalist for me, perhaps because i always have read prose. I need more words for appreciate beauty in a text, when i read the text its like i'm watching powerpoint slides of images with a second of difference, or one of those old movies that are composed by photograms.

A lot of he “Keats ....” poem is referencing dead authors of poetry. Laced through are graphic sexual images that, according to the author are attempting to describe Carpe diem.

My favorite are the unexpected Combinations of socks and how they’re related.

I like your description of how the hand moves slowly throughout your body until it becomes more sensitive I really enjoyed that combinations of sex and how they’re related.

I like your description of how the hand move slowly throughout your body until it becomes more sensitive I really enjoyed that. Part of your comment.

The red wheelbarrow poem is extremely minimalist. It is literally the definition of minimal portrait. It is an excellent example of pure images, and nothing more. The whole poem relies on the first line, “so much depends upon”.

You described it perfectly, actually, it was exactly like watching a PowerPoint image. It is exactly like watching an old movie but it’s just a bunch of pictures. That is the entire time, and meeting is going through the users observation of those pictures.

As always, thank you for your insightful comment and trust. Know that I do not recommend things lightly.

I don't know, man, I think a lot of the greatest poets struggle over and over with the same poem instead of proliferating pages. T.S Eliot, Pound, Whitman, they went over their production obsessively, and that's the way they polish it.

Working on the same piece could be more powerful than passing over it. Anyway, it's just my opinion. Good post.

Exactly what I'm advocating. My worry is that I won't have the attention or patience to see that through. Easier to forget and start the next shiny project.

Revision is boring which is why so much is mediocre.

I agree with your comment.

This post has received a 29.06 % upvote from @whatsup thanks to: @jocelynlily.

very interesting have you ever experienced 2pac?

Hi, I agree with you & Ezra. You might like my second newbie post: The Enormous Chance, a few poems from fifty years and four collections. I meant the post as an intro of sorts. Thanks, straightwalker

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97