Notes of a Suicide (Part Two)

in #writing6 years ago (edited)




Part Two

When I arrived, I turned on the TV and opened a bottle of whiskey and I began to think about what had happened, the young woman was going to be discharged that very day, luckily, it was not serious, she could have lost her life in a matter of seconds, but without to love her, interrupted my unsuccessful suicide attempt and, except mine, I continued to drink until I finished the bottle and fell asleep.

The next day, I got up by the thunderous noise of the TV, I was in the living room furniture, I decided to take a bath and then I went out to prepare something to eat, I opened the fridge and I uncorked a beer to calm the hangover and the pain of head, the cooling cold and the flow of fluid through my palate calmed the pressing hunger.

While I prepare breakfast, the phone ringed and I answered.

"Mr. Nicolas C., your exams are ready. You can look for them when you like,“ Pronounced a hoarse voice.

"In the middle of the day, I'll go look for them," I retorted with a bit of a grunt while cleaning my throat.

I sat down to eat some kind of toast, a bit burned by my old toaster, took a table knife and I started to scrape a bit to clean the blackness a bit, when I finished, I added a little jam and crashed a couple of eggs in the pan, without a doubt that was the best dish I had eaten in months.

When I finished, I realized that there were 10 bottles of beer on my table, I realized that I had to stop and then go to the hospital, the clock ran very fast and between the corkage of bottles, I finished putting some clothes, I took a jacket , a T-shirt and some old jeans, I took out my old converses under the sofa, while I tied my knuckles, I thought about what my life could be if a different result, I immediately decided not to give the matter so much, although I wanted to die, I had to leave out all doubts, so I went to the hospital, and when I arrived there, I talked to the doctor.

"Here you have your studies, just judge for yourself," He said.

"I just hope I'm not as fucked up as any adult should be with my kind of lifestyle."

"Do not worry, as you can see, you are HIV negative, although I would not be that calm, if I was you, I would be worried, my recommendation is that the study may be carried out again in 6 months, just to be sure you didn’t get any contact, just saying..."

"Okay, if I'm still alive in six months and I haven’t shot myself yet, I'll probably undergo he studies again," I said with an ironic tone and a dislocated look as I shook his hand. The doctor thought "what a mad man".

After such a jocular moment, I decided to retire, I took the first taxi that passed on the road and decided to go to the bridge. While being there, I observed the entire horizon, as if it were a movie, then recapped one by one the scenes of what happened. I thought that that moment should not have happened, that my life should not have left that place, I breathed deeply and decided to go back home by walking on the darks streets. My thoughts became murkier as I walked through the dark recesses of the suburb, the melancholy invaded me and a huge desire to cry as well. I was certainly thoughtful.

A group of young people pulled me out of the trance, the hubbub of their smiles brought me old memories and at the same time, the image of that young woman.

I turned my eyes, and on the other side of the wax, my view met an old bar, I went in for a few drinks and quickly I looked for a companion to warm me the night, suddenly a blonde with a low-cut dress, nothing surprised and a little ordinary to tell the truth, she approached me.

"Invite me a drink, but please don’t bring that damn piss of horse that they sell for a few pennies here. I must be honest, I ain’t one of the cheap ones,” She expressed with a more than confident tone and without even waiting for my answer, she asked the bartender for a bottle of Scotch whiskey.

I smiled, took the bottle and served two drinks. I thought "What a daring woman, but she certainly knew how to make me laugh."

"Venga tio! I thought you weren’t able to smile!" I pronounce with an unmistakable Spanish accent.

"I just want to talk, and please, only English" I replied with a slightly curt tone.

"No soy una gilipollas! Don’t think I'm such an asshole. I know when a man comes for something that’s not exactly on the menu. But don’t ever think it will not cost you, as I just said, you won’t get anything cheap here."

"I don’t give a shit, just finish that fucking bottle that was so damn expensive and talk to me about whatever you want. I suppose a woman like you has many, many stories to tell…"

She took out a cigar and lit it, she told me that her name was Aitana and that she was born in a small community of gypsies in Malaga, between dreams and love deceptions she ended up in the world of prostitution. She once dreamed of being a dentist, but between her needs and poverty, without even being able to realize it, she was taken to four walls, a bar, red lights, and very little clothes, but by now she was used to the smell of nicotine, alcohol, dim lights and the clients just wanting to take her to a bed and use her to satisfy all their desires.

Almost without noticing, we were already in the very last drink. I approached the bartender to pay the bill and between laughter, we looked at each other for a few seconds and then I approached her ear.

"I promise we will see our faces once more again," I whispered in her ear.

"Well, I still have a lot to tell. My story is not finished yet…" She ventured between laughs.

When leaving with my sorrows and zigzagging without any route, just rambling, I found myself again at the same old door, that of my home.

Between my solitude, in the middle of the night, I decided to call my ex-wife and talk to someone, their insults and screams were present once more again, so I decided to hang out, my tears started to come out, they streamed down in my face. I took a few more beers until I fall asleep.

I woke up the next day, knocked on the door, I walked in my underwear and with a breath of liquor and being sleepless, I opened the door, and I see that it was Alicia.

She entered and without invitation, she jumped through the typical disorder of the loneliness that reigned in my apartment, she sat on the sofa and she looked into my eyes me as if something was missing.

"...Can you give me something to drink?"

"Sure,” I nodded.

I quickly went to the fridge and opened it, the only thing I found was beer and a small jug of water, I took out a bottle of beer and the jug, with a face of a buffoon, I raised both hands just to show her the available options.

"With the water, it will be fine," She replied as she looked me up and down. "I think you should wear some pants," She ventured with an ironic expression on her face.

"Oh, excuse me! I hadn’t even noticed that I was in my underpants," With some vivacity, I smiled at the flirt.

I went to my room and pick up a few shirts, I chose a white one and then I wore a blue jean as usual. I sat by her side, and quickly she broke the silence to tell me that she wanted to talk to me many things.

"That morning, I just wanted to die. It actually wasn’t an accident, but a frustrated suicide thanks to you," She said as she hits my chest with a backhand slap.

"..." I remained silent without even being able to think about what to say before her disappointment.

"Even so, I must confess that I am grateful. I owe you my life and I am right in front of my savior. I don’t know if there’s any way to pay you back…" She ventured with a tone that was somewhat daring and left in evidence two forms of payment.

"Hey, I think I have to stop you, it's not that bad either, you don’t owe me anything. It was just part of my duty," I said with a slightly shy smile and a nervous expression on my face. Alicia just smiled. When I noticed that I was intimidated by her proposals, I took the pen in her hands and adjusted her posture in dress.

"You know, I don’t really know how to handle these kinds of situations, I wonder if my actions really were disinterested," Alicia left out some teardrops that ran down her cheeks as she remembered the absence of her parents. "Maybe on another day I'll tell about the accident that left me orphaned, I was the only survivor and I curse the fact of having stayed alive, leaving me deprived of their attention and the love of my parents."

I only realized that her injuries weren’t only physical ones, she also kept open wounds in the soul that seemed to cut her so deep inside.

"You know, I've never seen green eyes as sad as yours. I feel the need to restore the shine they once had to have."

"I could say that I once had an illusion. But like everything in my life, everything got complicated, it was difficult, it simply couldn’t happen. I fell in love with a man much older than me and with a life, a home, so apart from mine, and very little time to offer. Let's say that he somehow corresponded to me, although some of my friends from the university told me that he just used my youthfulness, though it makes me feel good to think that at least that was real while it lasted, because if it wasn’t, then I haven’t known something completely real... But anyway, enough of sad talks. It's a good time to have lunch, I invite you!"

"Sure, I really need a good meal, but I will pay the beers."

We arrived at a fairly simple restaurant, without many apparent luxuries. The truth was that a woman of her class could’ve taken me to a more ostentatious place, but I suppose that due to the clothes I was wearing, she just thought that something more minimalist would be more fitted for our immediate needs. We sat at a separate table since I always preferred space and privacy, she did not think anything wrong, it was what I was looking for at the time, to talk, then eat and, of course, while having good beer. I asked the waiter for lemonade, but Alicia interrupted me almost to the immediacy.

"Do you really think I do not want a good beer?"

"I thought that…"

"Do not think man! Ask him for a good beer!”

I asked the waiter for a German beer to enhance the meeting.

"Hey, and what should we eat?"

"First let's toast for this meeting, let’s drink for the irreverent way in which we met and because we’re still breathing. And do not worry about what to eat, the menu is not very broad, for sure it must be just a barbecue. But go man! Drink it till it’s empty!" She pronounced between smiles that sincerely filled me with joy, little by little I treasured each of them in the middle of the evening.

The waiter interrupted when our eyes were fixed after the toast, it was the food. The food was ready, a roast beef steak, toasted bread, and a salad. Her gaze disturbed me somehow, it was fixed, penetrating, with every bite she took, but the encounter intensified a lot. We devoured the dishes and only took two more beers while paying the bill, I rushed to get my credit card, while with a quick sign with my hand, I left the innkeeper to know that I will pay the bill.

"Nicolas, wait! Look, remember that I was the one who invited you, so I will be the one who pays. On the other hand, the agreement was that you would only pay for the beer and I am afraid there have already been several, and just leave the tip in cash,” Alicia said with an inviting expression on her lips.

"Well, the truth is that there’s nothing to argue with such a beautiful woman like you. I must accept it, you won this time. That was the agreement from the very beginning.”

She stopped a taxi and told him to drive home. When the taxi arrived, I just prepared to get out of the car, but Alicia quickly took my arm in a somewhat abrupt manner.

"Nicolas, will our date really end like this?" I ask with a drunken expression.

"No, better not tell you how I would like it to end."

I took the nape of her neck with my hands and then kissed her passionately, although it hardly lasted 3 seconds, they seemed much longer for both of us. When our bodies finally separated from each other, I noticed her smile and her acceptance, and my most opportune comment, the only thing that occurred to me at the time was:

"This is how our date ends, maybe tomorrow is a good day to know more about you…"


If you want to read the first part, here's the link:

Notes of a Suicide (Part One)



Img Src

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62952.44
ETH 2542.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65