POKEMON, HQ TRIVIA, AND THE MARVEL COMIC UNIVERSE - A [drunken] rant

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

https_%2F%2Fblogs-images.forbes.com%2Fscottmendelson%2Ffiles%2F2018%2F04%2Fimage001.jpg

All good things come to an end. That’s a fact people. People die. Love dies. Fads die. When the Pokemon app came out, nerds and non-nerds alike were running out (and off cliffs) to catch these digital augmented reality creatures. But now the only friend I have, lives alone, subscribes to geek box, and talks to himself while twirling his super long beard.

HQ Trivia was all the shit two weeks ago, and now… look, I’m not saying I’m the only barometer for things like this, but I turned off the notifications for this app on my phone today, after having not played for a week. Does it have SOMETHING to do, with the app partnering (read: selling out) with major motion pictures and replacing Scott with movie stars to promote their new titles? Honestly, I don’t think so. It just lost it’s luster a bit. Although, I’m definitely going to go see RAMPAGE while it’s in theaters.

Which brings me to the Marvel Comic Universe (MCU) and it’s imminent demise.

I make no bones saying Kevin Feige is a freaking genius that has done one of the most impressive things in cinema ever. And I’ve been along for the ride, the whole time. It’s just so horrible awesome that he’s been able to bring in all these characters and movies and franchises and directors and fucking storylines, but we all know where it’s supposed to go. And life without death is meaningless.

Hell [SPOILERS] I had to go back and see THE FORCE AWAKENS a second time to relive the death of Han because I had gotten so excited to see the movie when it came out that I got so blasted that I couldn’t remember how it ended the next day, laying in my bed.

starwars-forceawakens-finn-rey-hansolodeath.jpg

And that death made the series mean so much more to me.

INFINITY WARS is out tonight, and I’ll see it, and I’m sure someone will die. Maybe a couple of someones and maybe a few someone’s that we actually give a shit about and not some ancillary character (I’m looking at you Hawkeye)… I love you Jeremy Renner, don’t be mad.

But the MCU doesn’t die. It’s gonna keep going. Bringing in new characters, and new story lines, and growing bigger and bigger, with more research required to understand. And yes, I know that they have the ability to do side pieces like BLACK PANTHER, and ANT MAN, that can seemingly live outside the main narrative, but when you call the damn things “Phases” you’re really tipping your hand that, that’s not really the point of where you’re going.

And as a fan, I’m worried. Not about Kevin and his MCU really, but about my endurance to keep going.

The Simpsons is on it’s 29th season, and even South Park is in it’s 20’s and honestly…? I don’t rush to the tube each new episode like I used to. I can’t even confirm for certain that I saw last season of South Park at all.

gkhjzfp.jpg

Fuck, right?

I mean typing that sentence makes me feel really bad about myself, but it’s just too fucking much, you know?

And if the MCU does this to us, (as it is, with plans through 2022 already), then what will that mean for cinema in general? DISNEY already owns Marvel, Star Wars and Pixar. And if you believe the online boards even the Pixar Universe is actually all connected (although much more loosely). But that’s fucking 3 for 3 in gigantic universes that, like a common model of our universe, will eventually expand so much, it collapses in on itself and has to start all over.

So, yeah, I’m excited as fuck to go see the movie this weekend, and I still play Pokemon while sitting in rush hour from time to time, but I miss Scott, and his stupid jokes, and I just don’t want to miss-but-not superhero movies like this in the future.

They mean too much to me...

cosplay-nerd.jpg

And this kid.

Sort:  

Some of us still play HQ Trivia! But you're right about Pokemon. Sucks now. Where's the person to person battles?

How far have you gotten? I won once, and only made around a dollar.

Yeah, I've done the same. Won just a little cash. Felt so good to win, and then was so depressing to see the payout. Haven't really been back since.

I KNOW RIGHT!?!?! It would be so much fun to battle your friends directly. But maybe they worry that if they enable that, then no one will go to the gyms anymore, and the whole thing falls apart.

Congratulations @jhermanbeans! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jhermanbeans! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66269.64
ETH 3568.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.06