Game of Thrones: Winter is here and I am ready!

in #writing6 years ago



The series is coming to an end. Winter is here and everyone is scared to death (of death)...except for Cersei Lannister. I wanted to take a few minutes and discuss what I think will happen in the final season of the epic story of the Game of Thrones 

First, I believe that a lot of the main characters (some would argue many are secondary characters, but I digress) will die in this final season. We have already been promised by the show runners that at least three, if not four, episodes will be feature length, so I expect there to be a lot of carnage. They also said that at least one of the battles filmed for the final season was one of the most expensive episodes a series has ever seen. I would assume that means that the cost of set design, extras and location would add up to an absolute all out war. 

The characters I believe will die early on in the season:


1. Greyworm

2. Tormund

3. Beric Dondarrion

4. Lots of Northerners


Tormund and Beric have become two of my favorite characters on the show. Tormund, for his assholery (sp?) and Beric for his quest to fulfill his destiny of making a difference in the battle of all battles. For those that read the books, they know that Beric died quite a bit ago, sacrificing himself to resurrect Catelyn Stark aka Lady Stoneheart. The show decided to go in a different direction. However, we do know that Beric cannot be resurrected again, for his monk, Thoros, died in the great battle up North. Tormund has saved Jon and others time and time again after making peace with Jon in season 5, but I do not think he will make it to the end and marry his "love" Brienne of Tarth. As for Greyworm, he has been the leader of the Unsullied since that army was introduced. Though the show runners decided to create a love story between him and Missandei, his character does not hold enough value to keep him alive. I think he will either die being sent out to fight a battle north of Winterfell or will die protecting Winterfell. As for the Northerners, I feel like families like the Umbers and the Karstarks who either have stayed away from Winterfell or have decided not to follow the King of the North, Jon Snow (aka Aegon Targaryen) will perish as the Army of the Dead moves south. 

Characters I think will die in the final battle and at the end of the series:


1. Jorah

2. Lots of Dothraki

3. Lots of Wights and White Walkers

4. The Mountain

5. Cersei

6. Qyburn

7. Euron Greyjoy

8. Melisandre

9. Varys

10. Kinvara

11. Daario Naharis

12. The Night King


I truly believe that the majority of these characters will die in the final battle between Jon/Daenerys' forces vs The Army of the Dead. I believe that Jorah will somehow die protecting Daenerys, as will Daario. I feel that somehow the Night King's undead dragon, Viserion will kill Kinvara and Varys, possibly even Melisandre, and Daenerys dragon Drogon, also possibly Jon's dragon Rhaegal, will kill lots of Wights. Many Dothraki, if not all, the Dothraki will die in the same battle. Somehow, I do believe there might be a twist and that either Davos or Jon will kill Melisandre, for she is a big reason why so many innocent have died. I don't feel like we still know enough about her to rule out that she is killed by Jon, that it will bring forth the legendary weapon Lightbringer, the sword brandished by the mythical hero Azor Ahai. I believe there will an epic battle between Jon and the Night King and Jon will defeat the Night King with Lightbringer. How he will get the weapon, we are not too sure of yet. It is theorized that he would have to stab Daenerys to get the weapon, for Azor Ahai had to do the same thing to his love, Nissa Nissa, in order to forge the weapon, but I don't think George R.R. Martin or the show runners will go that direction. 

As for the other characters, I feel that after the Night King is defeated, the remaining members of Team Targaryen will head towards Westeros and in the process, Qyburn and the Mountain will be killed. The Mountain will most likely die how we've always wanted it, by the hands of his brother, The Hound. In the books, the Hound dies in a brawl trying to sneak Arya away from Westeros. The show runners decided against that. Because of this, along with the conversation the Hound had at the Dragon Pit with the Mountain, I believe they are setting it up for a battle between the two. I do believe that Cersei will die at the hands (hand) of Jaime, her brother. Many have theorized that either Tyrion or Arya, with the face of Jaime, would kill Cersei, but I do not believe that. Maggie the Frog's prophecy will come true (the prophecy told in the books) and her younger brother (or Valonquor) will strangle her to death. I also believe that either Jaime or Theon will kill Euron. 

As for the other characters, I do not expect much of the other ones to perish. I do not believe that Jon, Daenerys, Arya, Gendry, Davos, Brienne of Tarth, Sansa, Sam, Gilly, Tyrion, Jaime, Bronn, Theon, Yara, or any other character I've forgotten, will die. I believe that they will all be around to set up the new Kingdom. A kingdom without one ruler. It was said in a previous season by Daenerys that she wanted to break the wheel, not just stop the wheel. Because of that, I do not think that any character will sit on the Iron Throne. The logical choice, if that were to happen, would be Jon, for he has the birthright...or Daenerys if Jon refuses to be King. 

Now I could be wrong about all of this. Everyone could end up dying. Or even most of the characters and an another character, like Sansa or Tyrion, could end up as King or Queen of the seven kingdoms. But I just don't see that happening.  I think all will rule separately and in harmony with each other. 

What do you guys think will happen? Let me know in the comments and what other predictions you think I might have right or wrong!

@jgullinese


Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63843.45
ETH 2624.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76