A day in the life of an aspiring fiction author.......and a fantastic gift from @ericvancewalton

in #writing7 years ago

I woke up this morning with the alarm blaring.

I was up until past 4 a.m. last night writing short stories. I'm planning to publish a science fiction / horror short story book on Amazon pretty soon. I have the first four or five stories already written and I'm working on the sixth.

It was 8:30 a.m. I didn't really want to get up but I knew I had to work. I hate Sundays because I usually work a very long day. I work seven days a week but Monday is like my Friday because it's the easiest day with the fewest guests.

Father's Day is always a really busy day in my restaurant and there is money to be made.

I got out of bed, had a quick breakfast, showered and started driving towards work. I always take the scenic route and this morning I pulled off the side of the road to take in the view of some really pretty flowers....... and to take a couple of pictures.

Work was much busier than I'd hoped. There were several 20, 15, and 12 top tables..... and a few 10 and 8 tops to be set up right off the bat. Within the first half hour everyone already had a full section and there was a whole lot of screaming and yelling all throughout the restaurant mixed in with the sounds of laughter and clanking plates.

I use an android app called Simple note to write my stories when I'm not at home. The latest story I've been working on is very simple creature story about a monster that lives underneath the sewer in 1800s London.

I'm planning to make him a sort of "Jack the Ripper" that everyone is confusing with a real person...... when in reality it was this monster that committed those horrendous crimes.

Every now and then an idea comes into my mind to add to the story but there's just no time today to even pick my phone out of my pocket.

I get a table of five people, one of whom is a young girl that is carrying two balloons. One of the balloons is in the shape of a giant ONE and the other is a giant SEVEN. I ask her, are you 17 or 71?

She laughs and says 17 but an idea is planted in my mind. What if she really was 71...... she wouldn't be too quick to tell anyone her secret would she? There's no time to jot it down, I hope I remember it.

Two hours later I'm taking a five minute break in the back eating some pizza. Our boss has ordered 20 pizzas for us and we each get two slices with five minutes to eat them. The restaurant business is the only business I've ever worked in were you don't actually get a designated break for lunch.

On some days you don't get to eat at all but as long as there are guests coming in and you're making money you can deal with it.

Two of my younger friends are arguing over how much red pepper is the correct amount to put on your pepperoni pizza. One of them put like ten packages of red pepper on his pizza and ended up grimacing in apparent pain.

I imagined a world where red pepper could give you certain powers over other people's minds. I didn't have much time to imagine though because it was back to work after five minutes.

The rest of the day was busy but I managed to leave at 5:30. I thought about calling my dad but we don't talk much these days because he is very busy so I sent him an email.

I arrived at my house and checked my mailbox which is something I haven't done in a few days. I was surprised to see a small package.

I came inside, turned on the AC, and let my dog out.

It was a book from Eric Vance Walton, @ericvancewalton.

"One Word at a Time. Finding Your Way as an Indie Author."

An autographed copy.

This is very exciting to me and I can't wait to start reading it later tonight.

It's really great to meet someone on a platform like Steemit that is a genuine good person willing to help you out of the kindness of their heart.

Eric is a great guy that always seems willing to give an encouraging word.

His thriller, Alarm Clock Dawn, is available on Amazon here:

https://www.amazon.com/Alarm-Clock-Dawn-Vance-Walton-ebook/dp/B00UGNA24A/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1497835938&sr=8-1&keywords=alarm+clock+dawn

I haven't read it yet but I plan to very soon. It's only $2.99 for the ebook and it has nearly all five star reviews.

I place my new book next to my computer and open up Wordpad.

Maybe there's room for a 71 year old teenager in this creature story after all.

I hope you enjoyed this one.

Follow me @jeezzle

Sort:  

You're welcome, love your writing style!

I can tell you have a real passion for writing and you're good. Being a writer is difficult but it is the most rewarding profession I can think of. I have great respect for anyone who truly pursues it. I hope you enjoy the book!

I'm about to start reading it right now. I know I'm gonna love it. Thanks for saying I'm good. That means a lot.

What a sweet story! Resteeming!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jun 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $15.18 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 19 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57360.07
ETH 3004.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26