Cordial Chronicles #1 - An Introduction (The ABCs of Getting Married)

in #writing7 years ago (edited)


cordial-1.png

For whom the bells toll? If it's of the matrimonial variety, then I guess those bells toll for my lady @randomli and I. Yes, that's right. You heard it here first. In a week's time, both of us would be officially off the market.

For almost a year now, I've been putting up posts about it on the STEEM blockchain. Granted, it's not the monthly series that I initially envisioned, but the declining interaction made me throttle it down a bit. It's not my nature to oversaturate things, you see. If you're new here and are interested to know more about it, here's a link to my proposal post from May. Go on and skim through it, I'll wait.

Done? Wow! That was quick! Did you like it? I mean, did you like it though? Care to read the sequel? Yes? That's awesome! No, wait... you're awesome! Here's a link to the sequel, you legend!

To round it all out, here's the link to the third part. I mean, you're already invested in the story, so why not, right?

As the title overtly suggests, this series is meant to chronicle our journey to get to this point. Unlike my previous engagement posts, I'll try not to drift off into the realms of fiction for this one. Please keep in mind that the operative word is "try." Life has already met fiction, so I don't want them to grow any contempt for each other.

I plan to make this a daily series while going on the final stretch of our wedding preps, so I apologize if I would't be able to reciprocate comments. I'll make up for it if I ever make it back to Steemit. I want to take this opportunity to apologize to the people whose posts I wouldn't be able to comment on. I'm miles away from "I have a lot of stuff on my plate."

You may ask, why am I piling up tasks while I'm already in way over my head. To that I'll reply, "Good question. Next."


next.png

When I first started doing the engagement posts, I had hoped that the earnings I received from these posts would go toward the fulfillment of a STEEM-Powered wedding. As you can see, it peaked at the second and sharply dropped for the third, and that's okay. It can't be helped. I guess I'm just (or my posts just aren't) not that appealing enough. No complaints on my end, it is what it is. I'm happy for all the earnings and interaction that my posts received! Warms my heart to have such awesome people taking notice.

I'm going to be honest here for a second (because apparently I've been lying this whole time), the costs for the wedding really burned through our savings. We met the ceiling for our budget months ago, and all we could do was wave at it as we flew past that mark. Good thing I've saved quite enough to pay for more than my share. But, that has left me quite destitute. And by destitute, I'm exaggerating, of course. I still have a roof over my head (for now) and I'm lucky to eat three square meals every day. My savings aren't as glimmering as it used to be, if you could still call it that.

To that end, I'm powering down for the first time since I came back from my hiatus to provide a sort of stop-gap. I'm not quite sure when the power down will stop, but I hope to at least make up at least 25% of what I've spent. So far, the wedding is mostly Foxy-Powered (from my last remaining savings that I earned from working for @lukestokes' company) with a little BOOM Power on the side (care of my brother like no other @meesterboom). I'm hoping that this mini-series would be able to make up for at least a small fraction.

I have never mooched off anyone, and I have never begged ever in my entire life. Ever since I started writing here, all I've ever posted is 100% original work, genuinely Jed, authentically AU. I've encouraged people to be their best selves, and I pushed a lot of Steemians to do their best. My votes aren't worth a lot, so I make up for it with awesome comments. I'm happy that a lot of those comments make an impact. So, what I'm saying is, I'm not asking for votes if you feel that I'm unworthy of it. By all means, go allocate your votes to more deserving Steemians. But, if you find it in your heart to cast even a small vote for an Old Minnow who's about to go through a life-changing transition, then I appreciate it very much! :D


chum.png

It's funny, when I started here, I focused on trying to impart life lessons by telling stories of past experiences. But, who was I to educate people who had more life experiences than I did? So, I pivoted to fiction. I had a decent run, I feel. I never hit the top trending ever, and all the earnings for my STEEM-based novel was transferred to its inspiration @zeppelin. After six months of tirelessly uploading chapters and commentary, all my account made was inchstones. But, I appreciate all of the solid friends I made during that run. Plus, helping a child who couldn't help himself felt really great, too!

I've been sputtering around in recent months, trying to find a solid identity, and while it's been great fun, I feel like I haven't captured a solid audience like I should. For this series, I'm flipping the script and asking people their advice. I have never been married before, I haven't even lived with anyone before. Honestly, I have no idea what I'm getting into. When I was at the top of my game, I was working three jobs at the same time, and I even had a place of my own. But, when I left the corporate world, I decided to move back to my parents' and dreamt of starting ventures, which so far has been duds.

I am by no means discouraged though, don't get wrong. I'm excited to get back after I take a break to readjust my life. Consider this mini-series a long-winded "until next time." Consider this post as me putting down my armor and exposing myself to the world. A heartfelt thanks goes out to anyone who heeds my call. Any amount of vote is very much appreciated.

Whew! That felt good to let out of my chest. Feels like a weight has been lifted off my shoulders!


I've been campaigning for @lukestokes witness account @lukestokes.mhth for months now because I knew him way before Steemit. I can vouch that he's an awesome individual who has nothing but the best intentions for this platform. As I mentioned, my share of the expenses have been mostly from my last remaining savings from working for FoxyCart. Even though my contract has ended for a couple of years now, I would forever hold fond memories of my time there. Please do consider voting for him as a witness!


Join me in my Year of Resilience!

Sort:  

Ah those first five words!!!!

And it is!! I am excited for you dude! You are my broham from another moham or something! It was hard to type that without accidentally offending your mother.

I know that you will have a mini break and come back full of zim. I do think that something's you overthink (don't take that the wrong way) and that once you marry the lady of your dreams you will be on it like a car bonnet. That is actually a saying here in Scotland. Sigh bloody idiot Scots.

I look forward to reading the run up.

I just read that back. I don't often make sense.

Of all the words I could've strung together, I had to pick the ones where you played a sick riff, didn't I? Had I always known? We'll never know, y'know?

My mother does get offended easily, but she gets over it in record time.

I do tend to overthink, don't I? It's a character flaw. I tried to take myself in to the shop for repairs, but my insurance had lapsed I just left. On it like a car bonnet, huh? That's actually quite profound!

Thank you, bro-nado! You have been such a rock here!!

Hehe, I couldn't help myself when I read them! I almost got the electric out!!

You have been quite the rock yourself dude and to a fair few folk!!

Yeah well, you know I try ;) I'm just extremely thankful for all the other boulders who roll with me, dudeski. Together we move mountains!

Haha, me boom, me luv, you make perfect sense to us ;)

Then that is all that matters! :OD

I've been sputtering around in recent months, trying to find a solid identity, and while it's been great fun, I feel like I haven't captured a solid audience like I should. For this series, I'm flipping the script and asking people their advice. I have never been married before, I haven't even lived with anyone before. Honestly, I have no idea what I'm getting into.

Yeah, you don't. You can't.

But It will be awesome, man. First months will be like a dream. Then, not so much. Later on, will be a different kind of dream, but a great one.

12 years or marriage experience, man. Still alive and loving it!

Oh wow! 12 years? In an age of quick dissolutions, that's already a shining beacon! I'm glad that you and your wife are keeping the flame alive after a long time, man :D

Thanks! Easy task when we both are sexy as hell, you now...

i am really happy for you man! have a great life with the woman you love together! Also don't worry, from what i've read you have done a lot of things and gone through many things also but you know what they say if it doesn't kill you it can only makes you stronger!

Your posts in general are amazing and worth a lot more than they earn at least that i think so. A reason behind it might be the while platform structure and the use of bot by some that cover others post but that's another story!

Anyway congrats once again for the wedding!

Thank you, man! I surely will! Awww I appreciate you thinking of my posts that way. Truly heartwarming! Truthfully, I don't mind all the bots anymore. I don't think they make a ton of difference in the big picture. I tend not to think about what I lack and just be grateful for what I have these days. Thank you for the mutual support, brother!

Congratulations!! I wish you all the best.
Marriage terrorizes me O.o

One day you're going to find someone that will make you change your mind about it. I promise you that, my friend. Thank you for the well wishes! :)

Going on eighteen years of wedded bliss, I have a sense for when other couples are soul mates and destined to be happy, to be epic, and I know you and Li are one of these couples. Your spirits are both so full of light, together you will be awe worthy :)
Love you so much my brother from another, you got this! xxoo

Lots of love, sis! We have some enormous shoes to fill, so we're going to march to the beat of our own drum. With support like yours, how could we even fail!? There are just those souls that are fortunate enough to find their missing piece, so I'm glad that I found mine :D

You've been my most wonderful friend here on steemit, you've been the brother I never had, am already missing you and your great posts, congratulations and happy married life for you and @randomli. I wish you all the best, thanks for being you.

Thank you, man! I'm really happy we stumbled upon each other here. With the way you're going about things, I won't be surprised if you far surpassed me when I get back. Just keep on pushing, brother!

Apparently not good enough for a vote though. Oh well...

good work my friend!

Thanks, buddy!

Happy married life
I wish you a successful marital outing with your fiancee.
I remember seeing your updates

Thanks for the well wishes! Yes, I remember you too from the Traffic Koans. Nice of you to drop by again!

Wow!!! You still recall
Such a long time. Nice

I almost always never forget people here. My mind is like a blockchain haha!

What do you mean "if you ever make it back to steemit" :< Oh well there's busy and mspsteem and chainbb if you don't make it back to steemit ;D

I remember wedding prep (there was a pregnancy involved which made things more...uh..."entertaining" so you're timing things much better than we did ;D), totally understand that you're going to be even more under the pump and that this thing might fall by the wayside especially when the wedding part is done and you're off honeymooning and by that stage pretty much need a break from all the things anyway. But we'll be around when you're right to come back :)

You have so lived with other people, your family is people right? XD

Advice eh, well um for the wedding try not to stress too much (lol), no matter what happens everything will be perfect on the day because in the end all that matters are the people immediately involved.

For actual married life, well it's pretty easy. Eventually that crazy intensity will subside (it does come back in often random bouts) and you'll have a nice comfortable sustainable long term low level love replacing it. Beyond that it's mostly logistics of how you're going to organise money and who's doing what chores and then getting used to the other one's level of tolerance for mess XD

goatsig

I'm replying now so obviously I came back... for now :/ Still trying to find my legs though, this all feels so strange after being away for so long. Much like my hiatus during my earlier days. I'm going to try and find a new routine given everything.

The wedding went by great, if a blur for Li and I. Everyone who attended had nothing but high praise for everything, so that was a relief. We're still in the honeymoon phase so everything's been swell, but it still takes a lot of getting used to haha Since we're living in Li's old house though, I've had the short straw when it comes to decisions, so I can't wait to move to a place we share 50-50 haha!

Yay you're back :D Even if it is just "for now". There are always going to be new routines because stuff always changes. You'll get into the swing of something now and then one of you will start a new job or you'll feel right for kids and then everything will change again. Such is life XD Just have fun with this :)

goatsig

You're probably right, mate. I'll just learn to roll with it :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63740.26
ETH 2618.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79