You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NOTES FROM AN AMATEUR WRITER #43 - Seeking a Community of Writers

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Great post, @naquoya. You know me already, but I will add my two cents for others who don’t. I am a writer who began this writing adventure many many moons ago and returned recently when my kids got old enough to not need me so much. I am now writing and polishing stories and submitting them for publication. I have also published quite a few shorter pieces here on Steemit, and have placed well in a few of the fiction contests, which have been so fun. (One of my favorites was for a mixed media collaboration contest.)

I have a masters degree in creative writing, and I love to teach and share knowledge, so I started a workshop series here on Steemit. (I just published my 15th post in the series a few days ago.) When I began the series I was looking for and not finding a writing community here on Steemit, but I just hadn’t looked under enough rocks!

You are right that the writing communities are growing here on Steemit and Discord. I belong to several of them, most notably The Writers Block, which is open to all writers. All of my recent workshop posts include links to the sign-up page.

In addition to all that, I am a humble member of the first #writeclub group, which starts today. I posted about it yesterday, letting other writers know how to unofficially participate, as I think it’s a great opportunity for writers who want to up their game and need something to give them a push.

I am really excited about this opportunity, and I know it is going to result in many more publishable stories than I would ever have managed in such a short period of time (8 stories in 16 weeks)!

Thanks for getting this great conversation started, my friend!

Apologies for any typos. I typed this reply on my mobile phone.

Sort:  

Hi @jayna and thank you taking the time to tell me (us) about yourself. I have had the good fortune to stumble upon your workshop series recently, and Iam glad that i did. I do recommend them for others to follow up with also. Well worth the time to read.

How has having a Masters Degree in Creative Writing helped you? I find that fascinating. I've never taken any formal course in writing (I hope that's not too obvious), so I try to learn through osmosis. Read and watch what other writers are doing. That is where the writing groups come in handy.

It is a goal of mine to try to get something published soon. I need to learn all I can about the type of sources to do that. In the meantime I try to write all I can, and keep honing my story telling skills. Steemit is a great place for that.

Thanks for participating in my conversation :)

Hi @naquoya. Yes, I think the study in writing was a great experience. I promptly became a technical writer and have had a long career that is only loosely related to my studies. But I have always loved fiction, and love to write, and am in awe and wonder at beautiful writing. It is very exciting to be returning to it again with the goal to master the craft and help others do the same.

You don’t need to formally study fiction writing through coursework to become an excellent writer. But the mechanics are important. I think most writers pick all of it up through writing workshops and involvement in writing groups, and doing what you’re going—continually practicing the art of storytelling. Good luck! I look forward to reading your work.

I too am in awe and wonder at beautiful writing. Story telling is foundational, but to be able to do it with a unique and powerful voice is ideal. And takes a lot of practice. As I am finding out.

Your workshop series are a great educational tool. They do help with the craft, the mechanics, as you say. But I do like that a loose but constructive community of writers is springing up here.

Thanks for your comments. And I will continue to follow along on your Writer's Club journey. Best of luck to you.

And best of luck to you too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66649.04
ETH 3352.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70