Did I Just Catch A Break Regarding My Firefly/Serenity Resurrection Campaign? Only Time Will Tell...

in #writing8 years ago

(Image Source: Sideache at DeviantArt)

 I might have just caught a break in regard to my campaign to resurrect the Firefly series, and/or Serenity movie franchise (part 1 found here, and part 2 found here). My premise for posting here on Steemit, was that I could link these posts to Blogs such as Browncoats and Firefly/Serenity Facebook groups, Twitter feeds for some of the cast, etc., and gain a following which might catch the attention of the creators (Joss Wheadon, and Mutant Enemy, et al) for their consideration regarding starting the series back up, producing movies, or just allowing me to write the continuing saga, with my take on where the story might go.  

  I had an idea. After finding out  that [Major Corporation that started out selling books on-line, and now sells a lot of things including devices that one can read their e-books on] has begun securing rights from creators and others holding creative rights for TV series, movies, comics, and written works, so that those writing fan-fiction, could receive a share of royalties, for writing in those “Worlds,” I decided that I would attempt to petition [said Corporate entity] to secure privileges for others to create content in the Firefly/Serenity “World.”

  To tell you the truth, I expected a form letter response from {said entity], and really nothing more. However, I received a direct e-mail from [specific higher-up individual from the “Worlds” department] stating the normal “form letter” jargon, as well as adding that his co-workers and he are big fans of Firefly/Serenity, thought my idea was great, and “for that reason” they were personally pushing the matter upstairs for closer consideration. 

  This is really good news, if you think about it. If [above named Corporation’s “Worlds” department] likes the idea and pursues  “rights to create,” that means they will be negotiating with Joss Wheadon, and Mutant Enemy, et al. If they are successful, that means I (and, others) might get to publish my (or others, their) fan-fiction novel(s). That implies that Joss and Mutant Enemy might be checking those creations for compliance, and I might get my audience with them, assuming my work gets published. And,  they might see my idea in the form of an intriguing story-line. They could, at that point, just use the story-line without consideration towards me, and bring back Firefly and/or Serenity, and everybody would be happy. Or, they could do the same, and include my further writing ability, which would, as before, make everyone happy--especially me, as I would, then, have my dream job. 

  But what if my story doesn’t cut the cake, and it doesn’t get published...well, maybe someone else’s will, and the same scenario is possible, just not with my take on the story-line...still everyone is happy. But what if I am able to publish (and others, as well), but Joss, et al, is not interested in resurrecting Firefly/Serenity? Well, then the fans will have lots of good reading material from new perspectives...win, win…including (if my work gets published) bringing Wash back (believably). 

(Image Source: Lilen at DeviantArt)

  Where do I go from this point on, you might ask? Instead of writing a non-commercial fan-fiction and posting it here, chapter-by-chapter, I will finish my work, assuming I will be able to publish on [said Corporation’s] Firefly/Serenity “World” when that World becomes available. I plan to post my progress, as well as, any news related to [said Corporation’s] efforts in procuring “rights” to that “World.” If, at some time, I discover that [said Corporation] was not successful at obtaining the Firefly/Serenity “rights,” and I have exhausted my own efforts for securing permissions, I would, then post individual chapters, here, as a non-commercial fan-fiction...fair enough? 

  How can you help, you might be asking? Well, for starters, share this post everywhere you can think of. Then, you might visit [said Corporation’s] site and request they attempt to secure the Firefly/Serenity “World” so that, being a big fan, you might enjoy more of the Firefly/Serenity story-line, or even write some e-books yourself. The more of you, that do that, the greater chance they will consider it a good idea...Shiney??? Join the movement. Here is a link to their request form. Please make sure you reference their "Worlds" division.

  Please comment, criticize, laugh, joke, and whatever...and, if you like my content, please also upvote and re-steem this post. Thank you… 

  ~Cheers~

  Twitter: @james83501
 Steemit: @james83501  

Sort:  

I'm scared to read this in case it turns out to not happen!

Don't be scared...be an activist...read the part that suggests what you can do to help influence this into being...just saying ; )

So sad that Firefly was replaced by some "ooh shiny fast car" tripe

I like "ooh shiny fast car tripe," as well. Think of what I am suggesting as a way to "age" Firefly/Serenity "like a fine wine" and lets promote this...just saying ; )

Hello @james83501,

It gives us pleasure to inform you that this post have been upvoted by Project Better.

The Mission of Project Better is to reward posts have many votes from Minnows but earn pennies.
Your payout is $0.011 before we vote on your post.

Learn more about the Project Better here!

We hope to see you continuing to post some great stuff on Steemit!

Good luck!

~BETTER~

Thank you very much...I am honored ; )

Good way to take the initiative, respect!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55910.18
ETH 2507.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27