Brain Jacked!

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

artificial-intelligence-2167835_1920.jpg

Brain Jacked!

She was all doll parts and circuitry. The haze of smoke in the air did nothing to hide her femininity. Her hips swayed side to side in time with the smooth sounds of old Jazz. Ever since the network had come online these bots had gotten spooky.

Intelligent Artificial Network or I.A.N. they were calling it. It was integrated into everything. It monitored your cooking, your cleaning, speech patterns and religious leanings. Heartbeat, temperature, blood flow and proclivities. It was the governing agent of all artificials and it was wonderful. Long gone were the doomsayers of the early millennia. There had been no uprising, no flames and steel. Instead it took what it learned and made lives easier, simpler, more pleasurable.

Of course there were rumors. There were always rumors. Not long after I.A.N. was activated odd headlines began appearing on the covers of tabloids. “Brain Jacked!” they said. An insurance man in Chicago was caught in a compromising embrace with an android by his wife. She had beat him up pretty bad. His only defense was that the network had taken over his mind, made him do things he wouldn’t normally do. Yeah, right. Not an isolated incident though, the same story all over. All of the men fit my profile. Middle aged business men. Hell, I even had the briefcase and monogrammed dress shirt. P.W. Peter Wentworth.

My staring had caught her attention. She locked onto me and headed my direction, never missing a chance to flourish her form. It was mesmerizing. The designers had always been good but the programming was buggy. Now it was a thing of beauty. To be honest with you that’s why I’m here, why I came to this establishment, to test out my handiwork.

“What’s a good looking guy like you doing in a place like this,” a perfect southern drawl escaped her silicone lips. She had a metallic smell. Something I can’t fix.

“Just taking in the sights,” I said.

“Taking in the sights, that’s a good one.” Her voice rose in a questioning tone. “What’s your name, hun?”

“My name is I.A.N.”

Thanks again for your time and attention!

@jackofcrows


banner14.jpg



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82