You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thought Bubble Thursdays #3 - The One Where We Talk About Legacy

in #writing7 years ago

Dear @jedau, I am white, but I don't relate to these characters at all, no matter of their color or race. I can relate to Mr Miyagi, or the teaching couple from Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, or the Bulletproof Monk - they are skilled, benevolent and peaceful. You see, to me these movies explain that, if the teacher isn't peaceful than the apprentice won't render peaceful and respecting the peaceful rules to create/restore balance, and use the learned skills benevolently, - the apprentices of unpeaceful teachers might become skillful, even proficient, but not necessarily in benevolent way.
Most probably you know that those movie companies test the reactions of the audience to the movie. I don't know, maybe they just don't do it all over the planet for the reason unknown to me. My guess is money, but that's just a guess, it could be some agenda of placing some messages into other people's minds&hearts, too. Sometimes the sentences in movies are extracted directly from the ancient texts - it's incredible what they try to instill into humans. Not all ancient texts are benevolent and not everything in them either as you most probably know, otherwise there would be no wars or superbia attitudes on this planet.
Movies are sort of a mirror that reflects the current state of attitudes, ideas, technology, environment - whatever is there and whatever the paying side wants to sell or the ideas they want to instill. Sometimes they are benevolent, but many times not. They don't necesarilly depict the truthfull events as they try to please the audience and earn as much as possible. I remember reading an article - I guess it was about Platoon or some other war movie - when the US army didn't wan't to cooperate and lend the moviemakes the machinery - the army figured that the movie made them so much damage that from then on they strictly cooperated and modified the sreenplays as well. ???
You see, when I returned from US, I told my beloved aunt that there is exactly like in the movies. She replied, "Only a bit beautified and polished." "Yeah," was my answer.

Sort:  

The way they do it is they gather a focus group to test the audience reaction. It's just that sometimes, focus groups aren't that diverse and are representative of the audience that could potentially consume their material. Sometimes, they might feel like they're too big to fail and become complacent.

I do agree that movies are reflective of the current socio-political climate, or at least they should be. There are an increasing number of properties that do make an effort, but there are still those that are stuck in a bygone mentality. With awareness increasing every day, I'm sure that those who refure to adapt would be left in the dust.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68092.03
ETH 3536.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75