...But Would You Be A Blessing, My Blessing? - inspired by @fisteganos

in #writing6 years ago (edited)


Waiting for a blessing

Every day I work hard,
Every day I work smart,
Every day I recreate myself,
Every day I push myself,

That I may not not get a curse but a cause.

I forget momentary fantasies,
I forget the rewards of today,
I let go myself in happiness I find,
I let go all burden of myself,

that I may be a blessing to the world.

In grasp for a better tomorrow I held onto,
In grasp of the yesteryears I understand,
In the thoughts of my reflecting, I am nothing,
In thoughts of my weakness, I am made strong,

that my weakness and strength makes place for a blessing.

And my bones; they feeble,
My blood stood still like a pap,
And my thoughts became blank,
My shock ran through me, showing me to hell's way,

For my blessing has left me.

So I went for a quest,
So I started a journey,
That I may find all within me,
That I find all the man I lost,

but no one journeyed with me.

I became a shadow of myself,
I became a mirror for a curse without a cause,
I became shattered in spirit,
I became broken into the sands,

with no hope of a blessing.

So would you be the water to awaken fresh breath of me?
Would you give me a cause and not a curse?
Can you restore my frozen blood with a sweet laughter; so pure to awaken dead hearts?
Can you be all the strength I need; in my weaknesses, my failings, and in my trials?
Can you give me hope beyond the unseen?

So I began my struggles anew,
I took the journey from the outside to the inside,
So I saw not a cause, and a blessing,
I saw you and myself,
I saw the blessings in you and I,
I saw a new world, a blessing,

....but would you be a blessing, my blessing?

Appendix

Photo credits

This poem is inspired by @fisteganos

All Rights Reserved ©I.C Nelson 2018

Yours truly loved

@iconnelly

Sort:  

Wow this is a nice poem about blessings @iconnelly =)

Thanks @micch for coming around hope to see you next time.

You are very much welcome friend @iconnelly :)

So I went for a quest
So I started a journey
That I may find all within me
That I find all the man I lost

The above really got me, this highlights the different challenges a young man faces in the course of finding his path. Aptly written, well done @iconelly

Yes oo, there is really a struggle for us young men not to give up. We must always reinvent ourselves.

We find motivation in many different things. Whatever path we choose, the fact is that we can’t give up on trying.

This is nice 👍

No, we must keep trying. Thanks for coming around!

Wow, this is a beautiful piece.

So I began my struggles anew,
I took the journey from the outside to the inside,
So I saw not a cause, and a blessing,

This part, is so true with me, and i know my success is sure. Thank you.

Motivating, thanks for this reflective words this morning

Thank you for sticking around

Wow, this is a beautiful piece.

So I began my struggles anew,
I took the journey from the outside to the inside,
So I saw not a cause, and a blessing,

This part, is so true with me, and i know my success is sure. Thank you.

yeah! count your blessing every day one by one!

Congratulations @iconnelly! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Nice poem! Carry on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61599.30
ETH 3389.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50