[writing] Nowhere leads to somewhere

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

D597D035-7AC1-4D48-8126-F926165DE4BF.jpeg

New Steemit shirt from @motoengineer see more at the bottom.



Story time...


the door along the way


We travelled here for a reason. But after hours of walking, what that was became less clear. The mind began to wander. To mimic its kindred feet. The road was steep and the sights were vast. The sun was strong.

There were people of all shapes and sizes. From tall and round and short and flat. Dispositions would vary too. Happy and sad and mad and glad. Inquisitive, funny and true.

Then suddenly the clarity returned. But not like that after you wipe the smudge from your spectacles. Or after adjusting your eyes from dark to light. It was the reverse. Like when you look at a painting and it reveals itself when you squint. You lose focus and see clarity in the blur.

The road was paved with cobbles. But concrete covered them since. The path now began to narrow. And the hum of the hustle and bustle, turned into a whispering hymn.

We felt warm all of a sudden. Seemingly dry and parched. But the air was cool and damp. Exhaustion, almost. Or just a sense of exaggerated exertion.

Bam! To a halt. Like a battering ram. Or two in a rut. Skull to skull. Not physically but at the end of our sight. And thus in our mind the path did not continue. The blurred clarity of mind combined with and caused by fatigue.

The doorway appeared newly built but old in its craft. The stones were heavy and the edges were clean. The door was wooden and coated but in need of a second one soon. A new sense was triggered. The odor new too. But the memories triggered were not. The odor now an aroma. The handle seemed real and in reach. The metal was cold but the feeling was warm. It entered the mind through the nostrils and tickled all things in its path.

The door was heavy and the room was dark. There was wood and copper. Iron and steel. The aroma was strong and pungent. Absorbed by the elements occupying the space. And the by the space itself.

Equipment galore. Barrels and presses. Stills and vats. Stains on the walls, the ceilings, the slats. Some barrels looked fresh, some jars were still full. Hues of gray, crimson and brown coated the room.

Bottles lined the walls, with corks both natural and synthetic. Some had screw caps. Some were open, some closed. Barely ten paces inside, we stared into what seemed like an endless workshop. There was a faint light. A flame, a flicker. Oil or gas? Maybe electric. The movement was real. We approached it and it approached us.

The it was a who. The master of the craft. It had to be. With messy dusty hair and matching overalls blue. A white collared shirt with maybe a stain or three but that wasn’t the point. The crafter carried a bottle, large enough for our numbers, and glasses that equaled the half of our double. The frosty glass of the bottle glimmered.

Few words and gestures were exchanged. The signed exchange clearer than the spoken. We found ourselves sitting, at a tall wooden bar-like table, on uneven stools. We were lively again and quenched. Our bellies full now with both drink and food too.

The end, was not in sight. The moon now lit the sky through the windows facing it. The wooden door in the doorway of stone.


Inspired by @onceuponatime’s “story from a photo contest.” (That’s just how I’m calling it.) See photo below with link to the post and photo source.

106F8FBB-2378-4BA4-A36E-C1BDB21B2F6E.jpeg
link to post and photo source



Check out @motoengineer’s t-shirt design in the link below that I’m modeling in the photo at the top! It’s a cool design, he’s got a white and black option and he’s doing a giveaway too. Give him a follow while you’re at it...

https://steemit.com/steemit/@motoengineer/blog-steem-shirt-give-away-samples-are-in

Sort:  

Cool shirt and cool story :D

It was a gift. ;)

Καλημέρα φιλέ μου και Καλό μηνά... πολύ ωραιο!!!

Kalo mina! Euxaristw!

I am honored to have your entry in my contest!

And, as long as we are showing off steemit shirts, here's my entry :-)

HappyNewYearadd_text.jpg
by STORMTECH for @onceuponatime

is there a female underwear line too ?

Why do you ask? Do you need a new hat?

trump.jpg

I'll bet that the Donald really would appreciate the subtlety of my humor!

Thanks! Nice shirt !

Lovely piece of writing!

Thank you! Glad you enjoyed it :)

I have to be truthful

Am tripping for the beards....... Nigerians don't have such cool beards..... Cool story

Goodluck on the contest

Haha I bet some Nigerians have cool beards too!

I doubt.... I don't think u want to see mine

It's nice in a Nigerian way but not as cool as urs

Nice is relative to the person looking at it. Like artwork.

Why did you put this image here? This is your only warning before flagging.

Did you follow me and vote for me????????? Who are you? What did you like about the post I made? Where are you from? Send me sbd.

You should flag him. If you check his comment page, it is full of exactly the same message. He has nothing else to say.

Your story, it is as if you saw the photo and had a dream that night....

Thanks for the heads up I didn’t get a chance to check his comments!

And thanks for reading the story! I wrote it before I fully woke up so I was in a dreamlike state at the time of its creation!

For a while I posted a few English and Greek poems here, and most of them I found the first lines playing around in my mind as I woke up, I've even given a few of the stories that came from my dreams - and I spent 18 years writing a story (about 25,000 pages) of the life of one family (a fantasy story). I became so immersed in it that I ended up with Carpal Tunnel Syndrome, but, more important, I would see (meet) some of them in my dreams and we even shared a few adventures, which were then included in the book.

Our minds are the one place in this universe where we, for 100% certain, create magic.

The difficulty is in transferring some of it onto pages for others to share with us.

I saw a comment of your in a post by @nikosnitza and luckily checked your blog page. Glad I did.

Niko is awesome! Glad you stopped by. Dreams are awesome but can be scary if you misinterpret them. Or if you get too immersed in them. But kinda like you said, their potential for “magic” is certainly there. I have difficulty remembering dreams unless I wake up directly after having one. Otherwise they become scrambled. I want to try and induce dreams and orchestrate their plots... but my dreams tend to be the direct response to occurrences or thoughts that I have in real life -!where I can almost always connect the dots.

Cheers!

Check on youtube for 'Lucid dreams'. If you teach yourself, you'll discover another way to add a lot of beauty toyour life.

Yeah I’ve heard about this and briefly looked into it. I need to look into it further!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67421.82
ETH 2623.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68