A straight to Steemit Novel?! A chapter a week - my plan.

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

You can try to read the text in the picture. It is my hand writing, and terrible. A while back, when I first started to become active on Steemit, I commented on an article that was about how you could make more as a writer on Steemit than in conventional publishing.

Having previously worked as a journalist in the Video Game industry, and having done reviews, editorial content, and copy; this seemed very true after my first few days on the platform. I have always loved to tell stories, and have always wanted to take part in an event like nano-wri-mo, where you write x words per day, in order to produce a novel by the end of the month. Well, I'm not waiting anymore. I'm going to start!


The Format

I will be producing a chapter a week for this novel, in order to enable "next" and "previous" links to enable reader continuity down the track. This will start tomorrow. The idea is each 6 days, there will be a new chapter available.

So What is it about?

The novel will be based on a travel story. It will be written from a first person perspective, and I intend to let the characters develop organically as I write. There will be no overarching plan or process. I'm starting with the situation of a road trip, focusing on the topic of travel, and seeing where my imagination will take flight.

Why are you doing this?

So we can have some original content on Steemit. I have written longer stories in the past, but these have not been formally published. I did dabble in Amazon's KDP program with a novella that I wrote when I was much, much younger as part of a youth writing contest, but I am feeling inspired again.
I'm open to feedback. I'm open to comments driving the story. Like I said, I have no plan for this story other than the topic of "travel". I'm excited about Steemit. You all should be, too!
Sort:  

Excellent post! I am looking forward to seeing the chapters come out. It will be added to the list of Steemit books I am reading. Keep it up! Upvoted

Thank you for the support! I'm eager to share this with the community as it evolves!

What an interesting concept! The best of luck with it, I look forward to reading your story.

I have always wanted to write a book, maybe I should just get it out of my system and put pen to paper....

Thank you for the support! I expect to be held accountable by the community if I do not carry through on my promises! I don't want to be a George RR Martin type of writer, taking forever between books! :)

It is entirely excusable though, he did write quite a brilliant series of books 😜

This is a really cool idea. I followed you -- can't wait to read the first chapter!

Thanks!

I've started working on this today, and once I've got it down, proofread and formatted correctly, it will be uploaded! I'm excited about this opportunity. As I'm writing... I've forgotten how much it is to throw a situation at people and see how they react. Hope it is actually worth reading once I publish!

I was thinking about doing the same thing, but I don't have a very far reach here as of yet.

I like the idea. It's very similar to how I started but I was not sharing my writing at first. As I started to write, some overarching themes and connections began to develop.

I think you can try it out, you are always free to re-edit the story later if you see the need to and then this steemit version will be the rough draft, available for all to see.

I am playing with this idea.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 27. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $10.07 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 27 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I've only been on steemit for a week, and it has been a wild roller-coaster-ride experience thus far!
Wishing you a joyful and rewarding steemit experience 😃

Best of luck

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65