You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: For Those Who Follow, Part 1 - An Interactive Series! WEEKLY CONTEST GIVING AWAY TOTAL SBD GENERATED FOR EVERY SINGLE CHAPTER!

in #writing7 years ago

At this point in the story, it seems clear that Aiden would stay in the woods, against the chief's wishes. He's clearly got an axe to grind with the deal life has dealt him.

Something that occurred to me as I was reading par 4-5: were both characters born in this tribal culture. If so, I have to think they have tribal customs wired so deeply in their bones that the sharing of a kill among tribe members would go unsaid between them (they would know no other way of life). But if it needs to be said for the reader, maybe that's more a job for a narrative voice(?)

I'm interested to see how the narrative voice works out if Aiden stays in the woods, as I'm guessing we'd get a glimpse of his inner dialogue and some of his motivations.

I'm no hunter, but one element that stands out pretty strongly to me is that if they just killed a deer, don't they have to field dress it, etc.? And when they do, isn't it necessarily a two-man job to get the meat back to the tribe. If that logic is followed, Aiden can't actually stay out there alone (tribal values).

Other than that, I'd like to say that I'd be interested in submitting proofreading stuff to you directly (not in comments -- too boring). Nothing too major, just alternative punctuation (the hyphen-dot construction?), verb agreement, etc. so let me know if you'd be interested in that at all.

Nice work -- seems like it's going to be an interesting project!

Sort:  

Thank you for such a detailed response and bringing my attention to things I hadn't initially though of. My username on steemit chat and in discord is the same as here, feel free to message me there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 61402.08
ETH 3386.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49