More (Vulnerable) Confessions: That Time I Ended Up Working for a Drug Runner! Am I Going To Go To Jail For This? "The Red Pill: Pt 10" 😩😬🤐

in #writing7 years ago

Remember when I was telling you about the ridiculously outrageous time I accidentally got myself trapped working for a drug lord in Dominican Republic? It's time for more of that story.

If you’re caught up, skip ahead... if you're new here and real-life accounts of secrets, murder, escape plans, damsels-in-distress/ alter-egos and overall travel gone-wrong are your thing, read on. I’ll link back the previous chapters to catch you up in case you get hooked ;)

This is Part 10 of my experience getting caught up in an undisclosed amount of trouble in Dominican Republic as a young girl trying to find her way through a broken heart. Things spiraled out of control to the point where all of a sudden murder was on the table and special forces lurked around, waiting to hear this very tale.

Last time we ended here:


“Get your sh*t together and I mean now!”
Realizing I only had one option and that was the red pill... why did it have to be a red pill of all colors? I was really wishing I could have had the option of blue. Swallowing what I was given, I looked at Em and down the rabbit hole I went.


me dr pt 10.jpg


In the seemingly frozen moment following, I could feel the foreign red-gelled pill invading my senses.

It stuck to the sides of my throat as I tried to will it down with the limited saliva I had to offer it. Was it resisting me?

Stuck… the feeling was too close to home.

I felt stuck just like the pill, both of us moving slowly in the direction we were meant to go, but in a warp space where time slowed down, giving the illusion it wasn’t moving at all.

I focused my attention on Emily’s once gentle face, now painted with lines of stress and torment.

It was then that I realized I genuinely felt bad for her (maybe it was the pill she just gave me but my perspective changed drastically… talk about the Matrix!)


matrix.jpg


Here she was, a beautiful blonde, 20-something-year-old, new mother with a baby to a father involved in the drug circus rigmarole going on here and somehow she landed herself on the street corner, buying me some candy colored drugs in limited Spanish, yelling at me to get my act together.

What world was I living in?

After those piercingly strong words flew out of her mouth and slapped me in the face, she met my gaze and when our eyes crossed paths in that moment, she sighed what seemed to be an enormously heavy cloud and sunk into a field of tears.

She appeared to suddenly become more susceptible to gravity as her whole body gave way to be magnetized to the ground. She was sobbing so intensely that I could hardly make out her words but seeing her defeated like that made me feel like I was living her pain through watching her in such agony.

Inside my own chest, every movement was amplified. I could feel my heart tearing at the seams, bursting with sympathy for this poor girl. My eyes frantically searched the street around us, ‘what were people going to think when they saw two tiny white girls having a meltdown on the side of the road?’

Suddenly giving way to my own thoughts, feelings and fears, shame confronted me with vengeance. This woman was knee-buckled, heaved over crying her eyes out on the scorching hot pavement in a foreign land.

I was complaining about living an unbearable hell but what about what she was going through? Did I ever stop to care? Did I ever think to ask?

No…


ashamed.gif


I felt heat burn my cheeks as the shame overcame me for complaining about my situation in comparison since she was the one sleeping with the damn devil and mothering his offspring.

Grabbing her arms and steering her to a ledge, away from the doctor who was staring at us wondering what to do, I got her leaning against some bricks. After some hyperventilating and watering the ground with her sweat, tears and well, snot… she began to tell me her story.

It seemed as though it was coming from another place inside her, like she couldn’t make the conscious decision to tell me this and yet it was flinging itself out of her mouth and into my ears as if telling me would grant her release from it all.

What kind of pill did I take? Too late now…

The blazing hot sun was threatening to burn a hole through my entire body and yet I remained in place, shielding Em with my limited capability while she told me her story.
Even though I knew part of it already, it was as if she was taking a cover off, unleashing all of the pain she’d been storing inside as she confided in me the pain of her soul.

A few months prior, in love and confused, she had been chasing James’ love with heartbreaking lack of success. Young and naïve, Em was beyond herself head over heels for the older, bad guy stereotype offering her constant opportunity to question her self-worth. James had a criminal past and carried around a looming chip on his shoulder. He was a joker, packed full of confidence (er cockiness) and had exactly the DGAF attitude that girls trip all over themselves for.


bad boy.gif


The two had been ‘dating’ (cough... sleeping together) on and off for years and while Em was dedicated and committed to ‘making James a better man’, he was reckless, confrontational and testing her patience and understanding while he incessantly pushed her to new limits.

Frustrated by his apparent lack of will to be reined in, Em decided to push boundaries of her own. With a hand from fate, she found herself pregnant and hoped desperately that it would secure her place in James’s life and heart.

However, despite the fact that she had a living being growing inside of her and was about to give birth to their child, James remained an untamable wild spirit who refused the confines of traditional culture leaving Em young, pregnant and still having to fight for his love and attention.

With her confidence fading as James crawled his way in and out of different beds at night and chased reliability away with a stick (what rhymes with stick?), she became depressed, desperate for a proper father for her unborn son.

In an effort to win him over through gaining his respect, she launched herself into their business, investing and putting her energy into helping it succeed. She quit her own job and worked tirelessly day in and day out coordinating, scheduling, and organizing the business into creation and finally, properties were purchased with her name on the papers.

James was ecstatic and now seeing Emily through new eyes, as a partner on whom he relied, he started to soften. By the time the baby was about to be born, they had moved to Dominican Republic to start their business and create a new life together and Em was radiating with happiness over what she believed to be exactly what she wanted.

Time passed and Em was getting closer to delivery every day while they were hacking away getting everything moving on their new island life. Forgetting to take care of herself, putting James and the business first, she felt complications and became frightened about having the child in a foreign country.

James sent her back home to have the baby there without him while he stayed down south and continued working. Getting on the plane alone to go give birth to their son, she felt a deepened pang of hatred for him.


betray.gif


Against his resistance, she came back with the new baby boy and continued back into how things had been before she left but things were different. James was overloaded with ideas and visions and the sound of a baby crying turned him into an image of the hulk, bursting with anger and ripping his patience at the seams.

All of the responsibility of taking care of the baby was left on Em’s shoulders while at the same time she was expected to oversee the business while her man was out every night running the streets doing God knows what with God knows who.

Having the new born baby meant that she couldn’t be out on foot, doing the same leg work as the guys (Kyle had come onboard by that point!) so she had no way of keeping track of James.

It did leave a lot of slack for her to pick up clerical, online aspects and at that, she jumped for the opportunity to retain worth in James’ eyes. (Sad, right?)

One of her first tasks (and most important at that) had been finding and hiring the right employees, the best bartenders available to fly down and work for their new company. Part of that job description entailed being “OK” or “desensitized” to the lesser common aspects such as the well… drug running. (Oh yeah, because it had now come to that... but Em wasn’t completely in the loop yet!)

They had received a mountain of applications to sift through and decide on and in the end, she decided to choose me. They had trusted her with that decision and it added a burden of stress onto her already filled shoulders.

Flash forward to where we were now. Here we were with sh*t hitting the fan, the business spiraling out of control and I was acting differently about it all than they had anticipated and defying their objectives. Apparently Em was supposed to have found someone who would have been kosher with the whole illegal aspect of everything they were doing.

I could tell she was feeling ashamed too. I truly don’t believe she knew the extent to which the business was getting involved in when she was looking for people to hire on. Her wide eyed grander vision was that they were to own and operate a bar and a party boat, everything else seemed to come in after that. Obviously, I wasn’t very interested in playing that role however and it wasn’t boding well for her as they lived in constant fear I would ‘out’ them.

Seeing the pain this beautiful, young girl was in (when she shouldn’t have been part of this either) made me feel selfish for tying my own thoughts and opinions based off what I deemed to be “good” and “bad.”


sad.gif


Who made me the moral goddess of right and wrong? I committed to something and whether or not the mechanics behind it were positive or negative, did that really matter?

My mom always told me “nobody likes a quitter” and “don’t be such a negative Nancy.” Maybe I needed to try to see if I could see outside of the bubble one more time. I mean, I wasn’t being hurt. I wasn’t doing anything wrong. How could I change my behavior to help Emily and her baby? I could just turn a blind eye to it all and just do my job right?

Why did I need to know anything more?

I felt a deep pain in my heart for Emily and as I held her while she cried, I decided that she was just like me, trapped here in a situation she originally thought she wanted, but only in hindsight was she able to truly assess it and be painstakingly found with the truth she didn’t sign up for.

I knew how I was feeling but hearing her over the next couple of hours changed my mind from wanting to get on the next plane to trying to figure out how to get her and her baby out of there as well.

The next thing she did, I probably could have predicted and honestly, I wasn’t about to try to stop her. I was feeling completely in line with everything she was saying. The abuse and trauma she was living in every day was far superior to me being told to stay in my apartment.

Even if I did get interrogated at some point by the Special Forces or even ransacked by the enemies of my bosses, it all seemed like a walk in the park compared to my friend’s misery.


If you're following along, I wonder how you're feeling about Emily now. Do you feel the same way I did? Her character was playing a more background role before this but just wait and see what she gets (me) into next!

If you've yet to read the series, here is the introduction, Welcome to DR, Part 1

Trying to Make Sense of Everything Going Wrong in Part 2
My Confusion and Panic in Part 3
My favourite, The Reveal (of the Terrifying Secret) Part 4.
An Intro to Kat Part 4.5
The More You Know Part 5
Kat Gone Wild Part 6
Kyle's Prisoner, Part 7
Adam's Drunken Incrimination Party, Part 8
Jailbreak, Part 9

what is happening.jfif


If you're hanging by a thread (like my pal @kubbyelizabeth) and want to know the moment the next part is published, let me know in the comments and I will keep you updated!

I hope you stick around to read what happens next. I'm baring my secrets to the world and it feels so... naked! I swore I would deny this stuff for my whole life. I hope my mum never gets her hands on this! If you're asking yourself how the hell I got here, check out the links to the first chapters to catch up!


A gypsy life bought to you by @heart-to-heart
From January 2014- June 2017 I have been what you would call a vagabond, a nomad, even a gypsy by definition of the words. I had what they all have in common: no fixed home...and no fixed income but the wildest stories.


Until next time,
(watch out for those online jobs!)
XO,
😘

vegabondcovereditnew.jpg
hearttoheart signature.png

Sort:  


That's the one! That's the very same pill! :O

Thank you, just one of many in this series :) Happy you enjoyed it!

The excitement continues. Emily is also in a shit hole and need help however she knows the situation and continued due to blind love or a way to emotionally trick you to stay? interesting

Just another lens to look through you know? This story has a lot of angles from it. Everyone is concerned with themselves first as everyone's kind of in a shitty situation so it was interesting how it all ended up in the end. I guess I'll have to hurry up and get the next part up so you'll know if she was being true or tricking me.

Hey @charles1, it's been soooo long! My story dropped off the face of the earth but I know you want to know how it ends and guess what? I have just finally managed to get the next chapter out! If you're interested in how it continues it's right here =D Hope you are well my friend! I see a big 66 beside your name- congrats <3

Very nice post and it is sad that this goes on in our world, the girl in the green knit top is to pretty to be mixed up in this. Thanks for sharing.

Aww @tecnoblast, it's true... we live in a pretty crazy world don't we? I certainly wasn't expecting any of this when I flew down there. This is a story that couldn't live inside me without being shared, I am happy it's entertaining to read and look back on now that we all know, I am obviously living to tell the tale ;)

I am glad to see that life has turned around and you are doing well, you always have your steemit friends in your corner, Take care and keep posting.

Hey @techno blast :) I managed to get the next part ready for you all to follow along with! Here it is in case I left you in suspense :)

It's a nice story!

@progressivechef thinks I am crazy for it! ;)

I'm sorry I have not yet read all the previous series , he just explained to me briefly about this real life story of yours! It is really crazy indeed...You've been in so much trouble!
But I'm happy you are very fine and away from all these now!

Oh don't worry, it would take a long time to go back to the start and read! I am sure he can summarize the best parts for you 💜 I was in a lot of trouble back then but it got me to where I am now so I can't complain ;)

I missed the last stories and wowwww now I need to go back to the beginning!! I haven't seen the other side to Emily but from what I see now she seems trapped in this situation and I do feel sorry for her but lets see what happens in the next chapter!! As always your stories are fantastic to read :D!!!

Haha thanks @laurenkavanagh, I linked them all in ;) The question is, is she being real or do you think she's just trying to trick me? I'll tell you that from my perspective at this point, I was just about to get out of there and now my heart is broken for her so I am once again trapped. Thanks for reading, I'm happy to hear you're enjoying them! I like it a lot better looking back on it than living it haha I'll put the next part out soon, won't leave you hanging too long this time <3

Oh wowwww another twist I am so excited for the next chapter, there is a part of me hoping she isn't tricking you but we will just have to see!! Your keeping me on my toes with this one I look forward to the next chapter :D

I'll let you know soon ;) I have to write the next chapter tomorrow <3

@laurenkavanagh here it is! I am getting into trouble again but we're approaching the firework of this all as you'll see by the end :P

Great article!

WE NEED MAIS! Dying, can't breath, can't sleep, need to know! Okay, so I can do all those and more, but seriously people tell her she needs to write the next one sooner!! If you haven't read it from the beginning, well grab some popcorn and get to it. This one has been in the works for many many months now! It is juicy and real!

Haha you are too funny my dear! We should just have an audio discord date where I give you the inside scoop for being my number one fan ;) Seriously so much happened it burns my emotions remembering it all! I like it much better on this side of things, looking back on it, that's for sure! I think I'm going to do one a week, that way you'll be ready for it! How's that? <3

I would love a discord date with you! We need to make that happen. How do Fridays work for you? However, we cannot talk about this story I am so desperate to hear all about for two reasons.

  1. Your other fans would be left out.
  2. I don't want that added emotional toll on you. I shall impatiently wait once a week for it.

Also, I love ya! Have a great day!

Oh yay! That would be so fun! Fridays are usually pretty good for me, but I also live in the moment and am partly ruled by my dogs so that's to say my schedule is always up in the air! Maybe if I get my speaker working again I will be able to actually hear you haha =D

You're right, you're such a hero, looking out for the people like that ;)

I have decided that there are too many of these stories rolling around in my head... I think I'll have to start sharing more of them so maybe I can do different ones throughout the week, compromise? ;) <3

Love you too dear, have a super fantastic weekend!

Excellent idea, glad we could come to a compromise. The more you share the better. WE love hearing them and I am sure many learn from them too.

As for our date, lets plan for friday and play it by ear.

<3

Sometimes it is like that @heart-to-heart , when you want to help someone and you ended up almost being dragged along into the pit.

Your travelling experience really is worth a novel to go with. And your chapter 10 is definitely pulling people by the edge of their seats waiting for more! LOL

Hi @littlenewthings you're right, I have a big heart and always want to help everyone so whenever I saw her in pain I decided I wanted to help her no matter what happened. I would have regretted it if I had just left then.

Luckily for my writing, I never have a dull moment haha so maybe I should have wrote the book on this and released it once it was done so @kubbyelizabeth wouldn't be forgetting to breathe, waiting for the end! ;)

Wow!

This is quite a tale indeed! I have not seen any of this series, but it is quite interesting.
You are an excellent writer, lots of feeling, beautiful descriptive words, almost poetic at points.

I am impressed, didn't know you were such a writer. Congrats!

Hi @quinneaker ;)

I started this series when I first signed up but I took a break because I find it to be energetically draining sometimes to try to put myself back in the mentality I was in at this time in my life. I was so night and day different to who I am now that I struggle sometimes and I want the story to be pure from my heart so I took the break and now I am bringing it back rejuvenated! It's so incredible how much we can change in one lifetime isn't it?
Thank you for reading it, I always feel stripped bare afterwards but it's good for my soul to let this out instead of keeping it all inside! ;)

wow, makes the post all the more better hearing that!

I feel for you. Thanks for sharing, its probably good for you and the readers in different ways.

Keep up all the great content. Ur doing a great job!

Blessings~*~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47