Writing In English as Non-Native Speaker #1

in #writing7 years ago

We Don't Have to Become Great English Writer


1

I found these words while surfing on internet. This words really is important for me and make me realize that it is hard to become great English writer with my background as non-native speaker, it is impossible to achieve that. I live in the country which not many people speak English fluently, although west civilization and technology is dominating in several aspects of life people in my country such as fast food, language, fashion etc.

I do not have direct access to speak with native speaker, have limited bandwidth to access internet and no access on tv cabel. So It is hard to me at first time to learn and practise my English language, my first step learning English language intensively is using Facebook. I join American English State (AE State) and Voice of America Learning English page on Facebook, these steps is very useful and then reading news from BBC, CNN and Independent on facebook and follow their status.

Gladly, I read an announcement on AE State, that USA Education Departement gave a scholarship for non-native speaker to follow online English Journalism course at Coursera. I dare myself to enroll that course, and surprising when knowing that many non-native speakers joined this course so I do not feel alone. I studied with passion and diligently, hoping my English skill is getting improve. Yes... My English is impoved but it is far..far away from my imagine as good English writer. After joined this course, I can write very simple sentence and realize that writing in language as a non-native speaker is very hard. So I buried desire to become great English Writer and aware my limitation.

I felt little scared when becoming mutual friend with @samstonehill on Facebook and then with @ebryans as he is serious person which sometimes make me confuse with his sophisticated word but that is okay...ha..ha.. ! These are my serious first contact with a native speaker on internet . Ha..ha..! I ever had penpal from Poland when as college student but it is very different when you have real native speaker friend on online social media.

My Conclusion in Learning Writing in English Language
  • First Please, be aware you are non-native speaker. This thinking make you humble to admit and realize to learn more about English language. No body is smartest and perfect in English language. It is matter about practice and often using English language.
  • Second, Do not affraid to write in English language. It is very hard for the first time but it will be better soon when you regularly write in English language.
  • Third, be humble when your writing skill in English language when getting improve and share your experience about learning in writing English language with other non-native speaker and admit their skill when above from your skill

logogroup
verifiedsteemprenticesteemtrail

Sort:  

Thank you ! :)

You are welcome :-)

Following your third advise, I must admit your english writting skill is way above from mine. Following you to learn! 😉

Thank you, but I think you have good writing in English too, it is only matter about how often we learning and praticising. Nice ! :)


Hi @happyphoenix, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Thank you very much ! :)

Excellent post and I agree - especially talking to @ebryans is far away from easy to follow for non native English speakers 😁.

You write great in English too!

Yeah...ha..ha..! Maybe we are as non-native to focus on grammar , so that is the reason make us sometimes we confuse to understand him ! Nice ! :)

lol, I think even for a English speaker @ebryans is a special one, very sophisticated language

English is big problem for me .......

Yes, same with me! Just keep practice, do not expect too much when learning... Keep write in English do not afraid when making a mistake when using it. I also try learning a little Spanish language. I think Spanish language have similiarity with English language. I have watched a Spanish Language course video and the instructor said that 80% words in English language have similiarity with Spanish language. So it is more easy to learn English for you. Keep your spirit, you are not alone. Many non-native speakers on steemit. Nice ! :)

My language is even in cirilik leters , not an excuse but still..... , point is i have not so big problem to speak just text is really hard :)

Yes it is hard when we try to speak or write in other language. You can use translator tool for help to write in English language. You can use it when feel not comfortable to write in English language but when there is enough to time to do it, try write manually and then check it. Do not afraid just keep practising . Nice ! :)

I think you are going great!

Thank you for your support ! :)

Following your third advise, I admit your english writting skill is way above from mine. Following you to learn! 😉

Well done dear friend @happyphoenix

Nice, I follow you.
This reply is for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48