You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: “U” – Vocab-ability Suffixes – A More Powerful Vocabulary (This post includes the single suffix beginning with the letter “U”)

in #writing6 years ago

Can i ask u something, James. Recently, I have discussed about this sentence “I am so boring, aren’t I”. I think that sentence is right. But someone said that it must be “am I not” instead of “aren’t I” :)) I want to know how English teacher/native speaker thinks. Hahaa

Sort:  

Good question. In fact, the 100%–correct, grammatically proper way to express that is to say "... am I not?"

But ... that sounds quite formal and weird and awkward, so very few people will ever say that.

Of course, most people would tend to use a contraction (like "isn't it?" or "aren't you?"). But "am I not" does not have a contracted form. So we use the most suitable tag question, which is "aren't I?"

But again, even though this is the proper and accepted form, it too sounds a bit strange to most native speakers. In fact, I hated it for years, and even now, I never use it. Not only does it sound strange, it also sounds a bit too formal. However, you can use it if you like.

For me, I'll use the colloquial form "aint I?" Some perfectionists might not approve, but f*** 'em!
I'm an expert in the form and usage of the English language, AINT I?!?!!!

So, HB, my final answer is that you can use either of the following, in the various cases:

"... aren't I?" ... if you do not mind sounding a bit strange and a bit too formal.
"... am I not?" ... when you want to sound elite, sophisticated, educated, formal, and proper.
"... aint I?" ... when you wanna sound like a normal person who speaks normal English and who just wants to move the conversation along.


Now, I have a few questions for you.

My explanation is understandable, aint it?
You're not boring, are you?

So it means it is not wrong or right. Just the way of saying and any way is accepted, isn’t it?!
Haha. For your question.
Yes, your explaination is understandable. and yes, I am not boring at all. Hahaa
Thank you, James mentor. 😘😘😘

You're welcome. And yes, you can use any one of those tag questions.

And if anyone tells you it's wrong, send them this post ... or send them to me. I'll mete out some strict discipline, and a lesson in English!!

(Will upvote later. I'm saving my voting power for FrontRunner. )

Thats impressive no doubt you have great ability to teach someone nice reply I appreciated you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59524.20
ETH 2999.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77