CyberPunk Short StorysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

"Wake up. Wake up I said." The voice was low, and gruff. The console jockey slowly came to. There was a slightly painful, metallic tapping on the side of his head, edging him on out of his sleep. "The fuck?"

"Easy cowboy. Don't make a move, and I'm not alone." "I'm easy man, what do you want?" The jockey's eye's scanned his late evening surroundings. He was somewhere in the center of a long alley that was slick and dampened by a fresh humid rain. Squeezed between high rising pillars of low rent housing buildings, he couldn't visualize an escape. "You know what I want jockey, or should I say junky."


"All right, hold up, I have it hear somewhere. I'm going to slowly reach into my jacket okay? I'm not armed" "Okay." the gruff one said, "That's more like it, but no funny business, I got a wing man above us with a bead on you. And he's armed with Hitachi Corp kinetic sniper rifle." The jockey knew the efficiency of that rifle. Any merc or lowlife with a smart link from the rifle to the cybernetic implants in the back of their dome became deadly accurate. "Shit, the gun basically aims itelf." he thought to himself as he rummaged through is jacket. "Hurry up would ya?"

"Found it!" "Great now hand it over." The jockey pulled out a small cellophane wrapper as the gruff voiced looked on, confused."What the hell"

"Dex tab" the jockey said as he swallowed the narcotic." Beads of angry sweat dripped down the gruff mans forehead. "We're done with you, if you won't give it to us, will just drop you and take, at least you got in one more Dex ride, before you check out. I think I'll save my bullets." The gruff man motioned for his overwatch.

Waiting for his cover man, he motioned again. Glancing up slightly to try to get a grasp on the situation, he felt the cold, icy penetration. He never saw her coming. He never heard her coming. He let out a howl of pain as she dropped from above and inserted her retractable titanium razors into the top of his shoulders, his old world pistol hitting the ground.
"About time you showed up." the jockey said. "I'm always on time sweetheart," she replied. The gruff man wasn't quite dead. She pulled her razors out and he slumped over, leaning up against a dumpster.

"Ready to roll?"she said. "Ya, just one more thing" The jockey walked over to the gruff man, reached into the gruff mans inner jacket pocket and pulled out a bag. "Hey, you know who you're robbing?"
"Shutup" the jockey said as he punched the gruff man in the face. Picking up the gruff mans weapon, the jockey and the street samurai made their way down the alley. As the gruff man laid there watching them move into the distance, he saw his wing man's kinetic rifle slung across the samurai's back, the smartlink dangling.

Sort:  

Wish I saw this 5 months ago!

I appreciate your effort and time on this! keep it up :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61572.53
ETH 2995.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73