Johnny Spicer Hollywood Mini-Caper (Part Four of Six)

in #writing6 years ago

In the last episode: "Are we anywhere near anyplace famous, like the Brown Derby?"

I was beginning to feel a little sorry for Miss Allen, so I humored her. "It's not too far. I guess we could swing by for a look."

"Oh, thank you! It would be so exciting to see it in person."

I could not imagine what about seeing the Derby would be so exciting, but I l turned left off Highland Avenue onto Hollywood Boulevard. Now things were getting a little more interesting to my passenger. She took notice of the Egyptian Theater a block further along the Boulevard.

"Egyptian Theater? I thought it was a Chinese Theater."

"There are two."

"Where is the Chinese one?"

"In the other direction on this street."

"Oh."

A few blocks later I turned right on Vine Street and pointed up the block. "There's your Brown Derby."

She looked at the rather nondescript building with a sidewalk awning. Sounding surprised she said, "That's not it! It's supposed to be shaped like a derby hat."

"There are four Brown Derby's, Miss Allen. This is the one where you're most likely to see motion picture celebrities. The hat-shaped one is on Wilshire Boulevard in downtown LA."

"Oh."

I turned left on Sunset and my disposition improved a few moments later when I turned left again onto Gower. A block after that I pulled to the curb in front of Columbia Pictures. Opening the passenger door for her, I said, "Here you are, Miss Allen, Columbia Pictures. The main gate is over there in the opening between this building and that soundstage—the building with the half-round roof."

Miss Allen stepped down from the running board and I removed her suitcase from behind the passenger seat. As I set it down on the sidewalk, she said, "Thank you, Mister Spicer. You have been very kind. Perhaps I will be able to repay your kindness one day."

"That's not necessary, Miss Allen. It was my pleasure to be of assistance."

She gave me a look that said she was certain nothing could be further from the truth. Knowing I was about to make yet another mistake, I said, "It’s none of my business, but do you have an appointment with anyone at Columbia?"

She beamed at me. "Oh, yes. It's not exactly a specific appointment, but Mister James Stewart is expecting me. "On that note she squared her shoulders, picked up her suitcase, and walked confidently toward the studio gate.

I shook my head in amazement. Mister James Stewart, or Jimmy Stewart as he was known to his millions of fans, was certainly not expecting her. Hell, Columbia wasn't even his studio. I have no idea what made her think Stewart was on the other side of Columbia's gate anxiously awaiting her arrival, but she was about to get a hell of a let down.

Climbing back into the Chrysler, I watched her turn the corner to the studio gate and started the car, intending to drive back to the office. Something kept me from driving away, though. I knew what was going to happen when she tried to get into the studio. If I left, Constance would surely be stranded again.

It didn't take long for my prediction to prove correct. No more than five minutes passed before I again saw Constance on the sidewalk in front of the studio entrance. She stood there for a minute and I could see the disappointment on her face.

Then she saw me. Miss Allen had a moment of indecision, but pride won out. She turned and began walking away in the opposite directon.

I cursed all stubborn people and drove up alongside her. Through the open window, I said, "Hello again, Miss Allen. May I give you another lift?"

She stopped, looked at me, and began to shake her head, but her face crumpled into tears. I got out and put what I hoped was a comforting arm around her shoulder. She leaned into me me and I heard a quiet voice say, "Oh, Mister Spicer . . . . "

To Be Continued

This story is a work of fiction. Names, characters, locations, and incidents are the product of the author's imagination or are used fictitiously. Any resemblance to actual events, locales, or persons, living or dead, is coincidental.

Story and design © Steve Eitzen
Header Graphic & HPO Logo © HPO Productions
Johnny Spicer fictional character © Mysteries In History
Historic photo © Water & Power Associates
Hollywood Brown Derby image from a photograph in the public domain
Character Photos: © 123RF used by license

Sort:  

Hi h-p-oliver,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Hey :-) Great Compilation of story and pictures ! I like to read your fictional story 👍😀

Keep it up with the writing ✍️ ✌️

Thank you, sir. I've been earning my living as a writer for 30-some years and I see no reason to stop having fun now. ;-)

And now you get even rewarded from the steemit community , what could be better :-)

About $200K/year. ;-)

Some changes in words used would have been better, "Like before I again saw Constance..." something like that. But then, maybe English isn't your first language. Overall, interesting story and story telling skills.

Not too bad. It's kind of like a historically based Dick Tracy novel. I do like the old pictures and historical references. For stories like this those elements work very well. The brown derby reminded me of a favorite disney cartoon, where a giant picked it up and put it on his head.... It must have been the one in LA.

Thank you. After earning my daily bread as a writer for 30+ years, it's nice to know I finally got it right. ;-) You're right The Disney cartoon had reference to the Wilshire Boulevard Derby, although toons of they day sort of lumped them altogether.

lol, It had the feel of a pro. What do you typically write? Screenplays?

I wrote TV for about a dozen years, and when I could afford to do so, I bailed out of the rat race and began writing historical fiction. If you're interested in more, you'll find it here: http://www.hpoliver.com/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53