{NOVELETTE} A Heist To Remember - Part 09 FINAL PART

in #writing7 years ago

Part 01 here! Part 02 here! Part 03 here! Part 04 here! Part 05 here! Part 06 here! Part 07 here! Part 08 here!



Violetta stood before the – she didn’t know what to call it – structure? Was this it? This was a wreck. What sort of refuge was this?

This had to be it, she followed the directions she was given; and this was the only structure she could see for miles. She had long lost the guards now more wary of other, more serious dangers. But so far, being outside the walls had proven to be, mundane. No giant creatures, no rivers made of blood. The plants were green and fertile, not ash as people claimed. Violetta decided that she was still in Arcanadel’s protection – the thief remained true to his words.

She entered the wreck. It was surprisingly well kept. From the outside you would think it was abandoned. And it was indeed… something. Tables and stools spread out before her, and there was a bar on the far end. A man was standing behind it, fiddling with a mortar and pestle. Was he an alchemist? This was getting weirder and weirder.

She coughed at the entrance of the ‘bar’, the man perked up. “Yes?” He said in a nonchalant way, was he used to getting visitors? Moreover, how was this man supposed to help her get the word out on what happened?

“I-I am shadowblessed, I was told to come here.” Violetta stuttered.

“I see.” He said putting his instrument down. “And by whom?”

“I.” Violetta swallowed. “I didn’t learn his name. He was trying to steal some documents from my lo – from Alderman Gile. He – “

“Alphonse…” The man breathed. Alphonse, so that was his name. “Where is he now?” The man asked urgently.

“I’m sorry. He got caught so I could escape. He saved my life.” He saved my life, and forfeited his own. The debt repaid…

“Alphonse risked his life, in order to save yours?” The man asked, clearly shaken by her statement.

“He did. He told me to come here. To say I was shadowblessed. I have information of great import to pass along. Are you by any chance his friend? He was talking about a friend that was changing him.”

The man, still in shock, shook his head. “No. I mean yes I was his friend. But I don’t think he was talking about me when he said that.” He straightened. “Come here girl, sit.” She did. “You can call me Tems.” He said, moving away from her. “Do you have the documents?” Tems asked, pulling the half charred carpet and exposing a trap door.

“No.” Violetta admitted, eyes downcast. The man clicked his tongue heading down. “Wait!”

“He is not gonna like this.” Was all she heard him say before the door slammed shut.

Violetta studied her refuge. It seemed it had more room in the back, and the man, Tems, just went down a ladder. How large was this place exactly? More importantly, what was it? And who were these people? The bar top was covered in jars, some empty, some disgusting. And by the state in which this man kept his instruments, he certainly liked what he was doing. They were in the middle of nowhere though, who would live here? So close to the outside – to the chaos.

The trap door opened, and through it came a tall, lanky man, covered in the same black leather Alphonse wore. Tems was nowhere to be seen. The man looked at her, vigor in his eyes. “You are wearing maid clothing. Violetta? I assume? My name is Theo.”

Violetta nodded, this man, his eyes, such passion. “I-I am sir.”

“There are no sirs here informant.” Theo said. “Only fools and criminals.”

“He – Alphonse – said you might be more than just criminals sir – “ He gave her a pointed look “ mister Theo. That you were fighting to save the, the city.”

He looked at her then, truly looked at her, with those discerning eyes. “Alphonse, did he truly sacrifice himself to save you?” She nodded, he sighed. “That fool. It seems I finally got through to him. Only to then be the cause of his demise.”

“He might still be – “

“No. He is gone, Violetta. They would find out who he was, what he was doing.” He took a deep breath. “Tems says you have some information for us. Come, rest, eat, we will talk later.”

“U-us?” Violetta asked hesitantly.

“Yes.” Theo said. “Welcome to the Thieves Guild.”

Thank you to those that reached the end of this story. I hope you enjoyed your time reading it. :)

We might revisit this fantasy world in the future, as it is very developed (as you could probably tell from this story, there is a lot going on in this world). But, for now I am not quite sure on what to do next. We'll probs get back to the sci-fi short stories, not quite sure yet.

Anyway, you guys rock, catch you on the flip side. ;)

Sort:  

fantistic story of a fantasic world

Thank you kind sir!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50