You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I edit my own work - Plus a story to read too - 10

in #writing7 years ago

That's extremely interesting, reading both raw and edited works. I've never really looked at authoring like that. My dad wrote all his works on an old fashioned typewriter, so editing was - literally - binning a page and reworking it.

The effort, especially if the changes required were a ways back from where he'd got to, could lead to a lot of waste paper!

In his last year or so of life he started using a Mac, and learned fast and well, but never - i think - really grasped how much could be done. He still, basically, binned and rewrote. I personally find this - your - method very good. If i ever write the couple of stories i have in my head, i'll borrow it, if i may.

Sort:  

I think I'd still like to help you get your dad's stuff back on the shelves. Even if it's only advising you how to do this - you're clever enough, you'll pick it up.

I'm still not quite sure how I do it all... that's why this method is the easiest way for me - how it was, how it is now.

I also think it wouldn't be fair to show someone else's book going through the editing process 'live' like this, so it's perfect that I wrote this a while ago.

I remember typing on a manual typewriter! It's so much easier on the computer now - much less "binning of paper", and so much faster, lol.

Save the trees! Buy a 'pooter! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60857.34
ETH 2383.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68