How Steemit Helped Revive My Writing

in #writing7 years ago

DQmWb3TRhettubAMGbAjPWrBecSi9WTDQHab3HSqTToEuv9_1680x8400.jpg

Image By @riosparada

Since 1999, I have been writing. Well, no, that's not accurate. I have been writing all my life; for as long as I can remember. It wasn't until 1999, that I became a paid writer.

I had recently moved to a rural community and was looking for a job. I answered an ad in the local small town newspaper for an affiliate newspaper seeking a 'stringer'. More or less, they needed a freelance writer to fill in where their staff writers couldn't. I called, set up the interview and headed 45 minutes away on the appointed day.

The interview was going great, then the senior editor asked me for samples. Ummm... well, I told her, "I didn't bring any with me today. I didn't come from home and must've forgotten them..." oops!

She shrugged her shoulders and gave me a few pieces of paper and asked me to write up an article, get it to her and then we'd go from there.

All the way home I smiled. I had an opportunity to be a real writer! A paid writer!

I took my time interviewing the people necessary, wrote and re-wrote my article. Then feeling satisfied, I turned it in. Then waited.
Two days later the senior editor called and assigned me two more articles. I was IN!

Since those days I have accomplished so many different writing jobs and assignments.

  • I spent a combined 14 years as a newspaper reporter/freelance stringer/staff writer
  • I wrote over 20 ebooks (all out of publication due to re-writes and edits I still need to finish)
  • I have ghost written over 40 books for other authors
  • I was asked to contribute to USA Today's magazine for two articles
  • I have written hundreds and hundreds of blurbs and outlines for other authors
  • I have written hundreds, if not thousands, of online articles for various websites
  • I have done reviews for publishers

All of these were either paid positions, assignments or had royalties attached. I did reviews just to keep sharp with my writing and the trends of genres. Plus I am a HUGE reader. I have so many in-print books and my kindle is full. It is how I relax. I enjoy getting lost in fiction. I enjoy reading political non-fiction. I just LOVE to read.

Then in 2012, I was diagnosed with an auto-immune disease and the effects of the illness began to take its toll around mid-2015. I lost my interest in writing. I lost my go-getter mentality. I became depressed (a symptom of this auto-immune disease). I isolated myself.

Countless times over the last few years since this downfall, I would sit down with a pen and notebook and start an outline for a new book. I have so many ideas rattling around in my head. I would maybe write a few chapters and character descriptions, then I'd be done.

It was pathetic.

Then along came steemit.
Writing? Blogging? A new platform?
And it was free?
No way! Get out!

Suddenly I felt... rejuvenated! I had that writing spark in my eye. My husband was happy I had rediscovered my love for writing. He asks daily how my posts and comments are going. He shows such an enthusiastic interest in what I am doing. I am happier than I have been in a long while and am lovin' the steemit experience.

I have even opened my old notebooks and started sifting through them to construct an outline. I am on a writing roll and want to keep it going. Wish me luck and maybe I'll post a chapter on here in the near future

The added benefit is the steem cryptocurrency. After just over two months on here, I did my first 'steem buy' today. Check it out. I feel empowered for this transaction today.

ENJOYING LIFE, WRITING AGAIN AND GONNA KEEP ON STEEMIN'

SIGNATURE.jpgDQmWrXCPVGRFqdbXTXFjsQfhDXZys1FT3dWoX8LdXyK4XYv_1680x8400.pngDQmYXXHDrDwhEdyGeY3dmTFcG8swHjuLQeWMii6nJEZhGTB_1680x8400.png

Badges by @daddykirbs

Come join the homestead slack community and have fun chatting with us- click picture below.
DQmTa57Whsb55DXfodWEvxENX4NUzyU7kqqvnx9Fuf95D1H_1680x8400.jpg
DQmUAPFKc4m1ZSxdLLAwPuvaYsKDVEMNmjbqN3huRfBsGSk_1680x8400.jpg
badge created by @allforthegood

Sort:  

Good stuffs to have your expertise in steemit.
Keep on steemit!

You write very well hopefully this paper gets the upvote that there is and resteemed everyone. so your position is quickly upgraded. keep working waiting for the next post @ goldendawne

the things you love to do, and paid you for it is the happines :)

Yes it is. I have had a full writing life and with steemit, I feel a whole new level of happiness coming my way. I look forward to sitting down at the laptop. I love commenting on others' posts and am thrilled to say I have learned a lot from my fellow homesteader group members here.
All in all this has been a FABULOUS experience

Congratulations @goldendawne! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

It's helping me as well! It feels like writing on Steemit is more directly for a thriving community, which helps me keep my writing personable and accessible. I tend to go off into "crazy land" if I'm just writing down my own thoughts...

I wish you fabulous experience!

Amazing post, I will resteem it for sure !

Wow. I'm impressed with your writing history.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60646.47
ETH 3379.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51