Backpacking in the woods

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

I went backpacking in the woods last summer. I spent my days hiking South and my nights alone under the star filled sky. Some nights were pleasent, and others were bitter cold. On the cold ones I always had a fire except for a few nights when all the wood was wet from a summer monsoon. The first night I did not even pitch a tent, the water was coming down so heavy I couldn't even gather wood or fire starters without being swept away either. I "slept" that night practically under a waterfall wrapped in a wool blanket with sharp rocks protruding into my spine.

440px-Pleurotus_pulmonarius_LC0228.jpg

The next day I neglected again to travel through the mud for supplies but spent the day collecting drinking water and fishing. Tonight once again, I am without fire...These are the loneliest days in my journey, my days without fire. It is almost as if the fire is my companion, my only friend on this lengthy walk. I took a picture with my drug store camera to remind me of this thought that night and fell asleep. The next day things were beginning to dry out and my lighter was working again finally.

Sempervirens_Falls.jpg

That night was the best night ever I had a cooked can of fish that I was lugging around for my whole walk and also some wild oyster mushrooms, the best! When I got back home I got the photos on the camera developed to remind me of all the places I had been, it was then that I discovered a picture of me sleeping in my small one person tent when I had no fire. Some one's been following me!


wikipedia.org/wiki/Waterfall#/media/File:Sempervirens_Falls.JPG
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pleurotus
+

Sort:  

It's a good memory

into the wild ! nice story.. those mushrooms looked good :)

wow nice photo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 55290.41
ETH 2357.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32