Long Attention Spans are Overrated

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

I carried a bucket of poop through the yard. Not my poop, chicken poop. It was a heavy bucket; it was a lot of poop. I dropped it in the garden, near the exposed soil. I had just spent the half an hour earlier power-hoeing—the gardening version of power walking. I have zero upper body strength, so I was panting like a dog. The stench of chicken fertilizer was potent in the late afternoon air.

IMG_20181125_195628.jpg

The palms work very hard at making rat food near the house. That had to go...

I forgot the gloves, so I had to go back up to the house. Then, I forgot the plants—the little baby Georgia collard greens I had to buy because I didn’t get my distracted self out there a month prior to plant seeds—back to the porch.

Hold that thought—while I write this there are little children avoiding sleep by sneaking out of their room to the bookcase near me to acquire more material to fight sleep. Anyway.

BACK ON TOPIC

I got the plants and went back down to the sweet stench of chicken poop in the morning afternoon. I almost got there, anyway. I got distracted by the monster of all ant hills. The hill looked so silent and peaceful, like there weren’t thousands of creatures with fire in their mouths within. It was such a temptation. What if I just poke a tiny hole, how many guards will come out to attack? Just one little hole… Fifty ants came charging out, furious at the insult, their mouths craving human flesh. What will they do if I poke one more hole…Stay focused!

BACK ON TOPIC

IMG_20181125_200104.jpg

Soft-bodied mustard greens, volunteering themselves, along with some winter weeds.

I walked back through the soft-bodied leaves of winter weeds. I love winter plants with their delicate leaves. Summer lasts six months here, and only the tough-stemmed things thrive. Then, come short daylight hours, the soft, delicate, feathery plants return, from their seeds that somehow survived the dry sand they slept in through the long summer. What am I talking about? This isn't about the garden...

The kids are back. They think I don’t hear their feet pitter pattering down the hall, snatching a book with a clunk off the bookcase, and then racing back down the hall with the thudding gallop of a race horse. I could shut down their party, but the boy is reading to the tot, and it’s so damn cute. Anyway.

BACK ON TOPIC

I wondered through the winter weeds with their soft, sticky outstretched limbs that left seeds clinging to my shoes, and I almost made it to the garden. But just look at those lemons! Big enough to fill my hand and finally ripe! Lemonade tomorrow. Maybe lemon meringue? Lemon bars, lemon… Tomorrow. Work on it tomorrow. Back to the garden.

IMG_20181125_195730.jpg

A chicken's eye view.

I made it into the gate, down to the bare soil, and I dug a little hole. Then a tiny voice came rushing at me from around the lemon tree. “Can I come in the garden too, mama!” The tot doesn’t ask questions, she makes exclamations. She came in with all her charming toddler charisma, plucked zinnias straight out of the ground root and all, narrowly missed stepping on baby broccoli, and put a good flattening to the softened soil. Then…

DISTRACTION

Now the children have a toy Elmo singing a song in the bedroom. False move. Elmo gives me anxiety. He keeps singing that damn song over and over again, “Get ready, get ready, get ready…” Ready for what? I’m going to have to stop typing so that I can bite my fingernails…

That nervous tick didn’t help, I have the toughest fingernails. They are like bone. Alright, I’ve got to shut the party down, Elmo was not invited…

IMG_20181125_195905.jpg

A tot, some maple leaves, and a cool car.

The children are pretending to go to sleep now and Elmo is quiet. Where was I? Right, I was writing about the beauty of a November afternoon in my lovely Floridian landscape.

BACK ON TOPIC

So I placated the tot, and got the plants planted. The End.

I’ve got to close here, Hamie the Hamster is now making an enormous noise spinning in his wheel, Elmo just let out a muffled Get ready, and I need a snack.

Long attention spans are overrated.

Sort:  

I would love to have lemons in my yard.

This is the first year that we have had a pretty good crop. They are really pretty to see hanging off the tree. The poor tree looks tired from all that weight to carry.

Elmo is my second favourite Sesame Street character.

My favorite is definitely Cookie Monster. Who can resist a guy that eats everything in sight? Then Oscar the Grouch, because who can resist a guy that berates everything in sight?

Funny how Seseme Street characters are the opposite of what I like in actual people.

Anyway, Elmo is a likable guy. But not the stuffed animal that sings. No adults like him.

I like Grover. Reminds me of me.

Posted using Partiko Android

Rover... Can't remember Rover. Blue guy, acts silly. That's all I recall.

Children don't watch Seseme Street anymore. Kind of sad.

Yes, that's him. His alter ego is Super Grover.

I grew up with Sesame Street..it's a shame kids these days don't have it.

Grover, not Rover. Lol. Dang autocorrect. That actually came off nicely like a joke though...

I think Rover is his cousin...

I seem to remember in one of your posts way back when you talked about something for downloading your posts here. Do you recall what that was? Or did I just dream that? :)

Hello G, I mentioned a post look up toola little while ago so maybe that's what you mean? I'm a little busy right now but will shoot a link to you when I have a chance. It is not perfect but works and will allow you to look all your posts up and save them back to your device. Stay tuned.

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha, I walk at least 10,000 steps when I garden, so much to remember and always forgetting. I am not abnormal after all, lol.

We both need to start loading the vast majority of our gardening tools into a wheelbarrow, and then just wheel it where ever we go. Nah, that would ruin the gardening experience as we know it :)

Jeez.... the members of this tribe get easily distracted! My attention span is like 5 Seconds.... on top of that I'm veeeeeeeery clueless aaaand clumsy ahahaha... you need another tribe leader, one less disastrous! :D

Two wrongs make a right. Two disasters are perfect together.

I might have that saying backwards...

Who knows... but it sounds good! ahahaha

Hello and g'morning!
Such a pleasure to engage viscerally; I enjoyed the unexpected, especially when the "charming toddler charisma" entered the fray.
Remaining calm as Elmo peppers at the periphery is a genuine challenge. Yes, one might say that you're "tough as nails."

Look forward to more; I'm a new Steemer trying to gain traction & understanding. I also look forward to a more full participation, as my "Journey to Here" provides ample fodder for thought (and a wee touch of wisdom with which to engage the world...it's cwazy out there!)

Now happily following you, thanks @ginnyannette

One must be tough as nails to tolerate an Elmo in the house. :)

Welcome to Steemit. You are coming on when things are pretty quiet around here, and that probably makes it a little easier to get started.

Thanks for stopping by.

Lugging buckets of poop around must be doing the plants good because they are thriving! The mustard greens look great, and not so many winter weeds that I can see.

And growing lemons, that is amazing - are you able to use them? The cool car for the kiddies looks awesome, I imagine they love playing with that!

I had to laugh about Elmo, those talking toys can be super annoying - and a little eerie as well if they set off in the dead of night when nobody is near them. Lively little ones, but how cute the older reads to the younger - obviously very well brought up.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

The mustard greens are doing great! They reseed themselves every year. Unfortunately they taste like poison to me, so we don't eat them, we just look at their pretty green :)

I am very excited to use the lemons. I've got big plans. We have a few of those drivable vehicles for the kids. A racetrack is cut through my yard by now. Anything large and not hardy has already been run over by the two-year-old drivers.

I like to think they are well brought up, but I am biased :)

Thanks for stopping by.

Haha howdy ginnyannette! long attention spans are impossible anyway until after bedtime! You say the rats are attracted to the seeds of palm trees?

Until after bedtime? Oh I see, you mean after the kids' bedtime. I was thinking in reference to our own, which makes perfect sense. You know, my attention span is great for dreams. I stay focused on them for eight hours :)

The rats like the palm tree fruit, which grows right up by the house. With the cold weather right now, that is a little too convenient - warm attic hotel with midnight snack? Rat heaven.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04