The Wedding Dress - Foxtales week 9 contest entry

in #writing6 years ago (edited)


image drawn by @vermillionfox

This is my entry for week 9 of the foxtales contest.

The Wedding Dress

She wasn't exactly a poor girl. At least she didn't see herself that way anymore. She did grow up poor. Her family barely had enough to put food on the table and keep her and her 3 brothers and 2 sisters clothed. They struggled a lot. She had been working since she was 16 to help out with the family, waiting tables. She eventually moved out, when she was 22. That was just last year. She still sent money back home. She sent as much as she could afford. She kept enough to pay her bills, and keep her clothed and fed. She didn't let her family know how much she still struggled to help them. She didn't think she needed any more. Now, she stood, just a girl alone, struggling to survive and keep her family alive, with no time for dreams or love, standing before a store window. In that window, stood a beautiful wedding dress, covered in lace and pearls. For but a moment, her heart took flight, and took a chance to dream.

If you liked my short short story, leave an upvote and a comment below. Hell, if you didn't like it, still leave a comment below, with constructive criticism.
Thank you for reading! Have a good day!

Sort:  

This made me cry.

Awww and this is my bedtime story now :'( Good night!

Have a lovely night.

you write well my friend, i know my upvote doesn't count for much, but i hope this gets more attention :)

Wow, that was beautiful. The imagery in my head, I wish you could have seen. Beautifully written, and so sad, but I​ felt it right through me.

I dont know why, but only person i can imagine being that girl, is Christine Lagarde.

I don't know why either. XD

But for some reason, I can kinda see it.

^^^ im not crazy lol

Congratulations @geekpowered! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I can't wait to hear more parts of this Micro Fiction , you can really take this story anywhere ; and the possibilities for creativity is endless !

Wow...I hadn't even thought about continuing it.

Would I do it as multiple small sections of her life? Or a longer "short" story that would explain more?

I assume by the way you said it, you mean multiple microfiction continuations. Like chapters, but microfiction stories.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77