My Vacation On the Exotic Shores of a Black Hole - Part 7

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

This is a continuation of my story series "My Vacation On the Exotic Shores of a Black Hole".

To read the previous installments of this series, you can click below.
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4
Part 5
Part 6

"Julia! Do you see this?"

"Sorry, captain, I don't have any visual sensors capable of seeing from that vantage point, and it seems the cargo container is at least partially shielded."

I reached down into the cargo container, and tried to pull on the metal frame, but it was barely budging. I braced myself with my legs on either side, and pumped up the power on my exo-suit, and it started to slide out. Slowly at first, and then quickly, and all at once. I had to push off of it and rebound against the ceiling to try to stop it. In the end, it floated just above the cargo crate, a massive main cannon. What's more, is that in the crate, there was another right next to it, facing the opposite direction.

Parts of it shore with an almost mirror like finish, though clearly showing scratches and wear. It was likely well polished before it was packed away, but far from new. It must have been scrapped from a heavy cruiser, but this wasn't even standard armament. Perhaps it was from a military ship. It looked civilian though. Was this from a pirate vessel?

"Julia, what do you think?"

"It's massive, captain."

"Can you identify it?"

"No captain, it does not appear to be in my database. It does show some resemblance to a Mark 20 Holokill."

I backed up and looked at it. It was massive...and beautiful. I also managed to see a tag on it. "Holocrusher Mark II. Julia, can you tell me anything about that Holokill?"

"It's a main cannon used in light cruisers, made by the Mitsua corporation. It gets it's name from it's innovative design. It uses multiple lasers within the structure, and a holo crystal to target multiple points. It is able to completely obliterate small targets with the same amount of energy that normally would only cause limited damage."

"Completely obliterate small targets, eh? So, could we use these in place of the point defense lasers?"

"Not a change captain. They are far too massive, and judging by the motors on the turrets, would move to slow. Any objects that were going to hit us would have to go directly in front of where our cannons were positioned."

"Yeah, I thought not. Oh well."

"Captain, if they are similar in design to the Holokill, there is a chance that we may be able to use some of the parts though. As I said, it uses multiple individual lasers. We may be able to use those and create some makeshift laser cannons using mounts from either the mining lasers, or the point defense lasers."

"I guess that means you want me to take it apart?"

"That would be helpful, captain."

"Okay, I'll go get my tools." I started to move, but then stopped myself. "But first, I should check out the other containers. We don't wanna waste a bunch of time on this if there's something more befitting of the situation."

"That would probably be a good idea, captain."

I went through a few more cases, and found more than a few grey market and black market goods. I was really tempted to take a bottle of Salian brandy from an entire crate of the stuff, but that would get me in more trouble than it was worth. Then I came across one crate in particular. It was white. From the same shipper as the cannons. It too was locked, without the correct key.

After putting on my goggles, plasma cutting the locks, and thankfully remembering to use something to touch the metal other than my hands, I opened the crate with a grunt. I really should remember to wear my gloves more often. "Well well well. What do we have here?" I reached into the crate, and pulled out a plasma riffle.

"It appears to be a plasma riffle, captain."

"Yeah, and enough to supply a small army. Okay, maybe a large ship. I didn't know I was gun running. Could these be of any help, Julia."

"I doubt it captain. They were made to violently destroy humans, not meteors. I doubt they would vaporize anything larger than would be taken care of by our deflectors."

"Yeah, figured." I put the rifle back in the crate and closed it back up.

I found plenty of interesting things, but nothing too helpful. I even found a crate full of grenades from that same shipper. I'm pretty sure I recognized his name from previous runs. Wonder how many guns and other munitions I had been running for him.

"Alright, that's all the suspicious containers. There could be something else, but I can't go through all of these crates until it's the last resort. Not only is it an invasion of privacy, but it would take forever. I'm gonna go get those tools." I walked up the cargo bay hall, and made my way to the machine shop. I grabbed a toolbox, and then sighed. "On second thought though, first I'm gonna get some food. Julia, can you make me a sandwich?"

"Of course captain, what would you like?"

"I don't really care. Maybe something with some kind of veggies. I'm gonna go put these in the cargo bay. Have it ready when I reach the mess." I took the tools to the cargo bay, and just left them floating at the entrance, then made my way to the mess. Julia actually had the sandwich waiting for me on the table in a little sealed grey packet. She must have had a bot put it out for me. Musta been pretty quick too, I didn't even see him.

The sandwich was incredible. Or maybe I just was that hungry. I got myself a beer to go with it, and savored every bite. It was some kind of reconstituted veggie patty with "lettuce", and some kind of green paste. Lettuce really didn't keep long, even in space, so it was really a lettuce like product made from algae and various veggies, pressed into sheets, and frilled at the edges. The sauce was probably something very similar, just in liquid form. Hell, even the cheese was probably made from mostly algae. Algae is really easy to process, so a lot of the cheaper products on space stations are made from it. Not just the food even. There were certainly enough algae plastic products.

I lowered my head. "I'm sorry Julia, I'm gonna have to do a rain check on taking apart that cannon. I'm just too exhausted, and it's gonna be a lot of work. I'm gonna take a nap."

"I understand captain. Would you like me to put something on?"

"Play some smooth jazz, with guitar. I'm gonna actually sleep in my quarters for once."

"Yes, captain."

The music came on, and I made my way to my quarters, after putting my trash in the recycler. I put my boots in their cabinet, and sorta half strapped the exo-suit up, and then strapped myself to the bed, and grabbed my blanket to go to sleep. "Julia, turn down the heat just slightly in this room." I liked to be cozy when I slept. I also was too lazy to get my blanket while in the cinema room though.

"Yes, captain. Have a good sleep."

"Goodnight Julia."

Goodnight captain.


(source)

I'm actually gonna leave it here for now. A nice little short chapter. I might actually try to pick it up a bit later, but no promises.

If you like this story, consider giving it an upvote and a resteem. Maybe consider checking out the rest of my blog?

Click here to read Part 8.

Sort:  

''PREMIERING''

A Story of Explorers Taking on Researching the Universal Abyss
Through Calculated Dangers and physiological Adventures.

''Staring humans'' who were not given any special biotechnology to withstand the dangers of space depraviation.

'' A story being told through First person, whos thoughts are uneasy''

'' LETTUCE'S ''

LOL! This took me a bit more than a second to get. XD

But yeah, I haven't written in any particular bio-mechanical modifications. Not that he couldn't have them, but I see no real reason to. He probably couldn't afford them anyway. Won't rule it out for the future, but I don't foresee a reason unless there's an accident or something.

Unless they experience earths actual conditions soon artificial gravity,air,moisture,sunlight - vitamin D are not as good as earths natural conditions.

Meaning people living on space adapts their diet,bone density,blood pressure and more to space which is not similar to earth. Even with artificial stuff like gravity, our genetic coding is just adapted to earth's conditions but if we are put to a place slightly different to earth it would have a major effect on the body.

But if the humans that are going to space with limited types of food to eat, has to endure artificial or micro gravity and be well oriented in space which space has no absolute orientation.

should have special treatments like genetic enhancements so they can withstand space, be stronger,healthier,fitter and limit the impacts on the body. so they can thrive and survive in conditions different from earth. and they should have cure for cancer so the astronaut's cant get tumors in space cause of genetic damaging caused by radiation,intense electro-magnetic waves
and alien(extra-terrestrial) bacteria,viruses.

I never said he wasn't bioformed. :P

To mitigate the problems of zero gravity, he's wearing the exo-suit to constantly exercise his muscles, and reduce atrophy. It was mentioned when it was introduced in Part 1 I believe.

He's normally in "hyper-sleep", which is a form of artificially induced hibernation and stasis for interstellar travel. I would assume this would reduce metabolic processes and reduce negative effects of gravity.

When on a space station or other artificial environment there's likely artificial gravity created by spinning, but such would not be likely on a cargo carrier. I would only think the most basic space stations wouldn't have it. The only reason our own here above earth, in reality, doesn't, is because we cut funding, and we're limited because of the cargo carrying capacity of chemically fueled rockets. If we built something like a launch loop, it would not be nearly as much of an issue. Same would go for if we started mining from lower gravity sources, such as the moon, or asteroids.

Radiation is a problem for our space shuttles now, but might not be nearly as big of a problem in the future. We may devise different materials to shield from various types of radiation. Perhaps some type of smart material with a magnetic field produced between nano particles.

The ship is also said to have a deflector shield, which is likely some kind of magnetic field, possibly with a plasma component.

But, if all else fails, there's always shit. Organic material makes an excellent radiation shield, as does hydrogen. Waste could be stored in a layer between the outer and inner hulls, and reduce potential problems from radiations.

There's also likely to be far superior medical technology. And robotics and AI are common place. They could excise a tumor and repair the area with ease likely, even without considering technology that much farther advanced than our own.

But I'm not trying to be strictly hard sci-fi. It's a free write. I'd say I'm doing alright.

Yes how about you make a spin off series discussing some of the gadjets in the story, and possibly tell the story of their creation and who are there inventors.
It would be cool to get a background of things and how they become invented in the first place and their tragic and fascinating moments

I might cover parts in the future, but I don't really see the story of how the inventor of the exo-suit ignored his family and worked all day on his designs to be very fun.

Love it! Love the idea of a exo suit. I've skipped around. I read the first one, and the second, and this is the first chance I've had to read. So, need to go back. I like also that you have all the other episodes linked! Well done.

I was also thinking, I needed to read them out for you for people like me that like to listen to stories while I'm curling my hair! :-).

LOL! Yeah, an audio book version would be awesome. But I have a feeling Jamie would try to voice the computer, and that scares me.

OH! He would be a great computer voice with his Australian accent!! LOL!

and suddenly the entire plot changes...

Damn, now need to read all parts from beginning to understand whats going on.... but guess worth to try )
In fact I like reading books (well, still real books, not e-books :) and mainly science fiction ones

@axeman, it’s definately worth reading from the start! I love this story, @geekpowered the hollokill! A great name! I’m loving this story!! I’m at work right now, so I will comment in more detail later!!

I haven't had a ton of time in a while to read them, and it's kinda hard to completely disconnect and do so. I used to do so much better with books, and now it seems I do better with online stuff.

After finding out people might actually like my sci-fi though, maybe I have to. :P Maybe I'll get an e-reader or something.

This story is practically a book by now. This is a short chapter, and it's over 1000 words. I haven't done a full count though. It will probably be a semi-short book by it's finish likely.

In fact i prefer epic readings like Asimov's "Foundation" for example. Also generally my native language is Russian. But i think I would manage this short one of yours....

Well, I hope you like it if you manage to get the time to read it all.

Today is just already 01.15AM here :) So lets start with fresh head!

Ive finally caught up!

And i want what the characters have in the story

I want # EXO-SUITS
and some lettuce to eat while in space near a blackhole
my vision should get trippy?!

I dunno, apparently according to my story you might get sucked into a black hole and impregnate an android.

holy moly, I have to catch up with all those parts??!!!

you're lucky I chose to do a stupid post about trading rather than another part. :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56965.36
ETH 2498.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34