CERN Chronicles #1 A New Job (featuring @claudiop63 as author)

in #writing8 years ago

As discussed in my introduceyourself post , I was a manager at CERN for 6 years. As people keep asking me what life at CERN is like, I’ve decided to start a series of post where I describe life at CERN in a fictional way…


Image Credit

CERN is a very diverse community of over 10,000 people. The appointments I held gave me the opportunity to meet a great variety of CERN characters and subcommunities, so in this series I’ll focus on people possibly more than on technologies. I might impersonate a different character in each post…we’ll see!

My first tale below is about a guy who has just been hired as a CERN staff member…

DISCLAIMER: this is not a diary, just reality-inspired fiction!

A New Job

Got the official appointment letter – I’m in the family now!

One step back in time: in the last few months before getting the job, I had been occasionally sneaking into the CERN site just out of curiosity, to see what a physicist with international civil servant status looked like…
During these semi-clandestine strolls, I was most impressed with the atmosphere in the main entrance hall, where the UBS Bank branch is located. It’s a fairly busy place, where people come and go, nonetheless you get a weird feeling of quiet and wellness being there.

It took me a few days to figure out the origin of that feeling. Eventually, I realized that it was related to the sturdy, free-standing ATM machines standing in the hall. Their touchtone key pads generate very melodious sounds. So, you have these sturdy vaults, full of money, which sound like a church organ. People approach them with serenity, celebrate the ritual of withdrawing cash from a wealthy bank account, and leave quietly but in a hurry, as if they felt somewhat embarrassed by their own wealth.

All in all, it feels like being in a sort of temple, where UBS employees are priest-like creatures looking at you (or after you) with caring eyes.

I was also spending a lot of time in the main CERN cafeteria, just to watch people. They looked less relaxed than when withdrawing cash. Most tables hosted parties of two to four people. Later, I learned that the cafeteria is a place for eating, brainstorming, but first and foremost for internal politics discussions and informal interviews, so that a cafeteria invitation for a junior staff member or a job candidate can be a stressful experience.

Anyway, now I am a staff member, so I should shape up!

My first task is to get a CERN photo ID. And the first challenge is to find my way among hundreds of buildings on the main site. The way CERN buildings are numbered makes you think of a lousy random number generator…sometimes you see correlations (neighboring buildings with subsequent numbers), but these are unpredictable and not frequent at all! In other words, you should never assume that if you get invited in a meeting at building 134, and your office is in building 131, it’s a quick short walk. If you do, you’ll be late for the meeting!

Eventually, I locate the photo ID building. I am directed to a crowded room, where lots of people are waiting to get their ID pictures shot. I reckon I am surrounded by two very distinct sorts of human beings:

  1. Middle-aged men, with blue eyes, looking like construction workers, and speaking very broken English.
  2. Young women, native French speakers, speaking decent English with a strong accent.

The former are so-called Project Associates (PJAS to make it short) and come from an Eastern European country (what’s a Project Associate? I’ll tell you next time…). They are waiting to have their IDs issued, like me. The latter are administrative CERN personnel in charge of taking the pictures and issuing the IDs.

PJAS are being somewhat flirtatious to the girls. This attitude (plus the broken English) makes the girls impatient and unease. It’s time for me to score my first point…

Looking at the most attractive among the girls, I ask an irrelevant, borderline stupid question, by ensuring that my excellent French is contaminated by a tiny bit of Italian accent…

In return I get a smile, immediate attention, and a comment which I would translate as: “You have a cute, light Italian accent…!”.

Eventually, I obtain my CERN ID, plus an additional smile and private email address from the girl.
I feel that my first day at CERN is a success.

don't forget to follow @claudiop63

Sort:  

A good friend of mine has been working there for almost 30 years and last year I had a 5 hour tour of the facilities. What a bizarre place. You can't believe it unless you see it! Looking forward to your series!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

I remember now my CERN time... ^^ The photo ID, the medical tests on arrival, the pension stuff, etc...

Fantastico Claudio ! You know you got a Fam for a while already but more
For your fiction stories :) @claudiop63

If you don't mind me asking.. What are your thoughts on many of the conspiracy theories in regards to CERN? Especially the Mandela Effect..? What was up with that dude holding a Mandela sign in the cern happy music video thingy? Meet any time travelers or extra dimensional entities? :)

Never heard of the Mandela effect and conspiracy theories are just. ..conspiracy theories, if you know what I mean.
CERN is simply about science (and politics!)

I'm not sure I know what you mean. :) Are you suggesting that there are no conspiracies? Only theories? That no conspiracy theory has ever turned out to be real? Cause.. That's not true. Many conspiracy theories have been proven to be true in history.

Heck.. It was only 5-10 years ago people would laugh at you for claiming the Free masons exist, some people still do! Yet, they are pretty public now. At least in their existence, not so much in their rituals and symbols and passwords and handshakes and such.

The Mandela effect is basically a theory that peoples memories of past events has been changed. IE someone went back in time and.. Changed things. There's all kinds of things people misremember.. Most of them insignificant.. Just the names of companies or famous quotes from movies or songs and things like that.

Though.. Some of them more compelling and interesting like a verse in the bible that most people remember to be "The lion lays with the lamb" but in reality it's "The wolf dwells with the lamb".. This one is kind of significant because a lion and a wolf are very different symbolically. Where something like Jif/Jiffy peanut butter is just one letter off and why would anyone change such?

Anyways.. MANY people think CERN is going back in time and changing things, many people also think they are trying to release demons and spirits from other dimensions and I can't deny.. it does seem like there are some occult connections to both the location and some things in the music video you guys released.

I'm kinda surprised you've never heard of such before, it's become quite a popular topic. The idea has reached most people, even those who don't research this stuff like I and others do.

I'm still really curious as to why the guy in the Happy music video was holding a Mandela sign. Do you think you could find that out for me? It would go a long ways towards debunking or putting peoples minds at more ease.

A lot of people think that him holding up that sign in the video was kind of like an admission that CERN is responsible for the Mandela effect.. Though maybe there's another reason for him holding the Mandela sign?

  • a lot of people think; *many people think haha ...
    well, I think what you say makes no sense...

Perhaps you should do some research then. Everything I said was very open minded and based on other peoples experiences and memories and perceptions.

I guess you will have a different perspective @lemouth

Your post is so good.

Thank you. .

Interesting post!

So you are responsible for creating black holes ? Just joking . Following from now , i would like to read some more from you. Or about things in Cern , of course about things that you can share with community. Thanks

I'll do my best to entertain Steemers and to demystify CERN, as much as I can. ..

This seems like a very exciting and interesting company to work for. Is that a picture of the particle accelerator >? Please excuse my ignorance

Yes, it is a section of the Large Hadron Collider. CERN is not a company :-)

Thank you for the response :)

That 1st picture looks like the shaft I plan to throw my master into.

Really interesting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59370.83
ETH 2591.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46