You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The not a Book Club

in #writing6 years ago

Great thing you are doing with your contests!

But it's more that I feel we need to help the newest members start to build their audience and reward good behaviors.

This is true but it is a 2 side cutting knife. How do we know about decent authors who are genuine. So many posts each day. While we maybe have a responsibility to find them, they also need to feel the urge to be discovered. By placing genuine comments on topic which they do find interesting. Not a spam comment, or a hit-and-go comment hoping to score an upvote.
There are some lunatics here (like myself) who do try to read all comments on a post, where they comment on. This is the easiest way to discover genuine people and maybe good authors!

Sort:  

I have found the few real followers I have gained has come from my engagement with them on their posts. I believe at this point it is the only way a new person will grow here. None of the feeds offer the visibility engaging with others already here does. It makes sense. If you read someone whose ideas are compelling, you are likely to share similar interests. Not only with them, but others who also comment.

I think this is the goal. It is like dating in a way. Some people are interested in looks, some money, some in the person etc. If you are looking for a healthy relationship into the future, compatibility based on'I like money, you have money' rarely ends well.

Dating used to be a way to see if you wanted a more intimate relationship . Nowadays people skip the dating and go straight to the intimacy . Then wonder why there is no meaningful relationships in their lives

they just haven't found the right partner.. out of the 200 they have slept with in the last 2 years...but, I am sure that Mr/Mrs right are just around the corner.

once the right partner is found the world changes for the better

I agree that new members need to take the time to engage the community to attract an audience. But at the same time if we all share the good ones we have found and maybe take the time once a week to find a new member that we had never followed before to also share with our audience I think that we can really change the face of steemit. This is truly the concept of what I created with the contest. Feature 3 smaller members in a curation post and at least 1 needs to be someone you don't currently follow. I wanted people to go out and search for 1 new blogger that they thought created good work. That person may be found from a comment on one of your posts, or another post, or just by hitting the new section in your favorite tag.

I might be crazy for thinking this way, but it really doesn't seem like to much to ask from all of us to do. If we all did 1 curation post a week to highlight the work of 3 steemians that we think deserve a little more attention we might keep some of the best and brightest around here long enough for them to start seeing the fruits of their labors.

I could write a long reply to this but we are on the same page. Take a look at my last post which proves it. Take a look at my wallet and than you can see how much I do appreciate genuine comments.
I only have a small amount of Steem available but are trying to share this with other.
Mmh still a long reply.
If you are not willing to take a look no prob, I am not tying to lure you, but I promise you will like it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58471.44
ETH 2587.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44