What would you do? (Contest entry for @dreemit contest)

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

The scenario: The world is about to end and only you and a couple of other people know...

Well, I don't like saying: 'I told you so,' so tempting as it may be to pre-record a video saying just that for all the people bound to ignore anyone proclaiming the end of the world, I would ignore the temptation and make my first priority drumming up some money from dodgy sources. Some of those guys with the ridiculous interest rates. I'd go hit them up till I got bored then do the following in a more or less random order:

  1. Buy a plane ticket to the closest tropical island. Right now, that would probably be the Nosy Be archipelago North of Madagascar.
  2. Find a beggar and give him a shit ton of cash. I would tell him, and him alone that the world was about to end.
  3. Go wandering somewhere I really wasn't supposed to - a national park, a military installation, somewhere interesting.
  4. Commandeer a tank, because, why not right?
  5. In the final moments, sit myself as high up as I could on a mountain or hill with a bottle of whiskey or claret, a notebook (to write a few last pointless haiku), some cigarettes and a good playlist. Then I'd simply watch the end of the world with a big smile on my face...

(an entry for https://steemit.com/steemit/@dreemit/what-would-you-do-a-writing-challenge-for-steem-and-sbd-s#@foxfiction/re-dreemit-what-would-you-do-a-writing-challenge-for-steem-and-sbd-s-20180414t205604496z)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97