The Comeback || 2

in #writing6 years ago

Welcome to my blog today. This is the continuation of the short story 'The Comeback'.
You can read the initial story from here!

When Roy woke up from his slumber, he vividly remembered what transpired the previous day.

"Ah! You are up, sleeping beauty", Matt teased Roy.

"Don't mind me. You know I am not used to drinking, that is why I always turned you down each time you asked me to ball out with you guys", Roy said. "But I loved the alcohol made me feel yesterday. It's a feeling I've never experienced before", Roy added.

"Wait till you take the 'special' marijuana we take. Beer is nothing compared to it", Tom who was sitting in front of his laptop chipped in.

"I don't know if I can take marijuana", Roy said.

"Don't worry. You will love it", Matt said.

"Are you a Computer student?", Roy asked, directing his gaze to Tom.

hacking-2903156_960_720.jpg
Source

"No, I am just tidying sequence", Tom said, laughing.

"What do you mean by that?', Roy asked, looking a bit confused.

"You have a lot to learn o, my guy. Plainly put, we are a corporate body that specialize in retrieving money from people into our bank accounts", Tom said.

"Just like the bartar trade?", Roy asked.

"No, in this case, we only receive without giving", Tom said.

"So, what does the donor gain in giving you", Roy asked.

"That is where it gets interesting. They don't get anything", Matt said, laughing.

"You mean you are 'yahoo' boys?", Roy questioned further. "I should be leaving", he said standing up and picking his things.

"If you want to be respected in this campus, you have to do this. Imagine the fame and respect not to mention the girls you can attract to yourself", Matt said.

"I don't think I can", Roy said innocently. "I have not seen anyone doing it before, how much more me", Roy said.

"Don't worry, I'll teach you but you will be giving me some percentage o", Matt said.

"Okay", said Roy, elated.

Roy gradually turned from the focused student to a corrupt person: drinking, smoking, swindling, among other vices. Is there still hope for him as he moves round campus stepping on toes and not caring what happens. Watch out for the continuation.

If you enjoyed this story, kindly Upvote Resteeem Follow.

Sort:  

I'm so glad that others are finding you on Steemit and enjoying your writing. Of course, I was already following you, but I found you again through the #payitforward contest. You were featured by @tony19r. Congratulations.

Wow! Thank you for commenting. I never knew I was featured by @tony19r, I only knew of @wolfhart's .

YUCK! (and I really do mean that kindly - because the writing is good.)
It just goes to show how letting one evil in can lead to all sorts of other evils... really not a good thing! I hope Roy "wakes up" before anything truly bad happens.

A little wrong here, a little vice there creates the road to accumulation or piles of evil doings.

Yes it does, sadly. One has to wonder, what crisis will trigger his recovery? Can't wait to find out!

@floxycool Awaiting what comes next as the story evolves.

I can assure you, the wait won't be long, dear.

If we look at the situation of the country, so many people became a victim of that stuff, but you must agree with me that, evil cant justify evil, no matter the situation, you dont do wrong to people people you been wronged to,

It's true. You can't continue in the cycle and expect things to change. Often times, when we are going astray we don't seem to notice, or when we do we just wave it aside, it then falls on loved ones around to help us back on track.

Nice an insightful.. but i got one or two stuffs .
You know the life of the yahoo guy is more complex.
It goes way deeper than what people see as probably the surface which involves vices and reckless living.
But you know what they say if you dont know...... @floxycool plus i be waiting on the next episode.
My guess .. Roy joins them , he life not same again, and gets even deeper than those guys and unfortunately is caught and leads them unto his guys.

I like the story alright, but i don't like the path you are taking Roy an/or where it could lead to, end with!

Good write.

I agree with you! But, I'm sure you know as well as floxycool and I that we don't always have much control over our characters. They almost develop themselves at times... We only provide the setting and rough sketches - the characters almost have minds of their own!

It's quite true. But wherever it leads, I guess there is a lesson to learn.

The beauty of fiction - being able to teach, even harsh lessons, without harming real people.

Just don't harm my Roy, @floxycool!
@viking-ventures i know you with killing off you characters! hahahah

hahaha! Yeah... :-p

He won't be harmed, @mirrors.

Hahahahaha.....now that settles me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57171.31
ETH 3134.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26