Questions About Content

in #writing8 years ago

Questions About Content


question-mark-457456_1280-1280x640258ef.jpg

So, I know I've primarily been talking about politics so far but I've been wondering if perhaps I should talk about other things that interest me and not just politics which works me up into a sense of frustration and disappointment with the world. In addition, I've had many videos I've wanted to share to Steemit but have been too scared to worrying that I'll be labelled "plagiarizing" when I really just want to spread information within these videos. Various topics I've considered include: my perspective as a person within the Goth subculture, upcoming Gothic clothing business I'm starting, and advocating for net neutrality and bringing to light things various social media sites (I'm looking at you, YouTube) have done that are heinous.

What do you think? Should I stick with what I've been doing so far or branch off into other topics as well?

Sort:  

I think you should explore other topics. Adding links to videos is ok as long as you write your own thoughts about it and not just repeat what the video says.

That makes sense. At the same time, I feel it would be morally wrong of me to earn money from such posts. If I had the option to turn off the possibility of making money on specific posts, I would probably do that.

Branch out and diversify. Since you are relatively new and only have 11 followers, it will expose you to more people, and perhaps more importantly, expose more people to you. I'd recommend periodically posting new political things, because this may keep your current followers following.

Definitely a great question to be asking, and I agree with the comment left by @onthewayout as well.

I appreciate the feedback. I can't really promise that I'll be posting as regularly as I perhaps should if I wanted to make it a career but I just feel like I want my side of things to be heard. The potential for making money is just a bonus to me that makes me more likely to state my opinions on matters rather than staying silent as I normally do most of the time.

MY understanding is that Steem pays for ORIGINAL content.
Therefore don't expect for your posts with embedded youtube videos or links to other places to be pay as much as purely original content.

Net neutrality isn't.

This was my understanding as well, and I would never expect for them to pay. In fact, if I purely post the video I would probably disclaimer and say to not upvote it because I do not own the work and haven't added anything to it.

Personally I tend to NOT watch videos.
The wife is asleep in the next room and many times videos are LOUD and I don't want to risk disturbing her rest..
Besides that I'm a reader not a watcher.

To each their own, I rather like some of the content I find on YouTube myself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65046.03
ETH 3451.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55