You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New month, new home, new topics: Writing Class Update! 6/1/18 Win SBI!

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

I am so thrilled to read your post, @ntowl. I will be able to join your first live writing class on the 10th of June, which is 11th in my time zone as it is our long weekend here and I won't have work, of course.

As for the topic and relating to @lightoj's question:

How do you keep your mind on a certain topic while writing, seems easy to lose focus as random thoughts fly in?

Now, what words or transition words that are best to use whilst avoiding the use of clichés in order for me to go back to my purpose of writing an article or a blog? I remember in your previous writing class that we should avoid using clichés.

Because I have learnt so much from your topic on most commonly misused or misspelled words, maybe another discussion on common grammatical errors we often commit, such as dangling modifiers, etc.?

Thanks @ntowl. I am so looking forward to attending your class.

Sending you love and hugs. Xx

Sort:  

Thank you @evlachsblog!

If I understand you right, you're looking for:

  • more info/advice on avoiding cliches (I can't seem to get that fancy "e" to work on my keyboard!)and
  • more common errors people make. that class was so much fun we should do it again! Afterwards I thought of many more examples.

The 10th is just tentative. I'm still working on the backend of things and getting my material together. I will do my best to be ready though so you can attend. It warms my heart to know you'd come to my class on a long weekend!

Yes, spot on, @ntowl! I would love for you to cover those topics on one of your sessions.
Are you using a MacBook or Windows? Because on Windows, I hold Alt + 130 to type that fancy "e". I am not familiar with commands on MacBook.

Oh, you know that if I could I would always be present in your writing class. So I hope your class will be on the 10th. If not, then I'll just catch up later and back read your lessons. :-)

I'm on windows, but I guess I'm too lazy to look up the code to use. I remembered I could do that as soon as I read your explanation! Though sometimes I'm typing on iOS too. There's a way to do it there too but again I'm too lazy.

I'll need to do better though because I'm not setting much of an example am I?

I hope to see you in class!

Yes, for sure there's a way to do it on iOS. I prefer Windows though. I remember writing the codes down after learning the Alt codes to type special letters and characters. If I don't remember, I just keep on guessing the three numbers until I get the correct letter. :-)

Yes, please don't be lazy. We want to know if a word is of French origin or other languages by how they are spelled out. Haha!!! But I'm sure you won't be in your class. :-)

Hey, I'll definitely be there if it's on the 10th. Yay!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50