TEOTWAWKI (An Original Novel - Episode 77)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing8 years ago




Intimidate?


Captain

Now how the Hell are we supposed to be intimidating? I asked my brother Marc. We’ve spent the last few years trying to NOT be intimidating.

Yeah. Marc mumbled. So as not to scare the children. Now we're pretending to be Yakuza.

What’s that you said? I asked him. You’re mumbling again.

Children! Marc said louder. We've been trying to NOT scare the children.

As if any of the kids on Flint could be scared. Those brats would look the devil square in the face and spit in his eye. I said.

Exactly. Marc agreed. Who better to be advisors?

Good plan. I said.


Ma’am can Tommy come out and play? I asked Tommy’s mother.

Why, I suppose so. his mother replied.

Thank you Ma’am. We won’t be long. I’ll have him back before supper. I replied then I went to each of kids houses. I asked permission first. With the parents of these kids, there was no forgiveness. Marc and I had taught them good.


Are they supposed to be rolling on the floor laughing like that? Marc asked me. I took one look at him and began laughing too.

Not intimidating? Marc asked me.

Uh, no. I replied. Not so much. How 'bout we ask the kids what they think?

Good idea Marc agreed.

Okay you young wise guys. I turned to the group of giggling kids. What would you have us do? What’s your idea of scary?


Ma’am, please. If you’d just put the gun down. It’s me. Marc. Marc was looking at the business end of a a Government Series 70, 1911, .45 in the hands of Cody's mom.

Damn that was a big barrel! he thought

Is that you Marc? She asked.

Gotcha Mommy. Cody peeked around from behind Marc. Doesn’t he look scary?

He certainly does . She stated. I almost had a heart attack.


So how’d it go? Marc asked me after we’d taken all the kids home. What do you think?

I never want to do that again I said. I haven’t looked down the business end of so many firearms since we were in the sandbox!

Me too. Marc agreed I’m not sure I want to show the Ryujin.


Dragon Lady

Very good, boys. I said You did not disappoint me.

Marc and Captain were staring wide-eyed and open mouthed at me. I was dressed and made up to be a true Ryujin.
NOT someone that they wanted to cross.

Ever.

It’s time to go see this Shelby person. We’ll take the limo. I want to see him face to face. I want to see how he reacts. You two are my body guards. One of you drive. Sally will play the roll of my daughter and push my wheelchair. I said in full blown Dragon Lady mode. I was definitely The Ryujin.

I wasn't Kamiko Akiyama at all. Oh no, not today. I was a fire breathing Dragon Lady. A Ryujin.

Remember. I reminded them. Be intimidating.

Yes Ma’am. They both said, there eyes were wide. I think I may have scared them a little bit.

Sally giggled.



To Be Continued


I hope you are enjoying this
Yarn

.
Perhaps you might also enjoy
Other Books
that I have written.
.
AND
.
Follow me @everittdmickey
.
That's my Blog
in which I pontificate on Technology,
Philosophy, Religion,Politics, Economics
and occasionally
ShantyBoats
.
In my Blog I write about,
and hopefully engage my readers in discussions about,
the possible lifestyles that we will encounter after
TEOTWAWKI happens.
.
It WILL happen, one way or another,
probably something in between.
One thing is for sure and for certain though,
the world will NOT remain the same.
.
So Come on Down!
Sit a spell.
I got the Coffee on.


The Hobo Picture is a Public Domain image from
Samantha at the Worlds Fair
by Josiah Allen's Wife (Marietta Holley)
Illustrated by
Baron C. De Grimm published by
Funk and Wagnall's Company 1893
Unless noted
All other Illustrations are from
Pixabay


Sort:  

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83