Flash Fiction: Office Ink

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Flash Fiction.jpg
Source-edited in Canva by yours truly

Good evening lovelies, how have your days been? All I've got to say is, hurrah- it's Monday night- and that means it's time for a little bit of flash fiction!


Office Ink


      Oh hello. Look right! Come to mamma!
      I know, I know... I sound like an adolescent boy... apart from the mama bit. I'm not. Honestly! It's just... well... him... over there!
      Okay... now you're just staring. It's rude to stare you know?! But I do understand... he inspires that kind of devotion in a woman, right? Is devotion the right word? Maybe obsession is nearer the mark.

      Than. Na-than-iel. Three syllables that encompass every desire a woman could ever feel. There's just one problem. We work together.
      Now, I know that isn't a problem for most women, but for me, I just can't bring myself to dip my pen in the office ink. Drink from the pool of... well you get it. I don't date at work. EVER. It's a seriously bad idea and can only lead to such embarrassments as clandestine kissing in the copy room and snogging in the stationery cupboard at the Christmas party. It doesn't sound so bad after all, now I think about it...
      No. No. NO! It doesn't matter how edible he is, how much I want to... well... you don't want me to go into details, but suffice to say that what I want to do I want to do very much.
      What's that? Yes - I would mind if you had a go instead. Jeez, call yourself my friend?

      So whilst my morning routine before leaving for work has doubled due to outfit indecision and make-up fine tuning he remains gloriously scruffy, beautifully unconcerned and totally delectable. Maybe I should just quit my job, at leas then I could ask him out. Finally.
      No - you can't have my job! Joking? No you weren't. Shhhhh, he's coming over!

      "Morning Nathaniel." Blushing? Oh God I'm blushing. Damn it!
      "Hey Laurie. How many times do I have to ask you to call me Than? Everyone else does!"
      "A few more," I mutter.
      His dark eyes crinkle, the smile not quite reaching his lips.
      Don't pretend your knees aren't about to give way too. I can see your pupils dilating. Do you have to be so obvious?
      "So you girls up for the Charity Skydive then?"
      Skydive? He's gotta be kidding. I hate heights. "Erm, I hadn't thought about it much..."
      "Shame, thought you'd be up for a bit of fun," he's smiling at me. I'm going to melt.

      Hang on, did you just tell him that you're doing it? You're terrified of heights! I know what this is. You and Than on the flight, getting cosy together, acting on the adrenalin... you bitch!
      "Cool." Than is smiling at you now.
      Seriously. You are a B.I.T.C.H. You've always wanted to do one? You can't wait? Could you be any more sickening?
      "We'll both support you, right Laurie?"
      Of course!" I can't smile at you right now, you conniving...
      "We'll make up your cheerleading team on the ground, hey?"
      "Huh?!" Your face is a picture!
      "Nah, I can't do heights- so me and Laurie'll keep each other company and cheer you on. You'll do great, especially with us as your dream-cheerleading-team!"
      Haha! One step closer to the copy room for me!


Hope you enjoyed this little bit of fun! Have a wonderful evening,
Eveningart x


Sort:  

will wonders never cease....

rumor has it, btw, that the stands of copy paper, arranged three boxes high in two or three stacks side by side, make for a perfect height...

What kind of wonders are we talking here, bad boy Blue?

... and I'll take it from one who has clearly put in the man-hours and done the research ;)

hahahahahahaha yesssssssssssss oh my gosh i was cheering for good ol Laurie at the end!

you know... if you sit on the copier...

hehehehe

Than sounds like a dreemboat. but don't worry, he's all yours, Laurie! LOLOL

Hahaha- I must admit, I've never been in Laurie's position at work, but I can imagine it would be pretty debilitating at times!

Sitting on the copier is a bad plan...

You've got to love a Than, right? Sounds like a hipster to me. Probably one of those oddities who has a groomed beard!

Hahahahahahhahaa groomed beards!!! I like them!!!! Lolol

And buttcheek copies. That's all I'll say lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Have you heard the joke about the butt copies followed by the face and kissing copies? Cracks me up every time!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you so much - what an honour!

Le-le! I adore to read you. If I'm to say, what impressed me most in this post, I'll have to blockquote it from the beginning to the end. Have a great week!

Aw thank you lovely! That's such a huge compliment. I hope you have a wonderful week too <3

Love those short crunchy stories. Secret kissing in the copy room...it reminds me of my time when I was studying to be a nurse.
A gynaecologist surprised me in the examination room - lol, lol, lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86