The Writing Ramblings Series

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-01-05 at 12.50.36 PM.png

Keep Writing

The life of a writer is a rather interesting life. It’s a lonely life where you spend a lot of your time away from any kind of human contact. This is alright for me as I can go for a long time without seeing anyone. A life of almost solitude is a life that I’m pretty comfortable with.

Of course I’d like to change that as much as possible, but when you spend a lot of time writing, doing it for a living, you have to accept that your life will be spent alone on most occasions.

Being a writer, despite that downside, is amazing though. For me, it’s fulfilling to see people looking at my work, being inspired. Above all, I’d like my work to be the reason people look up to me.

It would feel satisfying to read or even hear: “Because of this guy, I wouldn’t be where I am today.”

It’s the one goal that I’ll share with you. A goal that can compel me further to keep writing.

But enough about me.

Because as much as I’d like to inspire others, I know that each other person has a great ability to inspire others as well. To life others up through their own writing.

And as a community where we make money from our own posts, I believe it’s important for us to write.

But also to keep writing beyond that.

As such I’d like to commit myself to talking about writing, but adding a unique twist to it. How to be writing content that inspires people, but do so in a rather unique way.

One where I will on purpose share my thoughts on the subject and have very little editing in it.

I’m calling it Writing Ramblings.

Yes it’ll get sloppy over time, but as a full fledged writer, I believe this can provide great use for myself and others. After all, I write at the very least 1,000 words every day.

So in order to keep things interesting, I’d like to dive into something like this. I’ll share more about myself, my writing, but also in some way inspire others.

Many people feel stuck with what exactly to write. Some people stare at a blank page for minutes or hours and have no idea what to write or what to even publish. This series is to help with those who struggle in that particular fashion.

I’d like to somehow teach others the key to writing with no barriers, where ideas constantly flow and are in no short supply.

The big thing that I realize though with writing, is the key, or at the very least the first step towards writing, is that it’s important to keep writing.

Keep writing, even if you don’t know what to write.

When you are stuck, purposely type out the words “I don’t know what to write about.”

Whatever you do and strive for, it’s important to keep writing.

Why is that strategy so important?

Because many people can get fired up through all sorts of things. Whether it’s through a blog post, a video, or an image. But the one major flaw to self improvement or personal development is the fact that no one can ever force you to do something.

No life coach or motivational speaker will run your business for you or get it started. They’ll tell you to get it started and uplift you and fire you up to do it.

But you hold the spark and that tiny little gap in between consuming inspiring content and actually taking action is YOU.

And a lot of times to become a writer is to keep writing. Listen and watch as many motivational videos and audio as you want, read as many blog posts and articles as you want, but they will never force you or get you to write unless you commit yourself to it.

To keep writing, even if there are no ideas that spring to mind.

You can very well use this principal in all manner of life when you are stuck. You might be thinking that’s rather foolish, but to be honest with you it’s not.

When you think about it we only have this one life and we are far from perfect individuals.

Mistakes are naturally part of our daily lives. So even if you look foolish or stupid, go out and do it anyway, if that leads you to the life that you truly want to lead to.

Dedicate a little bit of time each day to doing something silly but be glad that you did. In the end what’s going to matter isn’t all the money that you made, it’s about the memories that you made with the people that you value most in your life.

So keep writing Steemians, I know I certainly will too.

Eric S Burdon

Sort:  

Even if you don’t know what to write, just type out the words ‘ i don’t know what to write’

Just keep writing. I love that

Glad you enjoyed it! :)

I like the idea of deliberately setting out to do something silly each day.

At the very least it can make you laugh.

It may even spark an idea for a post.

My thoughts exactly. I don't know where it'll take me, but I'll be happy all the same! :)

love it! :)

Wow, thank you for this Eric. Writing is one of my skills that I am improving and these tips will help me get so much better with it. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63484.82
ETH 2603.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81