Figuring Out Your Direction

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Writing Ramblings.jpg

Where do you want to go with your life?

That is a question that has been asked to me several times as I pursue my business. Although my goal is to help people improve themselves, it’s always been a question of how will I do that. For myself I’ve been focusing on creating content on a consistent basis to help people immensely or at the very least little by little.

However the question still remains of where do I want to go with all this? What’s the purpose of me going out of my way to serve people this way? Because as much as I enjoy doing this, this isn’t enough right now in order to pay the bills.

This is the conundrum that is faced by many people who set out for business. When you focus broadly, in my case self improvement, then it’s difficult to pinpoint what kind of value you are giving. Yes it’s general and that can give you a lot of options, however having a general interest or direction for everything means that you are a master of none of them.

Because of this general pursuit it’s made me as unremarkable as I was so long ago.

But that’s alright.

When it comes to figuring out your direction the idea is to start narrowing it down. Focusing further than just the specific topics that interest you. In self improvement there are all sorts of areas from building confidence, facing your fears, experimenting on yourself and so many others. But the thing is, those are just general themes as well.

What truly separates those who thrive in any industry is focus

Focus beyond those particular themes and narrowing it down to a few core values that governs you and your actions. These core values dictate how you’ll present and deliver value to an audience.

Every magician is the same in the sense they all are performers. But each magician is branded in a different way by particular stunts that they perform. Whether it’s being sawed in half or making miracelous escapes in seemingly impossible situations, there is a particular routine that the magician goes through in order to please and attract their audience.

This is the same case with everyone else in whatever industry that they decide to be involved in. If you want to start a business, you need to focus on one specific thing and get really good at delivering it. The same can be said for success on Steemit. You will be known for the type of content that you create on this platform the more you perform it.

The idea with figuring out your direction is to keep experimenting.

By all means you do want to be pitching one thing, but it doesn’t mean you need to be pitching the same thing forever. Again, a direction can be broad for you, and honestly I believe that it should be like that. However our actions and what drives us forwards needs to be specific and planned out.

I want to do more than simply write and create videos that inspire and help other people live the life they want. However if I am to succeed at anything that I set out to do, I need to have some specific core values and a focus on one specific activity as opposed to several that I’m trying to do all at once.

It is with precise focus and attention that we are able to commit, achieve, and succeed at anything that we set out to do. To do that it’s a matter of figuring out what we want to do as opposed to what others want us to do.

To your growth!

Eric S Burdon

Thanks for reading.jpg

This is part of a series of posts. You can read about the premise of these posts here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60354.53
ETH 2608.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54