One step at a time | Going to graduate school

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

The sciences and its fallback

It's hard enough to choose what program to take for an undergraduate degree, but it sure is harder choosing one for graduate school. I remember myself as a high school student, thoroughly uncaring of what I would become in the future.


Physics is especially elegant in terms of equations. Image Source

Back then, whereas I was in love with the arts and humanities, I decided to take a sciences or engineering track. Besides, I thought I could still practice the arts even without formal training and at the same time try something more challenging and practical. I ended up going for a BS in Applied Physics degree, because why not

As my classmates would call it: being a physicist entails a lot of fallback in terms of career. You can be a materials scientist, or maybe a theoretical scientist... There's being a professor, or a scientific writer, or even a data scientist. Heck, you can be the next Einstein.

Diving into the field

I was in love with science, but not with physics, per se. College life was a struggle: failing surprise tests, exams, and, ultimately, the courses attached to the program themselves. To survive, there was one logical thing to do: immerse in it.

Over time, I learned to walk side-by-side with physics. Learning and understanding lectures, experiencing laboratory experiments, and forgetting the hard ones after one semester. It was a cycle, and I learned to deal with it. Live with it.


As a physics undergraduate, being positive like a proton is what will save you. Image Source

What makes physics hard

What makes physics hard is the student's own outlook regarding the subject. In the university, there was a stigma on BS in Applied Physics: it was hard, and that was still an understatement of the year. Just the same, there was a stigma on its students: nerd. (Sometimes, though, there were students who would say that being physics students was what made us attractive. Winkwink.)

What makes physics hard is its complexity. There were too many things to consider and too many things to learn. Its beauty lies with how you can describe a system quantitatively, and, to be honest, that is seriously complicated. 

Physics religiously follows scientific methods. Step-by-step. One step at a time. Then goal. 

There's wanting to make a difference, or even just a single dent into this gigantic field. There's wanting to put out your name on scientific journals or local and international conferences. 

Then there's you. Just wanting to up your game.


There are some who are still thirsty for more education... after literal years of it. Image Source

From undergraduate to graduate

Designed with the aim of introducing students to basic knowledge on a particular track, undergraduate studies can make or break your career. Make it, and you're presented with a bachelor's degree. Break it, and find someplace else where you'll bloom.

When you found that you're looking for a more in-depth specialization for a career, then post-graduate studies is for you. You go for it when you don't want to simply be a 'jack of all trades, but master of none.'

I am one of those people. While I am satisfied with how far I've come (from being an uncaring high school student), I still thirst for mastery. Thus, my want to attend a graduate school.

Just yesterday, @ririgi and I were already planning our options. It was hard. I've found a very helpful guide online, with regards to planning your graduate school life. It laid out questions I, as a prospective graduate student, would want answers to.

Where do I want my career to go?

I guess this is an important question to answer when choosing what kind of program I'd like to take for my post-graduate studies. 


The options are endless, but only one is to be chosen. Image Source

The internet is a big help on this one: there are many reading materials available online. From time to time, I would look up possible careers I'd like to end up in. Sure, it would confuse me even more. I mean, I'd see the advantage of one, then the other. What gives?

But it's a start. By countless reading, I managed to narrow down my options. 

In essence, I evaluated my strengths and weaknesses, and what I would have loved to do in the long run.

What's next?


The Oblation. Image Source

What school would I like to attend?

Lei @ririgi and I have two schools in mind. One is a state university, while the other is a private one. Both are well-known in their own rights. 

One offers a program that would offer us a fallback in the long run - an MS in Physics. Practical, too, right? Both Lei and I were BS in Applied Physics graduates, and it was only obvious that we can go that path. The National Institute of Physics is pretty well-known in its field, too. It was cheaper compared to the other university as well.

The catch: we don't think that, at the moment, physics is where our heart lies in. Cheesy, but hey, there's some truth to it.

The private university offers a program we couldn't say no to: a data science track. The catch: the school is expensive. Like, reallllyyyy expensive.

Here's the thing about choosing schools.

You just can't have it all. There is always something about options that is supposed to be compromised... exactly why they're options. 

While choosing a preferred school will likewise require a huge bunch of criteria, it's slowly taking us there: to one final choice. 


Scholarships are literally financial saviors to those who would like to continue their studies. Image Source

Scholarships.

Tuition fees are hurdles enough to discourage potential graduate students. Need any more say on that? Regardless, if there was one thing I'm seriously thankful about, it's all on the government-initiated scholarships.

The following are scholarships in the Philippines that interested Filipino graduate students would probably like to acquire:

More details are available at the Philippine's DOST-SEI website. These are just a few among many others. While I'd love to explore other scholarship options, I have somehow set a goal of acquiring one of these scholarships, come hell or high water.

There's no way but UP!

In my undergraduate thesis, I wrote: 

I survived because the fire inside me burns brighter than the fire around me.

If you still have enough gas in your system, hit it! If you want something (within reason), take it! There's no way but up; as they say, reach for your dreams. 

To me, education is worthwhile, if you make it worth it. 

How about you? Are there any suggestions you can give with regards to choosing a grad school program and university?

Sort:  

This article represents every kids thoughts on education. But yeah i guess people should pursue science for the beauty of it rather than the money. If money is the only interest people should opt for commerce. This should make a lot clear.

That's absolutely right. It's sometimes hard, though, choosing between the practical track in education, or a track that you'll certainly like but can't promise you a stable career.

Thanks for dropping by, @trolollolo!

Physics is different from other science subjects. While in biology someone who does not understand a thing about how the digestive system works, may become thorough with how the eye provides sight. Physics involves mastering the basics before proceeding further.

But you're right - you can become familiar with something if you immerse yourself in it!

Have you decided upon your career? Why not become a science writer, since you write so well. You could of course continue writing on Steemit and be a top author in the Science niche. A lot of people would appreciate complex science topics being broken down into something more simple for them.

Upvoted, and following!

Correct! Physics is too broad a field, and one of the only ways to get a grasp of it is to take it one at a time.

I have decided on a possible career path (I'll be shifting to data science), thanks for asking. 😊 While I would certainly love to write scientific articles, I think I'm not built for it. I suck at explaining technical stuff, and might end up spouting jargon. 😂

Thank you so much, @maxabit! I appreciate you dropping by. 🎉

Sipag mag-aral, hehe good luck whatever graduate course yan. :)

Hahahaha di ko din alam bakit gustung gusto kong mag masteral LOL. Tulad ng sabi ng ate ko, investment din for the future, so sagarin ko na. ❤

Hehe hangang doctorate na. :D

Sana. Hihi. Para Doc Aira chos. XD

Go @erangvee! I know you will love graduate school. It's a lot different from the undergrad, and more difficult too, but all the lessons are worth it! 😊

Yes! Inggit nga me sa inyo hahaha. Following your footsteps. ;)

Right now, my heart really lies on the private school. If we could just get a scholarship, everything will be fine...I think! We can do this! We still have time to think about it. Hehe. Fighting!!!!

Me, too!!! Let's do thiiiis. <3

Pursuing further studies is fun! :) See you in graduate school soon!

Yes! I was inspired by you and Ms Dyan pursuing your grad studies in the midst of--let's admit it--stressful work. ❤

Actually nagrequest ako ng 2 copies for OTR : one for employment, the other one for grad/law studies hahaha malay ko magbago isip ko to continue grad studies soon.

good luck to you!!

OMG tara talaga hahaha. Sobrang nainspire ako dahil ang daming nag-ppursue ng grad studies sa ASTI. Good luck din sayoooo! ❤

The National Institute of Physics in UPD has a research group called SanD. If you like physics and computing, I think you should take a look at them.

http://sand.nip.upd.edu.ph/

Awesome that you mentioned SanD. 🎉😁 I was considering that lab should I choose to pursue NIP. ❤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57344.91
ETH 3100.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42