On Being a Content Creator and a Curator | My Steemit Chronicle 2017

in #writing7 years ago

190 days ago...

It had been 190 days since I joined Steemit, and my life couldn't have been better. Before then, I had been a stressed graduating college student and couldn't be bothered with creating blogs and arts and everything else in between.

Then came the game-changing call from my big sister @arrliinn who had me have an account set up here on Steemit and just have a "look around" it. You can find more of the story on one of my earliest posts entitled Life minus Steemit, life plus Steemit, life ahead.

TL;DR My sister forced me to join, I obliged with empty enthusiasm, and enjoyed the platform from since.

Me as a content creator.

I'd always loved writing. As a high school student, I wrote for the school paper but saw it as an obligation more than anything else. I have tried keeping a blog site more than once in the past 10 years, but knowing the lack of people who read it, I thought 'Why bother at all? It felt so unsatisfactory.


Some of my drawings this year. I've always loved to draw, but before Steemit, it had been a long time since I last did. The Steemit community helped me reconnect with my most-loved stress reliever.

Then there's me and my crazy hobby of drawing. I'd been an enthusiastic 'artist' since I was a kid, and I enjoyed keeping my deviantART account updated every once in a while. I would accept drawing commissions sometimes, but still, it did not make me feel better.

The past 6 months

Those are two ways Steemit has helped me this year with: I got to write while expecting rewards, and I got to reconnect with drawing, with the satisfaction of knowing that others liked some of my works, too. The past six months so my improvement in both. I got to know:

  • how to write interactively;
  • how to engage more;
  • how to draw better; and
  • how to create content. Period.

People to thank for.

The past six months also saw me meeting more people, and getting to know them, too! I would like to take this time to give out my thanks to @tonyr. He'd been instrumental in my newfound love for traditional drawing with his amazing weekly drawing contest some few months ago. I got to interact with other artists, and I got to enjoy Steemit. So thank you, Tony!

Then there's @raizel, who'd been an extra supportive Steemit friend since the beginning. He's an awesome artist who enjoys doing animations that I definitely look up to. Thank you for the endless support, Raizel!

Ate Zara @zararina is also definitely one of the people who made my Steemit experience better. Exchanging chikas and simple conversations with you had made my Steemit 2017 awesome. Thank you, Ate Zara!

Of course there's @curie. And the people behind the project. You pushed my abilities; you're the one that made me write better, draw better, engage better, because quality matters, too. You made me see beauty in others' posts, and made me critical of some. And you made my past 6 months interesting. Thank you, @curie! I'll keep supporting you until you see to your end goal.

Finally, the people behind @bayanihan. Particularly, to my fellow Bayanihan curators @deveerei, @jassennessaj, @dreamiely, @immarojas, @themanualbot, and @juvyjabian, and our awesome sponsors. I got to connect with the #philippines community because of you, guys. Because of this project, I saw how Filipino talent can be on a whole new level. Let's keep doing our best for the community.

Curation

I've been a curator for Project Curie since... I can't remember. The thought of pushing other Steemians to keep doing better, it feels amazing.

Since Curie, I'd been an active curator for the #philippines community, too. The @bayanihan project, which began in August but only officially announced September, aims, more than anything, to support Filipino Steemians.

And because of the effect effective curation has put to smaller and beginner Steemians, I realize the impact curation in general holds.

From bigger curation, to community curation, to personal curation.

I've run some SQL query to quantify my curation in my 6 months here on Steemit.

My voting distribution.
How my votes were distributed since June 30 this year up to today.

In the past 6 months, I have distributed my votes to 2139 unique users! Awesome! And, hear this, I have upvoted 1498 unique authors since the first of December. How did that ever happen?

I've been trailing @curie and @bayanihan. Sometimes I had to drop one or the other, what with VP getting drained, but hey, it was worth it. The thought of having distributed my votes to all these people, big or small, mattered so much.

My resteeming activities.
I personally didn't like resteeming.

As an author myself, I personally dislike resteeming. My own personal posts get lost in the sea of resteemed post, and I kinda didn't appreciate it. Above is a graphics of my resteeming activities in the last six months, and you'll see just how it decreased over time.

At this note, please support the Philippine community!

Support #philippines

If you're a Filipino like myself, help support fellow Pinoy Steemians by following our curation trail on either of these two platforms:


Steemit had been amazing.

It has been good to me. I'd love for others to feel the same way, too. I love reading posts about how this platform got to change lives for the better. I'd love to hear yours, too.


Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Thank you so much for your lovely mention @erangvee. :)

You have been very busy in your time here and have been doing a lot of good for the community. It was an honor to have you take part in my drawing contest and I'm so pleased you have found so many more new friends and are having such a great time on the platform.

Have a wonderful day, my friend and say hi to @arrliinn for me. :)

heyyy @tonyr! i'm here! lols...

Steemit has been particularly awesome to all(most) of us. The interaction here is best. I'm glad to have known great people as you.

Have a wonderful Holidays. :)

Hey @arrliinn. :)

I should have known that you wouldn't have been far from your sister. You two are close! :) And two of the most positive and friendly people I have had the pleasure of meeting on steemit, so thank you for all that you both do. :)

I hope you all have a Happy Holidays with the little ones, my friend and a wonderful New Year. :)

Haha! Would you believe that we were born 15 years apart? Growing up, I used to bully her coz I'm the BIG sister you know.

Right now, we're just connecting through messenger, being worlds apart. Guess what's most of our conversation is about - Steemit. lols.

Thanks @tonyr, always nice to chit-chat with you here... :)

Hi @tonyr! Having participated in your drawing contest was certainly one of the most exciting (if not the most exciting) things I've experienced here on Steemit. I definitely learned a lot of things through it so I'll most definitely never forget you orthe people I've come across with through your contest. ;)

Also, happy holidays! :D

I relate with your story too bro.

I'll be writing something too by the end of the year.

Steemit has been awesome. My standard of living has been upped. I'm earning better and my efforts are appreciated. Whats more, I can provide more for people around me now.

.friends had introduced me to steemit long ago but I never joined. I was always wondering and watching if they would make anything. (they did)

Steemit was all about the money when I started. I just wanted to earn but now.... Steemit is about having fun,rubbing minds and learning, the earning is just like a bonus to me now. The fact that I'm appreciated for my efforts also (especially my art) is a very big plus.

Steemit is Gold.

That's awesome to hear, @stephennevets! Steemit isn't just a lot of promise; it delivers. ;) The community has been very engaging and fun, and I'm glad you've been receiving the appreciation you deserve for your efforts and arts.

And true enough, Steemit is gold. :D Thanks for dropping by.

Yeah.. Steemit isnt like all those other places you're promised stuff and end up being duped.

Nice to see u posting Aira..we rarely see ur talent. Need to do that curation trail as my steemvoter isnt working.

Posting this much, I feel like I'll be running of steam soon (pun intended LOL). XD

Do masteral elsewhere and travel..we will visit u with our sbd earnings🤣🤣

bully Ate got her to posting again. Can't let her just sit on her butt when steem and sbd are going to the moon. hehe

Yeah..sayang! Unless shes bored with too much money already🤣🤣

oh, She needs more of that. She wants to go for masters which costs all the bones in her body. Haha

Ah masteral? Post 2x a week..sobra sobra na yan😃😃

It's nice to read your story and you've inspired me to write mine. I hope to do it in few days. The end of the year is good time to rewind and recollect things had been done.

For me Steem also gave motivation to draw for myself more. I had only time for commercial illustrations but now I am doing my personal also.
Whale Upvote from @dunsky

That's awesome, thank you, @dunsky! That's right, the end of the year feels like the proper time to review how our Steemit experience has been so far, and I'm glad it's been good not just for me and you, but to a lot of others, too.

Thanks for sharing (and dropping by)!!! <3

Thank you! @erangvee :D
Wag kalimutang mag enjoy at hindi puro stress ang life. :D
Salamat sa kabaitan at tiwala, Merry Christmas sa iyo at family mo. :D

Errm, I think she's sleeping. Releasing all the stress. Im doing all the replying on her behalf. LOl.

Yes po yes po HAHAHAHA. Pinanganak yata akong stressed LOL. Merry Christmas din! And Happy New Year na din! :D

I'm pretty new to all of this, so I'm glad I came over your post here...

First of all, welcome to Steemit, @jarling-arts! Take your time exploring the beauty that is Steemit, it's wonderful. ;) I hope you enjoy your Steemit experience, especially in the coming 2018. Thanks for dropping by!

Thank you for your curation work on Steemit.

Awww that's nice to know.

I haven't had the chance to really get it on here. Am still learning the ropes and looking around so my posts are quite random for the meantime. 😅

It's more like i have to spend a lot more time here to be able to learn how this works and to use it effectively. 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66205.77
ETH 3304.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72