The Inevitable Realisation: Emine

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

This was a short story I wrote for Whaleshares and won the contest with 100 Bitshares. The sexy voiced leader host features your post and this contest. If you ever want a fun time check their group out on Discord.

Image Source

Part One.

Her name was Emine, and her mother told her it meant fearless or courageous, but her family called her "Em" for short. She was three years old but aware enough to understand that her mother dropped her off at the mean old lady's house every day. The old lady was darker in complexion, had two missing front teeth, and wore glasses so thick Em could hardly see her eyes. Her parents said the old lady was her grandmother. Em didn't like her grandmother, since she would force her to sit in a hard leather chair all day and never feed her.

The old lady would come by with a Hostess lemon fruit pie and slowly eat in front of her and drink a tall glass of cold milk. Em tasted the sweetness of the pie and feel the cold liquid as it ran down her throat, but all she could do was stare in hunger. When Em would try to sleep, that old lady would come around in her wheelchair, turn off all the lights, and turn on a flashlight. Grandma would shine the flashlight where the dolls were hauntingly placed ... and they came alive ...


Break.png


UPRECOM.gif

Sort:  

oh shit... ghost story?... It's half hanging!!! PART 2 please!!!!

i know right, i really should write part 2 ... i should have done that in this post, maybe i'll add that tomorrow LOL

lol... it does keep your readers waiting for new post =D
Im curious about that old lady ...hmmm...

i was limited to two paragraphs on this one, word limit and i love cliffhangers anyway. some people can write and write and write and i get bored ... :)

I agree with you... if i scroll down too far i tend to get bored too. This length is perfect!

I'm so glad you agree! My teeth start to grit when I go on and my mind wanders ... so not worth reading the rest. Thank you! :)

That sounds like a very mean old lady... what could possess a grandmother to be so cruel to a 3 year old. I wonder.

Very well written however and I am curious to see where this leads. :c)

Yeah she was kinda mean. Yes I guess I should write the next part! :)

I love this. It paints a vivid and unsettling picture from beginning to end. You do a great job of invoking the senses in this piece and it really transports the reader to the mean lady's house along with Em.

What if I let you in on a secret? That was my grandmother and I.

Wow. No wonder you are able to paint such a vivid picture. I am sorry you had to deal with that. It is really troubling and confusing , as a child, to be mistreated by someone who is supposed to 'take care of you.'

Very true, most of my stories are creative non fiction. So some are loosely based on fact and others just a small portion. But I will continue the story because the dolls really came to life! If you know anything about me ... my family has the gift ...

When I was a bout that same age a small elephant statue came to life during a party my parents were having. I went to the other room to tell all the adults and none of them would believe me and thought I was being silly. It was very frustrating. Maybe I will write a story about it sometime and post it. When I tell people now they assume I must have been dreaming, but it seemed so real. I have the statue now.

Yikes! Tell it!! But you have it? Eeekkkkkk
Does it come to life? What if it’s cursed?

Yep still have it. It was just that one time. It didn't seem threatening. It just looked at me and raised its trunk.

Wow I wonder why only once?

This is amazing, Eagle. I love how we see and feel everything from Em's point of view. Poor kid. And what a horrible nanna. I can see how this won. Congratulations! Great stuff.

love
Anj x

Hey thank you Anj, too kind of you.
Love,
eagle
xx

What did I just read? :D

This was so fun and easy going and lovely to read and then you made such a shocking ending, wooooow. Good job! I love it when a good read surprises me or shooks me. Thank you for this 💚

Yay ! Thank you so much P! Hugs
I appreciate your comments am doin support.
I’ll try to read your posts more. Have you been doing more creative writing other than freewrite?

Ooooh, intriguing! I can feel the creepy, stifling atmosphere of the grandmother's house. Wonderful!

Thank you so much bun! :)

I like your post its so nice

thank you for reading!

yes you should write more part :D

I try! Thank you. xx Eagle

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57393.77
ETH 2439.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33