5 Minute Freewrite Day 457: Puppy Love

in #writing5 years ago


Source



Being socially awkward multiplied my already big tendency to just stare, think almost constantly about a certain subject, and throw random supposedly humorous comments left and right, that was what my presence represented while on the campus of the Great Arcane Academy of Lyss.

In there, very few things, and even fewer people could just made me shut up with a simple gesture, very few people could convince me to do something that went against my –admitely gray, but still strong- moral code, but one of them was Charlotte Aulein, the diva and idol of the Academy, and all-around muse of the Music Department. Her blue hair fascinated me, a shade so deep and shiny that it she seemed crowned by thin strings of sapphire and with a pair of Spirit Butterflies as her eyelashes. I had pretty much fallen for her before we exchanged our first greeting.

But it came a day when she got close to me while I was reading under the biggest willow in the academy’s garden. She lightly touched the book, and finished from memory the poem I was just reading. I looked up and felt the kind of magic that couldn’t be just casted, it was a pure and natural fascination for a girl everyone said had a touch of fey.

We talked a lot, I followed her around, in the hallways inside, in the walkways outside, in the lights of midday and the deep shades of midnight and beyond. I tried not to think about the word “love”, but I felt it all the time in my heart and the tip of my tongue.

One day she asked me a favor. She had gotten into trouble and the only way to get out of it was to decipher a scroll, one that screamed trouble, but I couldn’t place why. In any case, the love of a puppy for its master was incapable of saying no, and because of if, my incantation made the skies darken and monstrosities to come out of a black portal. Charlotte’s bewitching eyes hid far more secrets than I ever thought.

For: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-457-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-puppy-love

Sort:  

Congratulations @dranuvar! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 100 posts. Your next target is to reach 150 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59634.42
ETH 3191.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45