5 Minute Freewrite Day 455: Church Lady

in #writing6 years ago


Source



Again a new village, small one in a mountain province. Boddynock looked at me from his position at the front of our cart, and smiled softly. I tried to return the smile sincerely but it faltered not one second after trying. Last night I had another nightmare about the fire, and now my glove-covered hands were pulsing in a way that wasn’t quite pain, but made me remember what it was.

This was going to be another stop in our merchant route, to sell some wares, purchase that which was interesting, and then go away, to the next place, wherever that may be. But in the meanwhile we stopped in a busy section of town, part marketplace and part playground and leisure place. The stores, both static and mobile –like ours- plagued the place, and while my gnome friend shouted about the goodness of his ware, I just looked around, trying to find something to concentrate my attention in.

And I found it once a particularly big group of people cleared the way towards a cozy two-story house in which’s front a trio of people were singing and playing musical instruments. A very young-looking Dwarf –his beard barely starting to come out- was playing a flute, while a Draconid girl swiftly made bow movements in her viola. In the middle of them, an old human lady gesticulated, as if telling a great tale. The emotion showed in all their faces and I got closer and closer.

Their presentation finished, it had been a legend about how the alliance between the Free Elves and the Human Tribes of Galia came to be, joining forces against the Old Empire. The old woman looked at me, snow-white hair arranged in seven braids and robes of white and blue; she motioned me to enter the place, and I followed, passing through a door with a symbol I would end up using as my own. That house was a temple to The Moon Lady, the Unveiler, and the old church lady my mentor, giving me a path to follow.

For: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-455-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-church-lady

Sort:  

Wow! I like how you brought the prompt in at the very end :)

pleased to hear that, sometimes a good punch at the end is more effective that soaking the whole piece in the prompt, this was one of those occasions.

Agreed!! do you still want to do the contest at the Freewrite House? I think it would be fantastic!

the one of venezuelan folk tales?, I've been waiting for your answer to my last message on discord

i am sorry - I must have missed that. Will look for it right now.

Wow! Great world building - I hope you find more stories springing from this setting, this cast of characters. I love how the church lady doesn't have to be some wrinkled, frowning hypocrite judging others.

as a matter of fact, I am planning more stories in this settings, all the freewrites I've been doing this year are related to each other in some way, and the character are oing to meet at some point.
About the church lady subject... there is nice ans nasty people everywhere, but it would have been too cliché to made a bad church lady, and a good one makes more sense in this case.

I'm happy to hear that your cast of characters, who emerged during 5-Minute Freewrites, are hanging out with each other and scheming to get you to put them together in more stories. They take on a life of their own and a will of their own, don't they? Like, you might think John should woo Mary, and she he might surprise you by going after that minor character instead... and how do the authors not see this coming? ;) It's fun! They come to life, and they refuse to do our bidding, just as our human offspring do. (If you don't believe me, ask @rhondak about her machinima videos with Sims2 characters - they were mind blowing!)

Hah, yeah...nothing in the world like having a script rewritten by 3D animated characters. . . . LOL

Beautiful works of fiction here.

Am here to deliver the weekend freewrite prompt to you.

For a singular Prompt
Here you go.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-1-19-2019-single-prompt-option
...
...
You're thinking of going pro.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-1-19-2019-part-1-the-first-sentence
...
Do have a nice weekend.

Hello @dranuvar, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81