5 Minute Freewrite Day 451: Sunset

in #writing5 years ago


Source



I was tired, full of scratches and bruises. I liked running, but I still wasn’t used to “run for my life”. The grass I sat on was very soft and slightly humid, so peaceful in its vegetable meditation that it made me feel as if the chase of minutes before didn’t happen, or as it happened a long time ago, in a place far, far away. The now diminishing light made me think of the past.

It has been around 30 years since I was forced to run away from my home, three decades since I watched my hometown burn while the escaping boat rushed into the open sea, helped by the few arcanist that managed to survive the surprise attack. I was torn away from the normal development for a child of my race, but being on the road, and working alongside my only living friend helped me mature, even if for elven standards I was still a child.

Time passed in the blink of an eye, and I’ve had so many adventures, and this one, the more recent, was brought up to me by a voice that I started to hear in those sleepless nights were random history books were my defense against bitter memories and tears. She spoke to me in hushed tones, she told me to “go look” for something, for what?.

On the horizon, the sunset was showing all its beautiful glory, and behind it I could feel the whispers of the Moon Maiden, The Unveiler, answering my question: “knowledge”. I hugged the old tome that I’ve just recovered from some ruins, and watched as the orange and golden brought forth the night and its mistress.

For: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-451-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-sunset

Also, kind of a "direct" sequel to: https://steemit.com/fiction/@dranuvar/5-minute-freewrite-day-448-fire-alarm

Sort:  

Congratulations @dranuvar! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.
You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59737.47
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43