Improve your Writing (Comma Rules Part 1)

in #writing7 years ago


Image credit

Mastering the comma is unlikely and unnecessary. Not every grammar guides have the exact same rules and for some a comma use is a matter of preference. They had a quick practice in the work we had which I think will be a great thing to share with you.

“FANBOYS” Conjunctions (for, and, nor, but, or, yet, so)

When joining two independent sentences with a FANBOYS conjunction, a comma in placed before the conjunction. Remember to always ask yourself if the sentence that comes after that conjunction could stand alone. Place a comma before the conjunction if this is so.

Quick Practice
Cover the answers and practice this rule with the following sentences. Not all the sentences are incorrect.

1 Commas can be hard to learn but the “fanboys” rule is easy to understand.
2 My dog Skip has made a new friend down the street and around the corner.
3 You can go to the store with me or you can clean up your room.
4 I was allergic to milk when I was young but now I drink it all the time.
5 Do you want to go to the movie first and then dinner?

Answers
1 Commas can be hard to learn, but the “fanboys” rule is easy to understand.
2 My dog Skip has made a new friend down the street and around the corner.
3 You can go to the store with me, or you can clean up your room.
4 I was allergic to milk when I was young, but now I drink it all the time.
5 Do you want to go to the movie first and then dinner?

Dependent Clauses

Use a comma to separate a dependent clause from the rest of the sentence, if a sentence begins with a dependent clause. A sentence will need a comma if it begins with any of the words below. Some of the most common dependent clause words:
If...When...As...Although...Whenever...Before...After...Since...Unless... Until...Whatever...While...

Quick Practice
Cover the answers and practice this rule with the following sentences. Not all the sentences are incorrect.

1 If the school board approves our proposal the high school will build a new gym.
2 Before going to the big game next week I need to go buy new shoes.
3 I will see you after your vacation to Thailand.
4 Unless the price of gasoline goes down we can’t go to Disneyland next year.
5 I want to take pictures of bears as we drive through Yellowstone Park.

Answers
1 If the school board approves our proposal, the high school will build a new gym.
2 Before going to the big game next week, I need to buy new shoes.
3 I will see you after your vacation to Thailand.
4 Unless the price of gasoline goes down, we can’t go to Disneyland next year.
5 I want to take pictures of bears as we drive through Yellowstone Park.

Follow-up elements

We can place a comma just before the end of a sentence that serves as an afterthought. This generally leads to a short follow-up questions at the very end of the sentence.

Examples:
It is the first house on the left, I believe.
I love getting gifts for Valentine’s Day, especially jewelry.
The house was quiet, almost too quiet.
This is just the one we need, right?

Items in a Series

You should always use a comma to separate 3 or more items in a sentence. This could also be phrases that you separate. Many people commonly put the comma before the first item or phrase. This is incorrect always start putting commas after the first item or phrase.

Incorrect: I am looking for a partner who is, trustworthy, caring, and funny.
Correct: I am looking for a partner who is trustworthy, caring, and funny.


Image credit

Just on a little side note for self improvement. I will be doing 1 push-up for every 1$ earned on my posts and will give a short feedback every day at the end of each post. As promised I will be doing 126 pushups, today, for yesterdays post. Any not done will carry onto the next day. 30 is carried over. I am in so much pain as I am very stiff, I doubt I will be able to do pushups today

Sort:  

I hate to be a party pooper @dragonslayer... but I know you are south african and we never use the word 'gasoline' ..If you are copy'ing and pasting you must include the source and not take the credit for yourself......

Original source
uacmenglish3.weebly.com/uploads/3/7/9/0/37903051/comma_rules_lesson_1.doc

  1. My dog Skip has made a new friend down the street and around the corner. 3. You can go to the store with me or you can clean up your room. 4. ... 1. If the school board approves our proposal the high school will build a new gym. 2. Before going to the big game next week I need to go buy new shoes. 3. I will see you after ...

Firstly I mentioned that the quick practice was not mine, no where did I say that it was. "They had a quick practice in the work we had which I think will be a great thing to share with you."

If you haven't noticed they are in italics and I did say that I would be using the quick practice things in my writing as it would benefit the readers reading this post. The actual original source, only those doing this course have access to that's why I have not added the link for it. The link you have sent is a download link that doesn't have any reference to the original area either.

The original sources:
https://pathway.brightspace.com/content/enforced/30521-Pathway.2017.Spring.ENG106.1086/Comma%20Rules%20Lesson%201.pdf?_&d2lSessionVal=vv4AoILRXYvlQhJJTe5ZxamCk&ou=30521
https://pathway.brightspace.com/d2l/le/content/30521/viewContent/919626/View

Actually it is a pdf document which I downloaded fro that website. It would be a simple task to put
Original Source at the end of your article...or References

As regards the comment about sharing... it is not clear that the entire work is someone elses....using italics could easily be taken as formatting to clarify the exercise.

Ok thank you for your tips on this. I will make sure when quoting or using things, in the future, that I put this in. :D

:) Thank you for this lesson.

Pleasure, hope it helped you as much as it did for me.

Nice instructions. I kinda struggle with commas in English, since it’s a bit different, then in my mother tongue. So I just use the same rules and when Word protests, I listen to it :D. And with those push ups, don’t kill yourself man. Maybe change it to push ups, squats, etc. No need to overwork just one part of your body. Anyway if you have some spate time, I might have something that you might be interested in. Will you adhere the calling oh mighty writer?

I also really struggle with this whole comma story... I would love to see what happens with your project :)

Looking forward to seeing you there!

As it is easy to remember, it is very helpful...!
Thank You!

It is a pleasure glad you found it helpful

Yea, I use commas wrong all the time :-/

As do I, so don't worry to much the brain actually has a way to auto correct while you read.

I tend to put a comma in the sentence where I would naturally pause if speaking. It's probably not correct half the time, but it feels right lol.

GREAT post as always man! :)

nice info...

Good post, very helpful. I read a book a few years ago about English punctuation, it is called "Eats, Shoots and Leaves: The Zero Tolerance Approach to Punctuation", by Lynne Truss. It is very funny and it gives memorable examples so it is more difficult to forget the rules xD. I strongly recommend it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63537.51
ETH 3405.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55