You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Visiting Old Writings from my Past

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

I sold some content through a few freelance sites where you could write whatever you wanted and let it sit out there to be purchased and reused without attribution. (ConstantContent I think was the name of one of them). Downside to that is that it's impossible to build a name or a portfolio since you're not credited.

I also did some freelance work through Upwork, although that place is a fright and a total race to the bottom.

I had a somewhat steady gig writing under my own name on a small niche political blog. Problem was, the politics of the owners weren't the same as mine, and as much as they claimed to welcome all voices, I was pressured and edited towards their point of view.

I much prefer the format here. I write what I want, when I want, and sometimes I get a nice payout. All the while I am actually earning legitimate followers who faithfully show up to read and comment, and to me that is incredibly rewarding. Though I do have a 9-5 that supports me, so I can empathize with someone who is relying on their writing to feed their family.

Sort:  

Ah yes, I remember ConstantContent and AssociatedContent... they were pretty similar, and suffered similar fates, as I recall.

My niche blogs (one about stamp collecting, one on psychology, on on ADHD) were fairly successful in their own rights. But even so, the AdSense revenue was negligible... if I was lucky, I'd hit the $100 payout limit once every 4-5 months. Enough for an occasional dinner out.

What's now Upwork was already getting to be a snake pit when it was Elance... and pretty much is bottom scraping with Fiverr; home of the extremely desperate to make a few cents, barely a step above Amazon's "Mechanical Turk" site.

Either way, this is currently my preferred writing venue... with 750+ top level articles, it's now the 2nd most "populated" venue I have used.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63748.21
ETH 3314.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90