You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Coming Extinction: Anthropocene

in #writing6 years ago

Hi. Thanks for reading.
Although I'm always happy to learn more, I know plenty about this to defend my statements. I read plenty. I'm not young. I'm not just coming around to things.

There's a lot of wonderful potential in using genetic modification. And in fact, nature itself modifies genes everyday. Evolution, through natural selection, is a modification to the gene pool. Human's have selectively breed plants and animals for tens of thousands of years, perhaps even longer. For example, cabbage, broccoli, kale and cauliflower all come from the same plant. Humans 'modified' the genetics to get what we have today. source

I'm not a Luddite. Technology can be great. The problem is how it is used, by who, for what purpose. In the case we're seeing now, genetically modified foods perform a function for corporations. Mainly, to monopolize the food supply, both to seize profit off our daily necessity to consume food for survival, as well as controlling the working class. But that doesn't mean all genetic modification is 'bad'.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58445.33
ETH 3158.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22